We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel, location not good for leisure trips”
Review of AC Hotel Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel Bologna
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The hotel seems to be quite new, maybe 10 yrs old or so. Spacious rooms in a nice modern design. Dark wood (or wood imitation in some cases) on the floor and furniture, room big enough, a good bed, clean and spacious bathroom with a good showerhead - I hate those things that release only a trickle of water.
The breakfast is on the upper edge of what I have seen in Italian 4* properties, including some freshly cut fruit and not the canned alternative.
However it needs to be said that it is located at the edge of the Bologna fairground / conference center quarters whose mainstreet is called "Via Stalingrado" and that more or less also describes the charme of the neighbourhood. To reach the city center you need to walk 15 minutes, crossing the bridge of traffic hell.
If you go there for business / a fair I would recommend it, for a nice weekend in town look for something else!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vela71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 750 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

The first thing I have noticed is a smoking smell all over hotel. I am not a smoker and this is very critical to me. It was looked like I was placed in a smoking room of some bar. The next thing is a room - the design is very cool and not really comfortable. By design to me, it looks more like airport hotel to overnight. Thankfully, I used it exactly for this purpose. Free mini bar is a marketing joke - some water and juice. And breakfast could be more various.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend in September. We had the hotel arrange our airport transfer and it cost 25 Euro. Later, we found out that a regular taxi is a bit cheaper, our airport return cost 18 Euro.

Hotel is not close to the old city center (piazza) with shops and restaurants, it's a 25 minute walk. There are also buses and taxis (about 8 Euro one way) to get to the main piazza.

The hotel room was great. Very comfortable beds (provided a free extra bed for our 3-year-old), nice bathroom, flat screen TV (although strangely pointing upward a bit), fridge with free drinks (basic waters, coca cola, etc.) which was refilled all the time. Air-conditioning worked very well (important, since it was hot outside: 32C / 90F). The hotel is in a quiet area north of the city centre, we slept very well.

Hotel is a business hotel. Real office chairs in the main restaurant, that's a bit weird...

Breakfast tasted good, although selection was somewhat limited.

They have an Internet computer, but charge 35 Eurocent per minute! There is a free fitness center as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Another place that is a comfort to American's seeking a clean, service based environment. AC sounds like it was recently taken over by Marriott since we found this through their hotel. We stayed in 2 rooms for family of 5 and my only complaint is that we couldn't get with an adjoining door between. Just next to each other so my wife and I had to sleep separate to have someone with the kids. The rooms are ultra modern and great. Flat screen TVs and modern bathrooms with high power showers. It's definitely designed more for business and a mile or 2 from downtown but still worked perfectly for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawman2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Even though the lobby was being remodeled, the staff were FANTASTIC in accomodating our requests. Room spacious (by European standards), very clean, quite with comfortable king beds (upon request). $12 Euro cab ride to down center, $1.50 Euro for bus ride after 5 minute walk down the street. Staff very friendly & accomodating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVLocal59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Very good hotel. 15 minutes walk from the train station. Rooms clean and well stocked. Free mini-bar. Buffet breakfast, so you can eat. The only disadvantage may be lack of access to free internet, but you can always pay for it. Hotel recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPopiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We booked this hotel on the basis of reviews on this sight and round, it did not disappoint. Getting there by foot from the train station takes about 15 minutes and takes you through some residential streets, but it is all safe and calm. Once you get there, the hotel stands out as having a touch of class about it - stylish lobby, very modern restaurant and bar area. The receptionists were polite, helpful and good English speakers. When in the room, we were pleased - it was minimalist yet stylish and comfortable. However, do not expect much of the views - one side looks on to flats, the other on to the road. This is when we noticed the first downside - but it was not the hotel's fault. There was no air conditioning in the rooms - annoying as it was hot. Apparently, by law, they cannot have these on until 15 May. They did, however, supply us with a fan which was adequate. Other good points with the room were the comfortable bed, free mini-bar which was topped up daily and a nice bath. Breakfast was the only part of this hotel which was not 4 star. You have to ask for a hot drink as it's hit and miss whether a waitress would ask you or not in our experience. The selection of food is quite poor - only eggs and sausage were hot. And our final breakfast there was the biggest let down and left a sour taste in the mouth. We arrived for breakfast at 9.15, 45 minutes before closing. Yet, there was no hot food. There were no sweet pastries and no juice! The waitress saw us waiting for these things but did not arrange for a top up or provide any explanation as to whether there would be any more food. As such, our final experience of this hotel was not a good one and this should be a point that I hope the management take note of. However, this should not take away from the overall standard of this hotel which was good, clean, comfortable and peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shah_zada80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,256 reviews
NH Bologna De La Gare
#37 of 102 in Bologna
1,675 reviews
Starhotels Excelsior
#26 of 102 in Bologna
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,545 reviews
Best Western City Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
751 reviews
Savena
Best Western Plus Tower Hotel Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Bologna

Address: Via Sebastiano Serlio 28, 40128 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#35 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $85 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Urban Design Hotel is located next to Bologna Fiera, close to Via Stalingrado, Viale Aldo Moro and Piazza della Costituzione. AC Hotel Bologna is just 10 minutes walking distance from central station High Speed Trains entrance, 15 minute by car from the Airport and allows easy access to public transportation. AC Hotel Bologna enjoys a perfect location for business and tourism, next to Bologna Exhibition Centre and the historic center of the city with its Art and Beauty: Piazza Maggiore Square, Neptune Fountain, the Two Towers and Pinacoteca Nazionale. Wireless Internet available in common areas, in-room minibars, room service, reading lamps, 24H fitness center, and AC Bar. Relax in the AC Hotel Bologna's Turkish bath before a meal of Bolognese culinary traditions in our restaurant. Buy everything you may need during your journey at our easily accessible My Market area near reception. The hotel also features three exquisitely designed event rooms for meetings or celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing