We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Centro Turistico Citta di Bologna
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
1 review
“Perfect family vacation”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My family and I stayed there for 3 nights and it was fabulous, perfect location to visit the centre of bologna and yet we had the relaxation of using the facilities of the pool and the childrens park.
We stopped in the chalets and they we clean a perfectly adequate, just by the pool and handy for other facilities.
We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food and drink was delicious and very reasonably priced. Staff were very helpful and friendly also.
I would recommend anyone to stay there if they want a good base to explore, clean and adequate accommodation and family friendly facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarabrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    118
    61
    22
    17
See reviews for
40
86
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I'd try and avoid this place if you can... They have cooking facilities but you're only allowed to use them under the strictest, weirdest circumstances. You have to stay here for 15 days minimum, pay €15 extra per day and not share with anyone. I don't know why they bother offering this place with hostel style booking.

The place is about a 45 minute walk from the train station, or you have to get a bus which costs €1.20 each way. This is a good way to eat into your cash if you're travelling on a budget. 

The main annoying thing here is they seem to look down their noses at you if you're staying in the cheap shared accommodation.
 
One member of staff on reception was the rudest, most petty individual I've ever met. Our booking through Travellers Point said free breakfast but it was an error (don't get free breakfast when booking shared rooms) and he kicked up a massive fuss about it. When the manager conceded it wasn't our mistake and gave us breakfast passes, the guy had a proper strop. 

The next day we asked to move rooms because the guy we shared with was really ill and had the worst BO ever!!! This receptionist really didn't like me after the breakfast situation so he completely refused and started muttering "free breakfast, oh free breakfast" under his breath. I told him he was rude, impolite and a d******d. Then the manager intervened and so the rude guy shut up. 

If you're coming to Bologna, just try and find something closer to the centre unless you really like campsites with rude staff. 

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deathinthehalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BolognesediiBologna, Direttore at Hotel Centro Turistico Citta di Bologna, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Sir, we don't sell any bungalow with breakfast and we offer you free breakfast to avoid more discussions with you.
Remember that you paid Euro 15,- for the accomodation.....
We don't have any common kitchen and the kitchen in bungalows available for 7 days minimum stay. All these information you may find in our website.
We understand the problem with the ill guy but we offer a private room with only 10,- Euro surcharge.
We apologize for the misunderstanding with our receptionist.
Best regards.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bologna hotels

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Out of the way and not very easy to get to. Not very central to shops or other amenities. Rooms average.I didn't particularly enjoy sharing with a stranger, but that was my own fault for picking a shared room. Reception staff pretty miserable.

Overall, ideal for people who backpack alone looking for company, but not really ideal for anything else or people wanting privacy or shops on their doorstep. I wouldn't go back personally but that's because Bologna was boring in general.

Room Tip: Just make sure you check if you are in a shared room and if that's what you want before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ali822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
157 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is a camp site on the edge of town with some chalets and some bungalows. I had a chalet with two single beds and a small bathroom about 100 metres from the main facilities. These are a pool, a bar/restaurant, a pizza take away but no shop. The hotel is easy to get to from the ring road and there is a bus every two hours into town. It has wifi but at a cost.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The staff is very good, like the bungalows conditions. The swiming pool is great and is very secure, as there is a swimmer guard there all the time. It+s a bit far away from the centre of the city, but you have bus from 2 - hours in front of the camping. No doubt there I would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This place is more of an upmarket camp ground...

I stayed ehre with a mate after backpacking around the southern tip of italy and it was very refreshing!

If you are backpacking for a couple who are lookign for cheap accomodation, but are not prepared to live like a peasant in a filthy hostel.. THIS IS YOUR PLACE! I stayed in a chalet and had the best night sleep for about 3 weeks! The rooms are small but perfectly formed.. The sower room was all made out of moulded plastic but it makes it easy for the maids to clean... Which means it is CLEAN! The bed is very comfortable and the chalets have airconditioning which is great if you visit Italy in July like i did.

There is a swimming pool in the complex which you are free to use which is fantastic! However, make sure you go and reserve a seat early.. I know its terribly rude to do so, but most people who stay here reserve seats with their towels and sunlotion in the early morning.

The breakfast/ cafe is basic from memory, the Ragu is not the best ( but your at a campsite...what would 1 expect!!)

The one downside for thsi busget accomodation is its location...Comign from Sydney, Australia i have never had any trouble finding where i am and navigating myself to where i need to be.. But it is an absolute nightmare to get into Bolonga centre by public transport. Busses on the weekends come not that often, for us it was once every hour and 10 minuites, and after 7:30PM there was no busses at all!! so if you want to dine in town like us at night.. MAKE SURE ITS AN EARLY RESERVATION! Bolonga is a fantastic place to visit in Italy and i likes it more that Milan and parts of Rome, you get a lot more bang for your buck.

Overall if you are ok with confusing busses, have no interest in going into town or have access to a car, i would defiantley reccomend thsi place to busget travellers who want a cheap sleep!

Internet is not available in the chalets but the re is a computer at the reception area where the guests can use the internet.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a car to get into the city and reserve your suned by the pool early.. they fill u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LieFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is more than the usual camping, it also offers "bungalows" (brick buildings) and "chalets" (double mobile units). It is well located near the BolognaFiere (convention center) with bus service to downtown Bologna. It is relatively inexpensive by Bologna standards. We got the handicapped room in one of the bungalows. It was quite big with a large bathroom and a full kitchen (you need to spend 15 days there to be allowed to use it). It had 2 single beds but management made it into a "queen" size bed the next morning. The whole place was incredibly clean including the public restrooms and showers which I had the chance to inspect. There is also a restaurant and a bar on site which was packed every night and offering very decent food. Despite busloads of young teenagers stopping by every night, we did not hear any noise during the night and the place was very quiet in the daytime. The only real irritation is the lack of a decent wifi system. It was always down and the few times I managed to log on in the middle of the night, it was incredibly slow. The office staff use another system with satellite Internet sticks on their computers.

Room Tip: Get the handicapped room - Bungalow 42
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZFrequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Navile
Hotel Tuscolano
Hotel Tuscolano
#58 of 103 in Bologna
80 reviews
San Donato
Novotel Bologna Fiera
Novotel Bologna Fiera
#40 of 103 in Bologna
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Imperial
#31 of 103 in Bologna
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centro Turistico Citta di Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centro Turistico Citta di Bologna

Property: Hotel Centro Turistico Citta di Bologna
Address: Via Romita 12/4a, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Navile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centro Turistico Citta di Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Centro Turistico Citta di Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing