We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, chic, friendly, helpful and comfortable- a great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta
Ranked #74 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Il convento has so much to offer. We have stayed there twice - the first time in a smaller but still very lovely room and the second in a two level, two bathroom large suite. Both occasions we have experienced hospitality at its best- professional, courtious, helpful and caring staff. They are always ready to advise, direct and ensure that you make the most of being in Bologna. We wanted to stay longer the last time but it was no surprise that they were fully booked. Do not hesitate in booking this hotel if like us you prefer the individual and unique places- bog standard, box room hotel this is not.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulF1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 304 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a girls weekend and it was excellent. The location is an easy 10 mins walk from the centre of the city, which gives you a chance to see and experience the beautiful architecture.

Twof of us shared the junior suite gold, and the other two had the larger suite. Both were beautiful, stylish and comfortable rooms. The hotel is very small (10 rooms I think), and in a building packed full of character. This has been combined with modern design to provide stunning accommodation. I don't usually pick boutique hotels, but this place has converted me.

The staff were brilliant. Even though we arrived early, our room was made ready within 10 minutes whilst we sipped coffee in the lounge area. Everybody was very polite and helpful, giving directions, ordering taxis and making dinner reservations for us. Their restaurant recommendation (antica osteria 5 mins walk from the hotel) was excellent.

When we arrived back from a late night out, the night porter was more than happy to serve us drinks from the bar with a smile. The breakfast area is fairly compact on a balcony overlooking the lounge/reception, but it's completely adequate for the size of hotel and what you'd expect from an italian hotel.

I always read tripadvisor before booking a hotel, and it's interesting to see different people's viewpoints. If you're looking for a bog standard chain hotel room where you could be anywhere in the world, then this isn't the place for you. However, if you really want to experience something unique and charming, then definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barnchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We paid €220 for a Junior Suite at this boutique hotel with only about 10 rooms in two floors. The room surprised us in two ways: firstly it was very beautiful with focus on modern italian design from furniture to lighting. Secondly it was a bit smaller than expected when booking a suite. The bathroom was huge with a very special shower design that actually fits two people. We stayed in room 53.

My wife commented that the bed, linen and towels were of very high quality which she enjoyed.

Good service spoken in excellent english.

We arrived on a Sunday which meant that most restaurants were closed and we had a hard time finding a place to eat. The central parts of Bologna around the Duomo are 10 minutes away. This hotel is located on a small street with not much on it. We parked just outside the hotel and got a €38 parking ticket when we overstayed our spot with only 20 minutes.

Breakfast was somewhat limited and extras cost a lot. Coffee was free (I had a great Cappuccino).

Great Wifi network with fast downloads (uncommon in Italy).

In total a somewhat expensive night for a hotel located a fair bit away from the Duomo but a place we'll remember because of the cool italian design.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjornstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I stayed 3 nights in the Convento dei Fiori di Seta and can only recommend this little hotel. Very tastefully furbished rooms, extremely friendly and helpful staff, central location in a small, gladly not too busy street - which is however my reason for giving only 4 points for the sleep quality. I am sensible to noise and as my room was located towards the street I had to keep the window closed. Italian scooters tend to be very noisy especially in the middle of the night. Other than that I was extremely satisfied with my stay, breakfast with a nice selection of various items is included in the room charge, the coffee is delicious, when having a drink at the bar in the evening you get a variety of (free) fingerfood including small slices of pizza, sandwiches, olives etc. Several great restaurants are in walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SabineGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Great small hotel, smartly designed. The staff was extra helpful, specially Monica, who gave us very good restaurant reccomendations. She even found out where I could get a perfume that I was looking for and could't find in any of the perfume shops in Bologna.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megustaviajar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We spent a night at the Hotel in June 2009. Our trip was meant to be short and romantic and we were pleased by the comfortable, silent and stylish room assigned, with a tiny balcony overlooking an internal patio.

Bed, linen and towels were high quality, something I usually tend to notice.

Breakfast was served in our room, on time as requested. It included a large selection of jams, croissants, fresh squeezed orange juice and nice Italian espresso.

We left the hotel with the clear feeling that we will be back soon!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LadyinRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

My wife and I spent two nights at Il Convento Dei Fiori Di Seta in April. The hotel is small and is located in a former convent that fell into disrepair and was actually used as an auto repair shop till the current owner restored every inch of it.

The hotel It is indeed located on a narrow side street about 10 minutes walk to the center of Bologna. While some may like being in the very heart of everything, we rather liked being a short walk from everything in a real neighborhood.

When arrived the staff fell all over themselves getting our bags to our room and offered to show us every feature of the stylish room.

The historic building codes required that the elevator be built into the former belltower and like a lot of elevators in Europe it is small. But it was welcome after a full day of walking all over the city.

The rooms are tomb quiet with triple glazed floor to ceiling windows that when closed completely eliminated road noise. We slept like pups in the very comfortable bed.

The beautifully tiled bathrooms have big vessel style sinks, great amenities, and big showers, which as one reviewer noted, can leak.

The hotel has a lovely intimate wine bar at one end and breakfast is served in a quiet little mezzanine that overlooks the lobby on the other. Food offerings changed each day and included a variety of fresh rolls, wonderful prosciutto, salami, yogurt, and home made granola. We were offered a cappuccino and orange juice.

The owner pays attention to every detail in the hotel and took great care to help us by mapping out walking routes, assisting us with dinner reservations, and just generally helping us explore a city she clearly loves.

We loved Bologna and we loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ArizonaArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#11 of 102 in Bologna
1,425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Commercianti
Art Hotel Commercianti
#13 of 102 in Bologna
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Art Hotel Orologio
Art Hotel Orologio
#10 of 102 in Bologna
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Art Hotel Novecento
Art Hotel Novecento
#42 of 102 in Bologna
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,442 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Il Guercino
Hotel Il Guercino
#28 of 102 in Bologna
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta

Address: Via Orfeo 34/4, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#39 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bologna's dowtown area, il convento dei fiori di eta has been realized following the meticolous restoration of the little church of the nunnery, built in the 15th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Convento Dei Fiori Di Seta Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing