We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Hotel Novecento
Ranked #40 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Can't fault this hotel.. Exactly what is says on the side of the box... Rooms lovely, breakfast good, loved staying there. Great location, just can't fault it. Perhaps ask for a back room that does not face the street (but only a problem if you sleep with your window open)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    133
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
179
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hote Novecento is set back on a quiet piazza very near to the Piazza Maggiore. We were pleased with the room , large and located on a high floor as we had requested in our reservation. The bathroom was also large with a walk in shower.
The staff was professional and helpful with information about the city and also made several dinner reservations for us. We were able to walk to all the restaurants including Da Cesari which is located on the street a block behind the hotel.
We were there during a heat wave and the a/c worked very well. We were so glad that we could easily return to the hotel to cool off and revive ourselvesduring the day.
The included breakfast was very good and service excellent, offering espresso and cappuchinos. WiFi was free. There is a pay parking garage next to the hotel.
When we return to Bologna, we will make another reservation at the Hotel Novecento.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisades
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

It's a convenient, well-managed hotel, as all the Art Hotels seem to be in this city. There is great emphasis on good design, and it shows. The breakfast is good, and if you can splurge on the Galileo Suite, you will have perhaps the best and largest bathroom in the city if not all of Italy. The air conditioning works very well; we were comfortably cool even though it was 100 F (40C) outside for days. Compared with the pretentious 5 star hotel in town, this was enormous value. We'd advise anyone to choose it or one of the other Art Hotels.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet place, this Hôtel is for you! Perfectly located, right in the center, 100 yards from the Neptune fountain. From there you can easily visit the city, close to any restaurant. Rooms are medium size but well decorated. Very clean, efficient service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Boiserait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Well there was a nearby earthquake that shook everything and everyone when we were staying here but nothing could shake our real enjoyment of Bologna and the Novecento is perfectly located ,in a quiet square just off Piazza Maggiore, the heart and soul of the old city. Rooms overlooking the square are probably the best, the price is fair and the breakfast good and reception team were excellent. This is a small hotel but big on comfort and style where the staff try really hard. Housekeeping was excellent,, great new linens every day. Bologna is a great little city, lots of style ,art....old and modern........and really friendly people. ...a far cry from the harried folks in tourist swamped Rome.This hotel reflects the citys personality perfectly great. Make sure if you like modern art to visit Mambo and its excellent restaurant Forno ,also NU Lounge where theres great people watching. Eataly is another must do with many floors of books ,food etc

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicogogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We had a great modern designed room (with walk in shower) and a lovely deck... the hotel is close to everything in Bologna. The breakfast buffet was quite good. Staff were very helpful. On our last visit to Bologna we had stayed at another Art Hotel - that one was booked. We tried this one and although our taste is usually more traditional we loved the modern decor and conveniences. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenandoah32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel is better than we excepted. The room is of good size and with the beautiful headboard and mirrors it makes the room look larger. The deco is very modern and stylish and even the kettle is red and ultra-trenda. We love it!

The bathroom is beautiful with marble and quite big. Location is excellent - very convenient to shops, restaurants and the main beautiful piazza. It is not easy to find such a quiet area in the centre.

There are free big beautiful umbrellas for you to take out, free bike rental or tour on certain days. Breakfast is great with lots of choices.

There is a nice pizzeria less than 2 - 3 minutes away. It looks authentic and food is very good and the price is reasonable. Can't remember the name but was recommended by the receptionist.

I will definitely go back to this hotel when we are in Bologna.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelineBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Art Hotel Commercianti
#9 of 103 in Bologna
488 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 103 in Bologna
778 reviews
Art Hotel Orologio
#8 of 103 in Bologna
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
840 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 103 in Bologna
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Novecento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Novecento

Property: Art Hotel Novecento
Address: Piazza Galileo 4/3, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bologna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#33 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Novecento 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whoever said that new hotels are all alike has never seen a design hotel--moreover, they have never stayed at the Hotel Novecento, the ideal haven for those who won't settle for an ordinary hotels but are looking for something special. With its unmistakable Viennese Secession style, this exclusive hotel of only twenty-five rooms integrates seamlessly into the medieval context of Bologna's historical centre, and its location on Piazza Galileo offers incredible views of Bologna's scenery. A dive into Europe of the 1930s, its rooms and suites are characterised by a design that blends the sobriety of form with the richness of substance, with a result that is rich with personality. And also.. At the Bologna Art Hotels you will have the opportunity to enjoy the city in a unique way. In an ancient building (XVI-XVII Century) in Piazza Galilei, a few meters from the Art Hotel Novecento **** - which you can refer to for all your needs - two superb De Luxe Apartments welcome you in the city center, offering the highest level of comfort and a refined and original design, in which technology and art are combined to reach perfection. The Suite de luxe are the flagship of Bologna Art Hotels where the owners, who have shown a remarkable interest in art, offer exhibitions of paintings and statues from the most exclusive galleries. Moreover, in the Suite deluxe "The Court", during the renovation works, wood ceilings and frescoes of the sixteenth century have been brought to light, and thanks to a careful restoration and enhancement, they add a special charm and an impressive touch of the past . Arts, recreation, technology and contemporary design combine to make your stay unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Art Hotel Novecento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing