We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May be the best restaurant we have ever been to anywhere”

Trattoria di Via Serra
Ranked #5 of 1,825 Restaurants in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“May be the best restaurant we have ever been to anywhere”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice on a short trip to Bologna and struggle to think of a better restaurant- and we have eaten at locatelli's, the river cafe, and Gordon Ramsay. Yes that's how good this is, though without the pretentious cheffiness. Beautiful produce perfectly cooked with love and care. Tortelloni was a delicate silky pillow filled with perfect ricotta, simply served with sage and butter. Slow cooked pork in milk, crostini with porcini...All was perfection. Tommaso and flavio are perfect hosts, entertaining, thoughtful and kind. We can only think that the few poor reviews on here are from rival restaurateurs! Not to forget the magic organic wine- no hangover! Go here, it is stupendous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephfromlondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,012
    412
    72
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best restaurant EVER”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

When we arrived at this restaurant for lunch we were welcomed like friends. The owners are so gracious and passionate about their food, which is all locally sourced. The food was ridiculously good and the hospitality even better, with everything explained in English.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gillybarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eccellente ristorante”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were staying in the Hotel Guercino next door and inquired from the hotel about this restaurant. they said it was newly opened. The menu outside was a bit difficult for me to translate with my limited Italian so we decided to go in and ask if they had an English menu. They didn't have one but very kindly translated everything on the menu. As I don't eat meat they also explained what didn't have meat and what could be adapted to be meatfree. Once we sat down to order I had forgotten what everything on the menu was and it was patiently explained again.
I ordered a cheese dish for my main which usually comes with meat they offered to replace the meat with vegetables which sounded fine. when it came the vegetables were some kind of mild chillies which I am not keen on. They picked up on this straight away and immediately went away to see what else I could have. A wonderful mushroom dish was served to accompany the cheese. How many places would provide such considerate service.
We ate here twice, both times the food was excellent and the house wine was very good. The restaurant is a little way from the centre of Bologna but worth the journey and if you are staying next door definately worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JannyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

One of the best meals I've eaten out. The service was patient and knowledgeable (and they spoke English). The food was amazing. I had rabbit and tagliatelle bodo. The wine was plentiful. Simply superb. You must go here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elseewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Molto gradevole”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were staying at the nearby hotel Il Guercino and stopped to read the menu outside this small restaurant. The padrone, who was working near the front came out to engage us in pleasant conversation. He explained the menu in some detail,and needless to say we came in for dinner that evening. In fact, we ate there twice during our short stay in Bologna. I would advise anyone who is in the vicinity of the central station around lunch or dinner time to give it a try. As another reviewer said, the service is personal and absolutely superb. The meals are well-prepared using local ingredients. A very good local wine is available in quarter- half- and whole litre carafes, and also by the bottle if you prefer. The ambience was pleasant and unpretentious. Most of the other diners appeared to be locals and some seemed to be regulars. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria di Via Serra also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Trattoria di Via Serra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing