We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveler rating
299
220
59
22
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
220
59
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza maggioregreat locationeclectic collectionlovely quirky hoteleasy walk from the stationtravelled by trainfriendliest hotelroom was cleancheck in was a breezethe main streetthe ground floorhuge roomrecommend this hotelstaff were all very helpfulbreakfast is servedmortadellanice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 614 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017

We stayed here for two nights and received a very warm welcome from the charming receptionist. The hotel houses quirky collections of tins, gramophones and even mopeds in the corridors. We travelled by train and the location is good for station access. The city centre is a 10-15 good walk away. Turn right from hotel, cross a small junction and then go left down a main shopping street until you get sight of large square and then towers off to the left. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank silversurfer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe G, Proprietario at Il Canale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Dear guest,
thanks for your review! We try to make the guest feel like home so we are happy when we know that they stayed well with us.
Hope you come back soon to see the rooms renovated.
We wait for you! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

This was a friendly family run hotel down a side street just of the main shopping street. Very convenient for walking everywhere. The breakfasts were varied and good and the surprising and rather eclectic collection of items on each floor of the hotel was charming. The bedrooms were rather old fashioned but very comfortable and clean with a on suite shower/toilet. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe G, Proprietario at Il Canale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Dear Susan,

thanks for your review!

We try to make the guests fell like home so we are happy when we know that they stayed well with us.

Hope you come back soon to see the rooms renovated.

We wait for you!

Kin regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017

When you arrive you are not sure what to think as the Hotel is down a side street but once you have started to explore you realise that what you think is a side street is usual for Bologna. Amazing staff Julia and Guiseppe so helpful so friendly so amazing. Julia was brilliant and is a credit to the hotel. The hotel has a quirky feel with memorabilia on each floor which was interesting. The rooms were spacious as was the bathroom. Amazing large soft towels. Kettle and tea in the rooms (no milk) and they would make you a coffee if you just asked. Breakfast was continental but lots of choice and we filled up nicely. Location is BRILLIANT as well. A walk to the train station was easy and walking around Bologna was also very close too. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teena999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe G, Proprietario at Il Canale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Thanks so much for spending time for us making this wonderful review!

We loved that you stayed well with us and hope to see you again as soon as possible!

Your words are the best gift for our work. Thanks!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017

We stayed here for one night and the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Good sized bathroom and bedroom. Quiet hotel even though it is near the Independenza and centre of Bologna. Charming decor and very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsCWeybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe G, Proprietario at Il Canale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Thanks for your wonderful words!

We loved that you appreciated our hotel and staff and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017

This hotel is very conveniently situated, half way between the railway station and the main square, just off the main street. We stayed here for the night before returning to the airport, but would have been happy to stay there for a few more days. It is a small very friendly hotel. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The bed was very comfortable and we had an excellent night's sleep. There was a good selection at the buffet breakfast, the croissants were absolutely delicious. Breakfast is served in three interconnecting rooms, the third one has only one table and enjoys a view of the canal. We sat there and it was just like being in Venice. I would certainly return, especially as it was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe G, Proprietario at Il Canale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Thanks a lot for your review!

We loved that you appreciated our staff and our hotel, especially the little table in the breakfast room with the view of the canal! We love that space and we are happy that you had the same sensation!

To know that you stayed well with us is the best satisfaction for our work. Thanks!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews