We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo delle Drapperie
Ranked #47 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2011

In a pedestrian area and you have to take your luggage up a flight of stairs (so know this going in) but it is not a problem. The hotel is clean and the bathroom is a nice size almost as big as the room. We had a nice little window that opened out to the street but it was too noisy to have open (we had the window closed so we could not hear the noise in the room). Bologna is beautiful but very crowded and noisy. It might have been because we were there over the weekend, during the week might be better. It is worth the visit, though. The hotel is close to the sites and shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nina1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 335 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed one night and found it an acceptable place. The location is excellent with lots of sites, shops and good restaurants all within short walking distance. Had a double room on the first floor which was slightly small, but clean, quiet and comfortable. Based on other reviews, we did not order breakfast, and stopped for our coffee and pastry at the cafe on the corner that cost us much less than 5 Euros per person.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I think I had high expectations of this hotel because of the good reviews and maybe a little because of their website. Although now that I'm reading other recent reviews, they're not that great either. Mind you, I booked back around March. The price was decent at 85 EUR a night. Breakfast is another 5 EUR per person on top of that if you choose to have it at the hotel. There is a fruit stand and a bakery literally across the street from the hotel. We bought two pastries and two pieces of fruit for 3,50 EUR total rather than 10 EUR for what I was told is a pastry and juice (by the guy at the desk). I was only in Bologna for a little over 12 hours, and from what I saw the location is quite good, in the old centre of town and also not far from bus stops and the train station.

The reception desk and first set of rooms are on the first floor of a building with no elevator, up 25 steps and nobody to help with luggage. The décor is quite dated. I stayed in room 103 with a “king bed”, which was two beds pushed together. Two terrible beds. They were quite obviously very old. Thin, worn out, and we could feel the springs pushing through all night. Very uncomfortable. The air conditioner in the room is incredibly weak. We had it on the highest fan speed at the lowest temperature and couldn’t feel a thing. The hot water from the tap never came on, and it took several minutes to get hot water in the shower. The shower leaked everywhere all over the “marble” floor, so when I stepped into the bathroom while my husband was showering I almost slipped. The free wifi just happened not to be working. Thankfully the guy at the front desk helped me to check in for my flight the next morning on his computer.

I wouldn’t let the location of this place entice me. I’d rather stay somewhere comfortable and pay the extra money, on top of being in the old town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MissWanderlustCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The main advantage of this hotel is the location, smack in the middle of the Quadrilatero precinct: you are right in the heart of the city. I was thrilled with it after having stayed at an awful hotel in Bologna on a previous occasion. My room was big, on the top level: you could not see the street below but you could hear it and smell it (the aromas from the Eataly restaurant next door). There were some negatives: the lobby is on the first level up stairs so if you have heavy bags or are frail/disabled that would be a problem (there is a lift from level one to the upper levels). The bathroom had no drainage but the water spilt from the shower (inevitably because of those hand-held shower hoses) somehow disappeared down the crack between the bath and floor during the day. They don't have an efficient breakfast-providing facility: the galley is small and they preorder stuff from outside: I recommend you eat out for breakfast: there is a great caffe` just up the street (Caffe delle Drapperie).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schiltron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

My husband stayed here for 1 night during our honeymoon. When we arrived at the hotel we had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs to the reception (no elevator to the reception). The man sitting at the desk looked annoyed that we had bugged him by showing up. He directed us to our room which although there was air conditioning, never went below 85 degrees throughout the entire night. It was so hot and muggy in our room the entire night, sleep was impossible. The next day, we discovered an extra bonus in our bathroom. Not only was there no shower curtain for the tub, but there was no shower. It was a bathtub with a long handle for the faucet. We literally had to sit in the tub and "shower" sitting down. Had we not been exhausted from lack of sleep, we would have found humor in this. We then went to breakfast (which we were talked into adding during check-in for an extra 5 Euro the night before). Breakfast was also an absolute joke. We were given a couple of thawed out rolls and some water. We went back to our room to pack. While packing, we accidentally moved the top sheet of the bed (which was used to make 2 twin beds appear like a king sized bed - very common in Europe) and discovered that the fitted sheet of one of the twin beds had large brown stains (not visible on the top sheet). Wonderful way to end the trip. Although the hotel is by a number of bars and restaurants, I would recommend paying the extra 15 Euro to spend the night in a hotel with a working shower, air conditioning and washed sheets.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovinglife0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Our stay at the Albergo delle Drapperie was most pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was an unexpected surprise. Although we knew we were close to Piazza Maggiore, with the Basilica, the two towers, the statue of Neptune nearby, we were unaware that we were surrounded by some of the world's finest shopping and excellent Bolognese dining. In addition, the proximity to conveniences such as small shops for water and other travel necessities make this a very desirable hotel. Heartily recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharwood_21218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

After a wonderful trip to Venice, Florence and the Tuscany area, we stayed our last few nights in bologna, an area we love for the food and many other things. But this hotel could almost ruin your trip, it felt like we were almost sleeping in a flea bag, one step from being on the street -- bed was totally uncomfortable, soft and lumpy, pillows were old and filthy. The staff was horrible, the night staff could not even speak English or help us with any requests; if you are running a hotel, you need to be able to communicate with your guests -- that is your main job. It smelt liked they washed the floors with dirty water, and I saw the pail one day and almost gagged. A good place to avoid. I don't understand the other reviews on tripAdvisor, how could they be talking about the same place; sounds like they are talking about another hotel. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location which is fabulous. It is really sad that they couldn't live up to the potential of this area and provide a comfortable, friendly and clean accommodation.

Room Tip: Use many reviews and word of mouth, not just TA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAGHW69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReceptionDrapperie, Direttore at Albergo delle Drapperie, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

We remember the customers and the day of their stay. That evening in Piazza Maggiore was an assembly (it was the day before the election day) and the candidate's voice came up to our hotel. All other our guest have understood the situation but not the customers of this review. About the other noises, we're sorry but you can not want to stay in the historic center of a city like Bologna, get a room facing the street, and find the silence of the inns in the country. About the cleaning, customers have not communicated anything to the reception wich in that case would have immediately checked the state of the room. Decor and cleanliness are an important business card and we will never allow our customers to sleep in a room uncared. The hotel was renovated a few years ago, so mattresses and pillows are practically new. About the kindness, the other reviews speak for us. It may happen that a staff member does not speak English, but it is one in five people. We are very sorry that the customers are saying that they do not understand the other reviews on TripAdvisor, but maybe they are just tolking about another hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Hotel Commercianti
Art Hotel Commercianti
#13 of 102 in Bologna
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Cappello Rosso
Al Cappello Rosso
#8 of 102 in Bologna
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Orologio
Art Hotel Orologio
#10 of 102 in Bologna
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#28 of 102 in Bologna
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Centrale
Albergo Centrale
#24 of 102 in Bologna
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo delle Drapperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo delle Drapperie

Address: Via Drapperie 5, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $110 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo delle Drapperie 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Albergo delle Drapperie offers 21 rooms, rising in the Bologna historical centre, overlooks the alleyways which connect Piazza Maggiore to the Asinelli's Towers. Albergo delle Drapperie offers you a Liberty and Comfortable design, free wifi connection and a "animal friendly" policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo delle Drapperie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Delle Drapperie Bologna
Albergo Delle Drapperie Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing