We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Hotel with Great Bathrooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Hotel Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AC Hotel Bologna
Ranked #41 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Hobe Sound, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel with Great Bathrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel was very modern, with great bathrooms, and a comfortable bed... one night, two baths...food was only okay... a bit loud, but on par for Italy... and cannot say a whole lot for Bologna...but good value for the room. I would recommend if you need to go to Bologna.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    346
    142
    36
    9
See reviews for
54
187
38
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South East
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel AC Bologna for a long weekend. The staff and the hotel were helpful and welcoming. The hotel is clean and the decor modern. The plus points of the hotel are check-in and check-out at 12. There is a complimentary mini-bar with free soft drinks including coke, apple juice, waters. The hotel has a fitness studio and a steam room which looked relatively under-used. There is a buffet breakfast which is your typical continental bread, cheese, ham, yogurts, fruit etc. If you are lucky they will offer to get a you a decent coffee but service a bit mixed at breakfast. The room's are fine but the bathroom has an unusual flimsy glass door without a lock for us prudish Brits. The shower wasn't great either and went from hot to cold randomly so a problem with the mixer I'm guessing.

However the Hotel AC or "A Country Mile" as I liked to refer to it as is miles away from anywhere. In the middle of a bit of a run-down suburb of Bologna the hotel is at least 15 minutes walk to the main ring road where most of the other hotels appear to be such as NH, Best Western, Star and Iportici. The main bus and train stations are around here. From this point there is then another 10-15 minutes walk to the Piazza Magiore which is the central square of Bologna. I'm guessing you are about 2 miles out. If you like walking then you will be fine!!! However for a short stay it's a bit much. There are buses or taxis but you may not want the hassle for a short stay so would advise looking closer to the centre for a hotel.

An OK stay but this is clearly a business hotel which caters for that market and some flight crew. Seemed pretty empty when we were there. If it was closer to the main city my review would be slightly different but its not so if you are business fine but if a tourist I wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

The room was very modern, the breakfast had a good selection and was very filling, the parking out front was free, no air conditioning at the end of the month in the rooms :(, overall was a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apriljader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

It is a nice hotel with modern decoration in very dark in colors. It seems that it is mostly used for business travel as we did not see any families with children there.

The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. They advised us where to eat and even provided us with an umbrella for the rainy days.

The hotel is 30 minutes walk from the city center - piazza magiorre, (and not 20 minutes as we were told) and the train station (Bologna Centrale) is a 15 minute walk (not 10), so plan your time accordingly. We enjoyed the walk, but if you have luggage to carry is better to take a taxi.

The one problem we encountered is that it was too hot in the rooms and we kept waking up from that. We were told that there is a law preventing the hotel from turning the air-condition on before the middle of May.

The breakfast spread was nice with different kinds of cheese and pastry, but no hot dishes.

Overall a nice hotel if you don't mind the distance from the city center.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYPEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

NIce & good hotel, good for busines visitors, and for tourist. After all busy day there is possibility to relax in sauna.
Nice restaurant.
Very friendly staff, and clean rooms.
Generally good choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artek z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Check-in was very good. Hotel attendant outlined the standard benefits as well as those offered to Marriott Gold members, many which are not advertised on the website. Free minibar, wireless Internet access, breakfast, as well as late check-out all added to the experience. My room was spotless and overall, I found the hotel very good for price and location.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARDAGO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had been gone for over three weeks, half way around the world to Argentina and Peru. We came dragging in to Bologna on our way to our home near Venice. I was ready to be pampered a bit. The AC Hotel Bologna came through in spades. Wonderful hotel, conveniently located to the airport and train station. The breakfast was great and the staff excellent. The room bordered on divine, especially considering how tired we were. And, at 5 Euro a pop, the prosecco was an excellent deal. Considering the price, this has to be one of the great deals in Italy. We would easily pay three times as much in Venice for the same amenities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NOEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.3 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Guercino
Hotel Il Guercino
#29 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.6 mi away
UNA Hotel Bologna
UNA Hotel Bologna
#25 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Starhotels Excelsior
Starhotels Excelsior
#21 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN City Hotel
BEST WESTERN City Hotel
#31 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
UNAWAY Hotel Bologna Fiera
UNAWAY Hotel Bologna Fiera
#44 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Bologna

Property: AC Hotel Bologna
Address: Via Sebastiano Serlio 28, 40128 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#35 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Urban Design Hotel is located next to Bologna Fiera, close to Via Stalingrado, Viale Aldo Moro and Piazza della Costituzione. AC Hotel Bologna is just 10 minutes walking distance from central station High Speed Trains entrance, 15 minute by car from the Airport and allows easy access to public transportation. AC Hotel Bologna enjoys a perfect location for business and tourism, next to Bologna Exhibition Centre and the historic center of the city with its Art and Beauty: Piazza Maggiore Square, Neptune Fountain, the Two Towers and Pinacoteca Nazionale. Wireless Internet available in common areas, in-room minibars, room service, reading lamps, 24H fitness center, and AC Bar. Relax in the AC Hotel Bologna's Turkish bath before a meal of Bolognese culinary traditions in our restaurant. Buy everything you may need during your journey at our easily accessible My Market area near reception. The hotel also features three exquisitely designed event rooms for meetings or celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your AC Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing