We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place right in the heart of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cristina Rossi Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 283 Bologna B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab place right in the heart of town”
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This is a great little place right in the heart of Bologna's old town. Christina, the owner, is lovely - very friendly and helpful. We got an apartment-style place to ourselves, with kitchen facilities, which was unexpected, The breakfastis simple - capochino, toast, cake/cheeses - but does the job. Bologna's a nice, chilled-out place, good bars, fantastic food! Highly reccommend a pasta dish I had - pumpkin stuffed tortolinni with crispy bvacon and a balsamic cream sauce mmmmmmm.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    49
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
55
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Christina Rossi B&B was a nice place to stay in good location. But if your going to Bologna, don't go on a Sunday. Nothing is open and very little to do. Not a very attractive city either.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Despite a soggy arrival in Bologna, Cristina was able to guide me by phone to her lovely B&B in the Historical Center of Bologna. Her suggestions for a morning's sightseeing were 'spot-on' and perfect for a photographer. Breakfast was a nice surprise and better than the usual offerings at most B&Bs. Grazie mille Cristina!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggerfotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I was in Bologna for the second time in my life as I love this city and this time I went with my family. We contacted by internet this BB (first time I was in Bologna I stayed in Hotel I Portici and it was terrible) and we just can say that was really great for us and really cheap.
Everything was really clean,well-furnished, big home, breakfast very good (no salad food but enough breakfast for those who really love to eat in the mornings like me), Cristina was really nice, polite and helpful.
The BB is situated in the centre of Bologna, less than one minute walking to the Piazza Maggiore and three minutes to the two towers.
Excelent in everything, so if I come back again I will stay here without no doubt.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donperico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We found this B&B in Bologna through the SAS City Guides, and were very pleased with the accommodation. I was a bit worried after reading the recommendations against this B&B on tripadvisor before I set out, but was hoping things had changed since the last review which was over a year ago. To my delight we had a very good experience here that was nothing like that described in earlier reviews.

Staying here felt like stumbling into a secret. From our warm welcome by Cristina, to the fantastic location off the main area of the city, to the great pizza place recommendation, we had a good stay here. We even considered coming back at the end of the trip and staying here instead of in Milan before our flight, but opted to end in Milan as our airport was too far outside the city to make it from Bologna in one morning.

The room was quiet as it is on a side street. There are a few things that would improve the B&B, the first being the addition of a mattress-topper on the beds. They were too firm for me, although they are a good quality.

The bathroom was located across the hall from the room, which is normal for a B&B. We had our own bathroom which was convenient. The towels were thin as another reviewer said, but that was in fact something I liked. They dried much faster, which is a bonus during the italian summer!

The breakfast was light and consisted of coffee, cake, and toast. Some might have missed the fruit or cereal or cheese. We were okay with it as we had had a huge dinner the night before. Breakfast was served in the family´s very fashionable living room.

  • Liked — Location, decor, ambiance, price
  • Disliked — hard beds
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank erin-norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 9, 2006

Christina is very pleasant, and the room and bath were spacious. However, she doesn't get what a tourist needs. For example; No toilet paper in bath, a cat has free reign of the inter connected appartments ( not good if you are alergic, as is my wife). No shower curtain though the bath had a wall mounted shower and a curtain rod. The bath looked like a set from of "Singing in the Rain" after each shower. Oh, and their child had Chickenpox while we were there and has seen in the common rooms in that condition.
On the other hand, it does have an excellent center city location. Nevertheless, this would not be an accomodation that we'd stay in again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2006

This B&B was not a good fit for us.

When we arrived Cristina greeted up pleasantly and told us there was a problem with the room we reserved and we would be staying downstairs in an apartment for the first night of our three night stay. She never specified what the problem was. The apartment was OK and if I had reserved that instead of the most expensive and largest room, it would have been OK. As it was, the bathroom was a lot smaller than our original room and across a hall instead of directly attached. The apartment smelled like cigarette smoke. Breakfast the next morning was mediocre. The cappucino was lukewarm and mostly it was cookies, and cakes that were storebought and laid on platters.

The next night we were moved to the room we originally reserved. The photos of the room on her website were accurate. The room is spacious as is the bathroom. The problems were threefold:

1) This felt like Cristina and her husband's bedroom that they moved out of so we could stay there. Their clothes, medicines, shoes etc were in the closets and cabinets of the bed and bathroom. This was weird.

2) The pillows were awful. The felt like sleeping on lumps of stuffing. I'm guessing this is from washing inexpensive pillows several times. They were definitely beyond the end of their useful (comfortable) lives.

3) The noise level was loud. The second night we stayed in our originally booked room a large (and loud) party returned from an evening out at about 11:30 p.m. We were trying to sleep after a very long day out. The next morning we heard the group get up and go about their morning business, again they were loud. I think the fact that the floors of the apartment are marble and carry sound contributed to this. Regardless, it wasn't pleasant.

In the end, we decided to leave the b&b a day early because we weren't happy there. We were charged Euro 100 per night for both nights, even though we didn't stay in the 100 euro room the first night. We didn't argue, but just paid and departed.

The positive of this B&B is that Cristina and her husband are both friendly. If you are interested in feeling as though you are staying with family friends (in their room) and don't mind the noise or let things like uncomfortable pillows bother you, you will probably be satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Georgia28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Panorama Hotel
#31 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#34 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Albergo Centrale
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Stefano
Albergo Garisenda
Albergo Garisenda
#54 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Santo Stefano
B&B ayHome
B&B ayHome
#15 of 283 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Bologna Inn
#13 of 283 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristina Rossi Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristina Rossi Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cristina Rossi Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Porta di Castello 6 | City Centre, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of our bestsellers in Bologna! Bologna's Cristina Rossi Bed&Breakfast offers uniquely decorated rooms set in the owner's split-level apartment. You will be in the heart of the historic centre, just 350 m from Piazza Maggiore. Some rooms offer classic-style furnishings, some are more modern. Some rooms feature a private bathroom with shower and spa bath. Free Wi-Fi is available. A sweet Italian breakfast is served daily in the air-conditioned living room, which features a fireplace, a satellite TV, and sofas. Public transport links to the station and the airport are available just 50 m from the Bed&Breakfast Cristina Rossi. During weekends the nearest stop is 150 m away. This property is also rated for the best value in Bologna! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cristina Rossi Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristina Rossi b&b
Cristina Rossi Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing