We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay”
Review of Savhotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savhotel
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is well managed. I liked the convenient location of the SAV hotel, the nice breakfast in the morning and the modern bedrooms. Thank you for accommodating us even though our dog was traveling with us. We liked the fact that you lend bikes, unfortunately there was only one available on the day we needed some.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank we_love_two_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 2,248 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hip staff, incredible breakfast buffet, and well appointed rooms make this cool hotel so worth it although it's not in the center of Bologna. A 5Euro cab ride or the #25 bus gets you to town without effort. We had midnight drinks on the roof-deck with friends during our two night stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed this hotel. It is a bit out of the main part of the Old Town but easily accessible by bus 25. We arrived by train, just crossed the street and got on bus 25. It took us only about ten minutes to arrive at the hotel. Ask the driver to tell you the stop.
We were welcomed warmly by Andrea and he was very helpful. We took the bus 25 again to get into the center of town. It is easy and you buy the ticket on the bus.
We had dinner at the hotel, thought it was a bit pricy but again very pleasant.
The breakfast sets this hotel apart from the competition, it was a complete buffet, delicious food!

Room Tip: We found our room to be very quiet, I don't think there is a bad choice as it is in such a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lovely hotel near the railway station - 5 euros by taxi.
Style - high tech, very clean, the breakfast prevoskhodnyy.Otlichnoe ratio - price and quality! Next to the supermarket.Retsepshen can take the discount ticket for 18 euros in the same building with a supermarket fitness center.The prekrassny pool fitness center, sauna and hammam.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLAD1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic four night break at the Sav Hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. From check in to check out the reception staff were impeccable and attentive to our every needs accommodating any requests we made. The restaurant staff equally made every effort to ensure we had quality food served to us with a high standard of service in order to make our stay a most memorable one. The room we had was of a modern design and was cleaned to a high standard daily, a pleasure to return to after a fun filled day after a short walk to Bologna city centre. The package we chose also gave us free daily use of the mini bar in the room which was yet another perk of the hotel, along with complimentary bike hire which also gave us a quality day out around the city sites. In our view the location was great, just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the city but near enough to enjoy when we wanted to go there. We would definitely return to this hotel should we choose to re visit Bologna.... Well done to all!!

Room Tip: Upgrades to the better rooms did not increase costs too much, but the free mini bar package more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHugh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSavhotel, Responsabile reception at Savhotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review, I am extremely happy we could help making your trip to Bologna memorable!
I hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Marco Salimbeni
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent service provided by the staff with very good & hearty breakfast, free internet and printing facilities and comfortable beds. Although hotel slightly far away from centre, only 15 minutes walk from train station.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noelito74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were given a warm welcome when we arrived and throughout our stay the staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly - particularly Diana - although you couldn't fault any of the front desk staff.

Although designed mainly for the business traveller, this hotel is a good base for staying in Bologna. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet.

The hotel is situated in a residential area away from the main city centre. It is about a 15 minute walk to the train station but definitely a 30 - 40 minute walk to the main square of Bologna, Piazza Maggiore, especially in the hot weather.

The best way to travel into town is via the bus no 25 (or 25a). This stops a couple of minutes away from the hotel and also stops at the train station and Piazza Maggiore as well as other places. At the weekend, the centre of Bologna becomes pedestrianised and the bus takes a slightly different route not stopping right at Piazza Maggiore so do check where to get on and off the bus.
The single fare is 1 euro 50 cents but we found the machines on the bus that took coins weren't always working. The best thing is to buy a ten-journey ticket from Tourist Information centre in the Piazza Maggiore.

We took a day trip to Ravenna and again asked Tourist Information to book and provide us with the tickets at a fee of 1 euro per person. For two of us, the return trip to Ravenna by train was approximately 23 euros.

Back to the hotel: the breakfast was perfectly adequate - cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad, hot buffet, cold meats and cheeses, croissants, rolls and cake.
We definitely don't however recommend eating in the restaurant in the evening. The portion sizes were quite small and expensive. You couldn't fault the service though. There's lots of restaurants in Bologna and its outskirts and some decent ones quite close to the hotel that are much cheaper and with better food.
There is a lounge area where you can get drinks from a vending machine from about 10 am through to 5pm. There is also cold water, juices, yoghurt, fruit and biscuits available. All of this is free up until 5pm.

We came to Bologna during a mini heatwave and the air conditioning was set at 22 degrees. We asked for it to be reduced and the engineer came immediately reducing it to 20 degrees but that was as low as it could be authorised. Our room was never below 23.5 degrees and we would have liked it a bit cooler. That is our only small gripe.

We do recommend asking for a non-smoking bedroom as we did and this was given to us.

The hotel does have a small roof terrace where you can get a view across the city. The hotel could make more of this either with a small pool or more of a garden feel - that would be a nice bonus.

All in all, we would recommend this hotel and would return there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,525 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,568 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savhotel

Address: Via Ferruccio Parri 9, 40128 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bologna
#2 Business Hotel in Bologna
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#6 Green Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $78 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savhotel is a 4-star hotel in Bologna with a modern style and the latest in fittings and equipment offering impeccable service. Located in a strategic position just a few meters from the Bologna Fair District and the Congress Centre, only 5 minutes away from Bologna's historic centre making it the perfect choice for both business travelers as well as for international tourists and families. Savhotel offers high levels of comfort including: Wi-Fi in the lobby, cable in all rooms, 24-h ultra-modern Fitness Point, LCD TV and cable in all rooms, covered private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Savhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sav Hotel Bologna
Savhotel Hotel Bologna
Savhotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing