We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to the reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoia Hotel Regency
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lived up to the reviews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel en route to rome on a big road trip so for us it was very conveniently located just off the A1. Great stopover for us as it had a pool, wifi throughout the hotel, and free parking. When I read the reviews, they were all so positive. After my experience, I can heartily say that these are all very true. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff that speak excellent English. The pool is lovely to drop into after a long drive. Actually the hotel is like a little oasis as you drive in off the highway. It is unexpectedly luxurious feeling from the minute you go in the gates. The rooms are not as updated as the public areas but they were lovely just the same. Charming and clean and well-maintained. The breakfast is amazing! This alone was enough to bring me back here and it was included in our room rate, which was the most reasonable in our 3 week trip. I will come back to Bologna, as I also thought the people in this city were the most genuinely friendly that we had met. I would also stay here again as the short drive to the historical centre is really nothing. People spoke highly of the restaurant in the reviews. I am less excited about the restaurant than they were. The service was slow and somewhat neglectful. I noticed many of the other tables had attentive service, so am not sure why our service was poor. The food was okay eventhough the menu looked outstanding with (too many) choices of delicious sounding primis and secondis to choose from. Our waiter's service should not turn you off the restaurant but I would probably choose to try one of the restaurants in town if I stayed here again.... Mainly due the average food at hotel prices. We were tired after a 10 hour drive, so it was a better choice than trekking around finding my next Tripadvisor-recommended restaurant. Do enjoy a drink in the lovely pool-side bar and enjoy their complimentary snacks and the lovely surroundings. It seems to be popular with Italian business people but there were lots of families there too.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    436
    75
    17
    11
See reviews for
269
335
28
410
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very nice hotel, clean, very friendly staff, very good breakfast. Location is not center of town, but it only takes a 10 min drive to reach city center. Very good value for the money.
Very good internet connection. Good pool with bar!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_jensen_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is GREAT!! The value for money is amazing. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great. The pool is large and offers guests to chill all day long. The hotel is located just a short taxi/bus ride to the city centre. Great combination of luxury, calmness and the amazing city of Bologna. If you go, stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel manages perfectly to be classy but not pretencious. It has the look & feel of a 5 star hotel, but is also casual at the same time. The staff are efficient, but also friendly & helpful. I would say on a cost/quality ratio (69 Euros per night) this is by far the best hotel I have stayed in. The buffet breakfast was extensive & very good quality, & we had the added bonus of being able to eat outside. The swimming pool area was never crowded, despite the hotel being busy. The food in the restaurant, although a little more expensive than you be able to find in Bologna itself, was excellent, & in our opinion definately worth the little extra.
As for getting into the city. The number 20 bus is a 5 minute walk away & runs every 10 minutes, taking about 20 minutes to reach Bologna centre. Tickets @ 1.20 Euros can be bought from the reception.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCJ1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is amazing at this price level. Location is not in the center of the town, but with your own car the town is only ten minutes. The restaurant at the hotel was great - both meat and dishes were delicious and reasonably priced. Free wifi-connection was quick and maybe one of the best we have experienced in any hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders_Faldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is not in the centre of Bologna but by buss a good connection. But the hotel is very nice and the quality is high. A good breakfast, very nice rooms, a great swimmingpool and also a bar and seperated a restaurant (not so cheap). Everything was very nice, maybe the bar can close better a hour later but the hotel is really very good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband was attending a conference here so we decided to give it a try. We are so glad we did! To our absolute delight, we were told we were upgraded to a full suite when we checked-in. It was definitely in the top 2 of any suite I have ever seen - especially the walk in shower room! The food was fabulous, the staff very friendly and helpful. I had no idea what to expect but we were very pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CndnTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoia Hotel Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoia Hotel Regency

Property: Savoia Hotel Regency
Address: Via del Pilastro 2, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bologna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#6 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoia Hotel Regency 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SAVOIA HOTEL REGENCY, where classical and linear designproduces special effects in a refined and elegant environment. Every detail is devides to satisfy any demand: the real art of welcome!SAVOIA HOTEL REGENCY surrounded by a 2 hectares Park , with a swimming pool and a kids area, is located in a privileged area closed to the Exhibitions Center and represents a preference point for Business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoia Hotel Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Bologna
Regency Hotel Savoia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing