We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, pleasant small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergo delle Drapperie
Ranked #47 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent location, pleasant small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

A friend and I stayed at this hotel two weeks ago. We enjoyed the location, very close to everything. The rooms and staff were pleasant. The decor is attractive and tasteful. The price was reasonable for Italy. The breakfast was not quite enough compared to other Italian small hotels. One word of warning, this hotel has stairs and would be a bit difficult for some people who have problems with stairs.

Room Tip: My room was 104 (?) it has a nice window overlooking a flower shop. Charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    130
    44
    13
    11
See reviews for
28
165
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location right in the bustling central market and near excellent restaurant and lively café options. Staff friendly and rooms perfectly clean. Converted rooms have attractive painted ceilings but not too well insulated from sound from other guests comings and goings but there had to be one drawback...again, stepping out into the frenetic energy of the market (flowers, fish, cheese, wine...) is absolutely the selling point for this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and were overall very satisfied with out stay. The hotel was not that cheap, we payed €140 for our room per night, but this was also one of only two rooms on top flood with views to the city towers, so I think we got fair value for our money. I guess rooms in lower floors were cheaper (as chance would have it, we visited in the days of the book fair, so not many rooms were available in town, and this was the only one in this hotel).

The hotel is located literally in dead centre of historic town, and I could not imagine a better location for a hotel if you want to visit historic Bologna. The hotel is placed in a small charming street which buzzes with life during the day - there's a flower shop right across the street, there are grocery shops, a fish shop, several fruit shops, and several cafes right next door - but is pleasantly quit during the night, so don't worry about any noise from bars or nightlife.

The room was pleasant if pretty plain, the beds were two separate beds placed next to each other rather than a king-size bed, the bathroom was nice and functional. If we were to go back to Bologna, we would definitely book a room in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaspergm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReceptionDrapperie, Responsabile reception at Albergo delle Drapperie, responded to this review, May 26, 2016
Dear kaspergm,
Very glad You appreciated Your stay in our hotel, and hope to see You again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Not too bad, a small hotel, with helpful, friendly staff. We had a room on the top floor which was very small, and had a lot of dust/fluff on top of the wardrobe. I had difficulty fitting in the very very small shower. There was some noise from the streets below at night. But it is in a great central location. Reading some reviews before booking we did not have breakfast in the hotel. There are dozens of excellent bars all around and are great value.

Room Tip: Don't stay on top floor unless you are a small person!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal_J_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

it is perfectly located for any traveller to Bologna - it is about 20 min from airport, 10 min from railway station and it is right in the city centre ! the only drawback is the room is really tiny !! but has some wonderful painted ceilings. I had a room overlooking the street and there are shops right across - unfortunately if you are light sleeper you will be woken up at 6.30 am by the delivery vans and shops opening up !
The breakfast is a big meagre, but on the plus side, the staff are helpful and the internet is reasonably cheap (Euro 2 per day).
If you have problems with stairs and luggage, please note the lift does not come to the ground floor and you have to carry your own luggage up one flight of stairs to the reception.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank netshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel has a magical location, steps from Piazza Maggiore and small streets with food shops. Its small size means it often will have rooms when the larger hotels are booked for the conventions that are popular in this city. We've stayed here a few times, but I must say its getting a bit old to me. The maintenance leaves a bit to be desired. Putting a bag up in the closet showed that they don't dust it very often, since the bag became the duster and was coated! Our shower had slow drainage. The staff at the desk are helpful, and everyone seemed to speak English well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_1234z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

As some may say, location is everything whilst on holiday. If this is the case and it is for us, then this small, cheerful hotel is the ideal place to stay. Whilst Albergo delle Drapperie is a simple hotel, it is comfortable and is situated in such a perfect central location it is hard to not find fault with it. It is situated amongst the most amazing small food shops, delis and restaurants and bars that all is on your doorstep. The atmosphere when you step outside the hotel door is one of bustle and laughter and chatter and the smells, colours of fresh produce is a joy to behold. Cheese, meat and fruit and veg abound and you can't help but be tempted to buy and smile. All the sights are nearby and the staff at the hotel are friendly and courteous. We chose to not have breakfast as there are so many places nearby to choose from. Inside the hotel has a lovely character and has all that you will need whilst in Bologna (as most time is spent outside..surely?) We wouldn't stay anywhere else (our second stay), everywhere is so close. A superb all round place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoetfromBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Art Hotel Orologio
#8 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#11 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Albergo Centrale
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Commercianti
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Santo Stefano
Albergo Garisenda
Albergo Garisenda
#56 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo delle Drapperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo delle Drapperie

Property: Albergo delle Drapperie
Address: Via Drapperie 5, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo delle Drapperie 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Albergo delle Drapperie offers 21 rooms, rising in the Bologna historical centre, overlooks the alleyways which connect Piazza Maggiore to the Asinelli's Towers. Albergo delle Drapperie offers you a Liberty and Comfortable design, free wifi connection and a "animal friendly" policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Albergo delle Drapperie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Delle Drapperie Bologna
Albergo Delle Drapperie Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing