We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to be trendy/chic but just an average Biz Hotel”
Review of AC Hotel Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel Bologna
Ranked #42 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Trying to be trendy/chic but just an average Biz Hotel”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nothing fancy but the lobby. The rooms are nice and modern, but there are no shower doors so everything gets wet. The staff wasn't 100% on local restaurants (c'mon guys it's Bologna... give me a good recommendation there are supposed to be countless great ones) and their English was 50/50.
Breakfast was great though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrjsuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    364
    147
    39
    9
See reviews for
57
197
40
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Remscheid, Germany
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A modern, well kept and designed hotel for Business travellers. We wenthere in April on the few days that it was very hot. The air condition in our room did not work, as (so it was explained to us)
they were not allowed to turn it on before end of May. The staff tried to help with a fan and were
helpfull. But I would advice the Hotel to publish such facts on their website. If not for that we would rate the Hotel with 4 Points.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was booked with a flight and hotel package from Expedia. We were two couples on a a business and pleasure 3 night stay. The hotel is a good business hotel, it is 15 minute walk to the Bologna Fiere exhibition centre, a 15 minute walk to the main train station and 25-30 minute walk to the city centre Piazza Maggiore. This not really a holiday hotel but fine for a two to three night stay. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. The food in the hotel was good we had one evening meal there. The breakfast was a bit limited, mainly continental style. The hot choice was only scrambled egg and a chopped frankfurter type of sausage. Ask for fresh coffee when you sit down for breakfast as the coffee in the pots is only just warm. The staff are quite happy to bring out fresh cappuccino, espresso etc.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Beds were freshly made up each day, dressing gowns and slippers were available. The mini bar was free, although there was no tea or coffee making facility sadly this seems to be common in many continental hotels.
I would have no problem booking this hotel again for a short stay in Bologna.
If you want to eat out, sitting out side partially covered, I can recommend the Ristorante Victoria, Via A. Righi, a twenty minute walk into town. This is a busy Ristorante with a good menu selection and good food reasonably priced. It was as good this time as it was on a previous visit two years ago.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor at the front of the hotel which gave a good view towards the city. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A bit of luxury after a lot of smaller places. Good value for buffet breakfast Nice big and nice room. Helpful staff at desk. Can,t talk about value incense got iron Marriott points!
Location away fom centre in newer part. Not an expensive taxi ride from train station. Recommend for business travel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicas480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have just finished staying in this hotel, selected on the hotel brand for quality and consistency... DO NOT STAY HERE. The area is terrible. I knew it was on the edge of the city, I am quite happy to walk a mile into the centre. The area is covered in graffiti, groups of unemployed men sitting around drinking, no bars or cafes you would dare to risk eating in.
Because the hotel is therefore not in a thriving area it is very quiet - so no need for a member of staff behind the hotel bar (always chasing someone to serve), the hotel restaurant is very quiet and not inviting to eat in. The gym is very poor although marketed on the website very differently.
AC Marriott, if you where in the city you would be a place to stay, in your location it is terrible !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-Family-visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
159 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Considering the alternative offering in Bologna, I would pick up the AC as a wise choice.

It is a standard AC Hotel with typical AC design. The room and bathroom are adequate but nothing special. The building and all common areas aren’t attractive but we did not expect much anyway.

The good points:

- the rate on their web site was unbeatable

- their continental breakfast was a good surprise

- the service was very good: efficient front desk people (we asked for an early check in and the room we’d asked for was ready upon early arrival) and great housekeeping.

Three major concerns though:

- location: although it is not far out from anything, the walk to the university (the hotel is actually closer to that part of town than from main square) or to the city centre was not pleasant

- mattress: was much too soft to my taste

- very poor soundproof: you could hear your neighbors talking in the room next door

Room Tip: The lifts are very noisy, so better ask for a room far from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Supermercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Good italian 'modern style' hotel with absolute eye for finish & detail. Impressive! Correct 'business' service at the Reception desk.
Additional tax for parking, city tax, expensive internet... Why? I couldn't understand a word of the breakfast waitress though...and I do speak the same language;-) Very close to the Bologna historica's centre.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,148 reviews
Mercure Bologna Centro
#51 of 103 in Bologna
2,026 reviews
NH Bologna De La Gare
#39 of 103 in Bologna
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Excelsior
#24 of 103 in Bologna
1,600 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Best Western City Hotel
#32 of 103 in Bologna
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Bologna

Property: AC Hotel Bologna
Address: Via Sebastiano Serlio 28, 40128 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#35 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Urban Design Hotel is located next to Bologna Fiera, close to Via Stalingrado, Viale Aldo Moro and Piazza della Costituzione. AC Hotel Bologna is just 10 minutes walking distance from central station High Speed Trains entrance, 15 minute by car from the Airport and allows easy access to public transportation. AC Hotel Bologna enjoys a perfect location for business and tourism, next to Bologna Exhibition Centre and the historic center of the city with its Art and Beauty: Piazza Maggiore Square, Neptune Fountain, the Two Towers and Pinacoteca Nazionale. Wireless Internet available in common areas, in-room minibars, room service, reading lamps, 24H fitness center, and AC Bar. Relax in the AC Hotel Bologna's Turkish bath before a meal of Bolognese culinary traditions in our restaurant. Buy everything you may need during your journey at our easily accessible My Market area near reception. The hotel also features three exquisitely designed event rooms for meetings or celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing