We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute, Romantic and Practical”
other travelers have booked this property
Little Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Cottage
plan the entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Little Cottage
plan
the entrance
the living room with the little loft
living room
detail
the living room and the kitchen
view from the little loft
living room
the kitchen
kitchen and the window on the little garden
detail in the kitchen
kitchen
little loft
loft
loft
the master bedroom
the studio in the master bedroom
the door window to the backyard
the backyard
the bathroom
the big shower in the bathroom
the logo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bologna, Province of Bologna, Emilia-Romagna

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ASCaspar
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cute, Romantic and Practical”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We luckily stumbled upon this super gem of a holiday rental. Situated a short walk from the old city walls or 20 meters from the bus stop going to the centre of the city, the location of this awesome property couldn't be better given that parking is also included !!

The cottage itself is well appointed, has the little touches covered that make you settle in she want to stay. We enjoyed the kitchen facilities and making dishes with the abundant produce of the area, including feasting by candlelight with a great local wine.

The value and quality of this property are understated and should not be discounted. I promise that a booking here won't disappoint !!i

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2017
Thank you very much Raphael for your nice review! I'm very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Little Cottage and I hope to see you again in the future! Best regards and wishes!
Clara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruiser80...
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Welcoming, Comfortable, Sweet”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My sister and I arrived by train mid-morning and took a 10 minute taxi ride to the apartment where charming Clara, our host, allowed us to drop our bags off early in the day before check-in time and gave us keys to her sweet rental. The house is just off of the main road, with a private courtyard that opens to the front doors (two sets of doors, one large wooden outer door set and inside glass French floors). The weather was a tad gloomy during our visit do we didn't get to enjoy the patio area. The doors open to the living and dining room area, very cosy. There are lots of guide books and area info to help plan your visit. The kitchen, galley style, is off of the living room, and is very functional and well-equipped, and includes a washing machine. (Drying rack is available.) There is a ladder in the living room up to a small loft area, which we didn't use. Under the ladder is a doorway to a small hallway, off of which to the left is the bedroom, with a large bed, and a bathroom to the right. The nice-sized bathroom is very well-equipped and has great storage compared to many we've seen. There is a second patio area off of the bedroom, but due to the weather, we never ventured out there. Bologna is a wonderful city, so walkable and interesting. Our Main Street was just minutes to the walled city center, with shops and small cafes along the way. We walked everywhere, though we did initially take a red bus tour of the city to get our bearings, and since we had a two-day pass, took the bus/mini train up to San Luca (and then walked back down all the way - just lovely). We also took a 20-minute regional train to Ferrara for a day trip and highly recommend that town. But I love, love, love Bologna, and would go back again to explore more of the surrounding area. And of course, I'd highly recommend Clara's Little Cottage as the place to stay. High marks to our host, who could not be nicer or more energetic. (Clara was in the midst of preparing to open a shop while we visited, and we had a chance to go by and see it while in Bologna, and my sister bought a small treasure from Clara while there.)

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Comfort, location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2017
GRAZIE MILLE! it has been a pleasure to host you and I really hope that you will come back again! best wishes! Clara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daydream6...
1 review
“Haven in Bologna”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I stayed at Little Cottage 8 nights in October and absolutely loved my stay!
Little Cottage is ideally located a few minutes walk from Porta Maggiore, with lots of cafes, groceries and shops close by.
Everything you might need is there and more! hair dryer, ironing board, washing machine, kitchen fully (and I mean fully!) equipped, diner table, writing table in the room, soap, slippers, adapter socket (which I bought at the airport for nothing.. don't bring yours!) and the list goes on.
The place felt really comfortable, quiet and safe! I particularly enjoyed the private front yard and the bike. There is also a yard in the back.
Clara recommended a Sunday farmers market close by which was great! specially for cheese and salamis. She was very helpful and easily reachable.
Don't waste your time looking for another place, Little Cottage is perfect!
As for what to see in center Bologna, the Asinelli tower is not to be missed! the view totally worth the little fright of the climb. The porticos around Piazza Cavour are especially beautiful. University district is quite nice.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Seul(e)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2016
Tank you sooo much Julie for your beautiful words!
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your holiday in Bologna and in Little Cottage and that you liked the farmer market too ;-)
I really wish you all the best and I hope you will come back soon!
un abbraccio!
Clara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: How beautifully decorated and well equiped the accomadation was.We felt so happy and relaxed there
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
THANK you so much for your kind and so beautiful review!
I'm so happy that you enjoyed Bologna and Little Cottage!
I wish you all the best and hope to see you soon!
Grazie!
Clara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cleo C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delight from Start to Finish”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Great location and home away from home to enjoy the wonderful city of Bologna. We arrived later than expected and Clara could not be more helpful to us. With lots of tips and suggestions for our stay including the organic market on Sundays a short stroll from the apartment. Tips for eating in and out of the city.

The apartment is described a relaxing beautiful place to stay with light filled lounge, large relaxing bedroom and great shower. With the benefit of outside space to enjoy we could not have asked for more.

We loved Bologna and we loved the opportunity to stay in such a wonderful home.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Dear Cleo,
thank you so much for your kind review! I'm so happy that you have enjoyed your holiday in Little Cottage and in Bologna! I really wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the future!
best regards,
Clara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacatione...
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“charming hideaway”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Cottage is located on a quiet side street and offers parking, a definite plus. It is an adorable, cheery, safe and spotlessly clean house that is well stocked with the essentials for easy prep of meals, a large bedroom with access to a lovely private patio and great bathroom with overhead shower. The living room has a wonderful sofa to relax after long days of sight-seeing, and the dining table will easily fit a family of 4. What makes this place special is the attention to detail and all the lovely personal touches that give it such a homelike feel. We were very comfortable and happy here for four nights. There are a couple of markets nearby and no shortage of great restaurants to choose from. Clara, the owner, could not have been more charming. She has put so much of herself into this little home and truly wants people to enjoy their stay. The location is just outside the city walls, giving it a more neighborhood feel. We did walk each evening for dinner into the center of town, a good 20-25 minute stroll. Recommend highly!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Dear Patricia,
thank you SOOOO MUCH for your kind words about me and Little Cottage! For me is such a satisfaction to know that my guests feel like at home and that you enjoy your holiday in Bologna!
I really hope to see you again in the future!
Warm wishes,
Clara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dean b
1 review
“excellent in all ways.”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Property was exactly as described. Clara was super and always ready to help. Location was good, facilities clean and comfortable. Bus nearby. Taxi driver had difficulty finding but once there all was fine. Would definitelyrecommend.

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2016
Dear Dean,
thank you so much for your kind review! I'm very happy that you liked Little Cottage and I really hope you will come again in the future! You too you has been a perfect guest. Many warm regards and wishes,
Clara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing