We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay here”
Review of AC Hotel Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel Bologna
Ranked #41 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A bit of luxury after a lot of smaller places. Good value for buffet breakfast Nice big and nice room. Helpful staff at desk. Can,t talk about value incense got iron Marriott points!
Location away fom centre in newer part. Not an expensive taxi ride from train station. Recommend for business travel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monicas480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 731 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have just finished staying in this hotel, selected on the hotel brand for quality and consistency... DO NOT STAY HERE. The area is terrible. I knew it was on the edge of the city, I am quite happy to walk a mile into the centre. The area is covered in graffiti, groups of unemployed men sitting around drinking, no bars or cafes you would dare to risk eating in.
Because the hotel is therefore not in a thriving area it is very quiet - so no need for a member of staff behind the hotel bar (always chasing someone to serve), the hotel restaurant is very quiet and not inviting to eat in. The gym is very poor although marketed on the website very differently.
AC Marriott, if you where in the city you would be a place to stay, in your location it is terrible !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B-Family-visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Considering the alternative offering in Bologna, I would pick up the AC as a wise choice.

It is a standard AC Hotel with typical AC design. The room and bathroom are adequate but nothing special. The building and all common areas aren’t attractive but we did not expect much anyway.

The good points:

- the rate on their web site was unbeatable

- their continental breakfast was a good surprise

- the service was very good: efficient front desk people (we asked for an early check in and the room we’d asked for was ready upon early arrival) and great housekeeping.

Three major concerns though:

- location: although it is not far out from anything, the walk to the university (the hotel is actually closer to that part of town than from main square) or to the city centre was not pleasant

- mattress: was much too soft to my taste

- very poor soundproof: you could hear your neighbors talking in the room next door

Room Tip: The lifts are very noisy, so better ask for a room far from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Supermercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good italian 'modern style' hotel with absolute eye for finish & detail. Impressive! Correct 'business' service at the Reception desk.
Additional tax for parking, city tax, expensive internet... Why? I couldn't understand a word of the breakfast waitress though...and I do speak the same language;-) Very close to the Bologna historica's centre.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Marko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed there three times and definitely will come back! Very stylish modern interior, efficient staff, good location - 10 minutes walk to the downtown, spacious and clean rooms.

The hotel's style is modern with contemporary furnishings and clean lines.
the \breakfast is very poor variety

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khaled E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed there three times and definitely will come back! Very stylish modern interior, efficient staff, good location - 10 minutes walk to the downtown, spacious and clean rooms. For those who doesn't like to walk - there's a bus stop next to the hotel :) For those who finds minibar overpriced - there is Lidl just across the street ;)
The only problem I faced was water temperature. It can be boiling hot or freezing cold, that usually rotates. Please, fix it :)

There is also sauna and small gym in the hotel.
What about service - I would add a bit more of italian hospitality to this place such as smiles and ability to provide guests with information about local area, staff could be more responsive.
This hotel like all european Marriotts is for those who needs a bed, not home. If you expect a personal concierge and a lot of complimentary stuff I would advise you to find another hotel.
P.S. Housekeeping service was impeccable.

Would recommend this hotel for business travellers and also tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

North of the city centre, but the walk did not bother us. The hotel staff were helpful in providing directions and information about local bus services. The hotel's style is modern with contemporary furnishings and clean lines. We were comfortable and the breakfast buffet had all we could ask for and lots of freshly brewed coffee. The bar was understaffed late in the evening but we could get drinks in a quiet area. Bologna is a great and interesting city and there was some advantage to being a bit out of the busy centre. The price was good for the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FellowTraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.3 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Starhotels Excelsior
Starhotels Excelsior
#26 of 102 in Bologna
1,672 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#38 of 102 in Bologna
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aemilia Hotel
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western City Hotel
Best Western City Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Guercino
Hotel Il Guercino
#29 of 102 in Bologna
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Bologna

Address: Via Sebastiano Serlio 28, 40128 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#35 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $86 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Urban Design Hotel is located next to Bologna Fiera, close to Via Stalingrado, Viale Aldo Moro and Piazza della Costituzione. AC Hotel Bologna is just 10 minutes walking distance from central station High Speed Trains entrance, 15 minute by car from the Airport and allows easy access to public transportation. AC Hotel Bologna enjoys a perfect location for business and tourism, next to Bologna Exhibition Centre and the historic center of the city with its Art and Beauty: Piazza Maggiore Square, Neptune Fountain, the Two Towers and Pinacoteca Nazionale. Wireless Internet available in common areas, in-room minibars, room service, reading lamps, 24H fitness center, and AC Bar. Relax in the AC Hotel Bologna's Turkish bath before a meal of Bolognese culinary traditions in our restaurant. Buy everything you may need during your journey at our easily accessible My Market area near reception. The hotel also features three exquisitely designed event rooms for meetings or celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing