We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of AC Hotel Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AC Hotel Bologna
Ranked #41 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a very nice American-style hotel in Bologna. Not in the nicest neighborhood, but walkable from the Centro. Staff was very helpful and recommended a great restaurant. Cabs arrived quickly after being called for. Rooms were minimalist, but comfortable. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
There are newer reviews for AC Hotel Bologna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 721 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

If you travel for business reasons and need a reliable hotel to meet your needs in Bolonga forget this one. I chose it because it was an AC thinking that was a guarantee (apart from the AC in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria I was always very impressed). Where can I start: the first surprise is that they charge you €10 for Internet access for each device for 24h. This means that if you have a phone and a computer and stay 2 days you have to pay €40, which is the most expensive Internet I have seen anywhere in Europe in the last year! You can just go to any Mcdonalds in Bolonga and get free Internet for the price of a coffee and there is one not too far away. Second, I tried to put my clothes on the cupboard shelf and found a whole layer of dust so decided to keep them in my suitcase. Third, no safe in the room so keep keep your documents and valuables with you. Fourth, I had dinner at the hotel because there is nothing else in the area and paid €15 + added extras for the smallest portion of salmon I have ever seen so prepare to go hungry unless you make the trip to the city centre by taxi or a 30 min walk or simply decide to pay a fortune. The breakfast options are limited and the bed and pillows are sub-standard for
an AC. I could go on and on but I think this is enough to say that there are much better options in Bolonga.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Not a good location for tourists

- It is a long 15 minute walk from the Central Station located in the middle of a not so nice neighborhood
- Anywhere by cab from the hotel will run you about 10 Euros depending on the time of day due the different taxes.
- A long walk away from all the major tourist attractions of the city.

- The hotel itself is of 4 star quality with newly renovated rooms which are clean and modern
- However, the service is still lacking. Rooms were missing tissue paper, towels, etc.
- During our two day stay we experienced several power outages which forced us to have to re-enter the login and passwords to the wifi on each of our devices over and over again. That was a bit of a pain.
- Breakfast buffet is standard.
- The receptionists were not friendly and had a bit of an attitude.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rodmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nothing fancy but the lobby. The rooms are nice and modern, but there are no shower doors so everything gets wet. The staff wasn't 100% on local restaurants (c'mon guys it's Bologna... give me a good recommendation there are supposed to be countless great ones) and their English was 50/50.
Breakfast was great though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrjsuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A modern, well kept and designed hotel for Business travellers. We wenthere in April on the few days that it was very hot. The air condition in our room did not work, as (so it was explained to us)
they were not allowed to turn it on before end of May. The staff tried to help with a fan and were
helpfull. But I would advice the Hotel to publish such facts on their website. If not for that we would rate the Hotel with 4 Points.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was booked with a flight and hotel package from Expedia. We were two couples on a a business and pleasure 3 night stay. The hotel is a good business hotel, it is 15 minute walk to the Bologna Fiere exhibition centre, a 15 minute walk to the main train station and 25-30 minute walk to the city centre Piazza Maggiore. This not really a holiday hotel but fine for a two to three night stay. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. The food in the hotel was good we had one evening meal there. The breakfast was a bit limited, mainly continental style. The hot choice was only scrambled egg and a chopped frankfurter type of sausage. Ask for fresh coffee when you sit down for breakfast as the coffee in the pots is only just warm. The staff are quite happy to bring out fresh cappuccino, espresso etc.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Beds were freshly made up each day, dressing gowns and slippers were available. The mini bar was free, although there was no tea or coffee making facility sadly this seems to be common in many continental hotels.
I would have no problem booking this hotel again for a short stay in Bologna.
If you want to eat out, sitting out side partially covered, I can recommend the Ristorante Victoria, Via A. Righi, a twenty minute walk into town. This is a busy Ristorante with a good menu selection and good food reasonably priced. It was as good this time as it was on a previous visit two years ago.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor at the front of the hotel which gave a good view towards the city. I w...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A bit of luxury after a lot of smaller places. Good value for buffet breakfast Nice big and nice room. Helpful staff at desk. Can,t talk about value incense got iron Marriott points!
Location away fom centre in newer part. Not an expensive taxi ride from train station. Recommend for business travel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monicas480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.3 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#39 of 102 in Bologna
1,598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Starhotels Excelsior
Starhotels Excelsior
#24 of 102 in Bologna
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western City Hotel
Best Western City Hotel
#31 of 102 in Bologna
721 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aemilia Hotel
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bologna Centro
Mercure Bologna Centro
#51 of 102 in Bologna
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Bologna

Address: Via Sebastiano Serlio 28, 40128 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#35 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $102 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Urban Design Hotel is located next to Bologna Fiera, close to Via Stalingrado, Viale Aldo Moro and Piazza della Costituzione. AC Hotel Bologna is just 10 minutes walking distance from central station High Speed Trains entrance, 15 minute by car from the Airport and allows easy access to public transportation. AC Hotel Bologna enjoys a perfect location for business and tourism, next to Bologna Exhibition Centre and the historic center of the city with its Art and Beauty: Piazza Maggiore Square, Neptune Fountain, the Two Towers and Pinacoteca Nazionale. Wireless Internet available in common areas, in-room minibars, room service, reading lamps, 24H fitness center, and AC Bar. Relax in the AC Hotel Bologna's Turkish bath before a meal of Bolognese culinary traditions in our restaurant. Buy everything you may need during your journey at our easily accessible My Market area near reception. The hotel also features three exquisitely designed event rooms for meetings or celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing