We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, modern clean hotel”
Review of UNA Hotel Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UNA Hotel Bologna
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Fishers, IN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location, modern clean hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Una Hotel in Bologna, using it as a stopover between Tuscany and Venice.

We chose this location because it was right across from the train station, and our rental car return return location (Hertz) was less than a block away. I'm so glad we found this hotel!

The hotel is about a 10-minute walk from the center of Bologna, which is a very pleasant stroll through the beautiful porticoes.

They did charge for Wi-Fi, which seems odd in this day and age.

We had a fantastic room (Room 607) which was of the Superior room category. After sleeping 4 nights in a old Tuscan villa with 2 pushed-together twin beds to make a King bed, sleeping on a new, proper mattress was heavenly! The room had blissfully cold A/C, lots of electronic gadgets to play with, and a nice little desk area with pocket doors. The soaking tub was one of the deepest I've ever seen.

The breakfast was okay, with typical continental breakfast fare (pastries, scrambled eggs, cheese and meat, etc.)

However, the hotel itself was ultra-modern, with very cool design throughout. What a great choice for a stay in Bologna.

We did have a rental car and the parking garage was accessed through an insanely tight squeeze where you drive between two really narrow columns, through the portico, and down into the garage. Navigating inside the garage is truly a heroic feat. We're lucky we made it out without any damage to our car!

The highlight for us was stumbling upon an amazing restaurant just around the corner from the hotel, which was so good we returned twice. If you're staying at Una, do yourself a treat and walk around the corner to Il Piccolo Gambero.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Una Hotel B, Responsabile reception at UNA Hotel Bologna, responded to this review, May 21, 2015
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for this review.
Your comments have given us the opportunity to continue to improve our services in order to make sure that your expectations will be fully satisfied next time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    483
    119
    26
    28
See reviews for
112
353
51
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Loved this hotel, very close to train station. Staff is helpful. Breakfast is included and huge. It's a buffet style breakfast which includes scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, lot's of breads and rolls, fruits, yoghurt, cereals, cold cuts, etc. etc. Rooms are very modern with great views. Wifi is not included but you can ask for 30 minutes or 60 minutes to keep costs down. Rates were very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutch_0range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The positives: awesome location, oposite the train station; great breakfast; comfortable room
The negatives: the only hotel we came across that still charges for wi-fi; understaffed which meant waiting long periods of time for staff to bring wifi codes up to the room.
If it weren't for the wi-fi charges, we'd return to una, however, as business people, free wi-fi is a necessity and therefore means that we would not return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetsetterSA_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Brilliantly located close to the railway station, modern, minimalist and stylish hotel. Rooms equipped with every mod con, minibar, generous bathroom, lots of storage and surfaces, curtains that kept the light out, even two chairs. Room quiet despite being on busy street.
Good choice at breakfast, and outdoor sitting/dining area very nice to have. Staff friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault it, especially at the price, except to say that somehow we missed the fact that the restaurant was not open for dinner on Sat/Sun evenings.

Room Tip: Given the layout, I think all the rooms would all overlook quiet courtyards at the back. Higher is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMCA456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hotel is situated right across the road from Bologna station, and airport bus stop. Convieniently located within 5 mins of the market and places to eat. The Decor is excellent and inviting. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. The only downfull was not knowing what all the switches and buttons were for in the room. (stlll dont know how to turn off the bathroom light). Breakfast was great and filling with a good choice of full breakfast and/or continential breakfast. I do not think I would go there with young children if i felt the abiltiy to enjoy the luxury of the hotel would be compromised. Room is clean and well equiped. Mini bar is pricey. Cotton hand towels too nice to touch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeniffer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Una Hotel is conveniently located across the street form the train station. The Una is a modern hotel with clean contemporary rooms. The front desk was very helpful in meeting all of my needs. The walk to the middle of town takes around 15 minutes. The hotel offers a large choice of pillows and most things that you don’t find in the room you can ask for and they will get. I used this as a base to see San Marino and to tour the exotic Italian car factories. The only potential issue is that the hallways are not carpeted so you can hear everyone going in and out of their rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelxpertNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

If you're traveling by high speed train north to south Italy or vice versa, there is a nice little city 1 hour (high speed train) from Milan that is worth visiting. During your visit in Bologna, the UNA Hotel is perfectly situation across from the train station. Although the hotel is next to the station, I had no trouble with noise either from street traffic or the trains. My room was facing the back of the hotel which was very quiet. I had a queen size bed (2 single beds combined) and the bathroom was large by Italian standards. Also equally impressive was the bedroom, which was roomy and well lit during the day because of large windows. I wasn't too fond of the walls being painted in red, but it is definitely retro compared to most other hotels I stayed in Italy.

Hotel service was exceptional as well. Staff was friendly during check-in and throughout my entire stay. Breakfast was standard -- not too exciting. Hot eggs and bacon with other usual cold meats and cereal.

Walking to the city center was an easy stroll approximately 20 minutes. There are a few restaurants next to the hotel, including McDonalds next to the train station. But I highly recommend dining in the city center -- Bologna is known for the food capital of Italy.

Either for business or pleasure, the Una Hotel Bologna provides great accommodation and exceptional service quality.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the back of the hotel for quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TP2WXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.0 mi away
Starhotels Excelsior
Starhotels Excelsior
#25 of 103 in Bologna
1,628 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#37 of 103 in Bologna
1,544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Bologna Centro
Mercure Bologna Centro
#51 of 103 in Bologna
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Carlton
Royal Hotel Carlton
#18 of 103 in Bologna
759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Internazionale
Hotel Internazionale
#27 of 103 in Bologna
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#52 of 103 in Bologna
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Bologna

Property: UNA Hotel Bologna
Address: Viale Pietro Pietramellara 41/43, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#24 Business Hotel in Bologna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#26 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the central station, near the historic center and the trade-fair center, the new UNA Hotel Bologna, thanks to its strategic location is the ideal place both for business and leisure. Its 93 rooms, 6 suites and 3 meeting rooms offer design and comfortable facilities equipped with the latest technology. Fine restaurant services and relaxation in the bar with terrace. Indoor garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your UNA Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bologna Una Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing