We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel for business or pleasure”
Review of UNA Hotel Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UNA Hotel Bologna
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Exceptional hotel for business or pleasure”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

If you're traveling by high speed train north to south Italy or vice versa, there is a nice little city 1 hour (high speed train) from Milan that is worth visiting. During your visit in Bologna, the UNA Hotel is perfectly situation across from the train station. Although the hotel is next to the station, I had no trouble with noise either from street traffic or the trains. My room was facing the back of the hotel which was very quiet. I had a queen size bed (2 single beds combined) and the bathroom was large by Italian standards. Also equally impressive was the bedroom, which was roomy and well lit during the day because of large windows. I wasn't too fond of the walls being painted in red, but it is definitely retro compared to most other hotels I stayed in Italy.

Hotel service was exceptional as well. Staff was friendly during check-in and throughout my entire stay. Breakfast was standard -- not too exciting. Hot eggs and bacon with other usual cold meats and cereal.

Walking to the city center was an easy stroll approximately 20 minutes. There are a few restaurants next to the hotel, including McDonalds next to the train station. But I highly recommend dining in the city center -- Bologna is known for the food capital of Italy.

Either for business or pleasure, the Una Hotel Bologna provides great accommodation and exceptional service quality.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the back of the hotel for quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TP2WXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    483
    119
    26
    28
See reviews for
112
352
51
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Perfect location in central Bologna but it was the service that really impressed. After being diverted late in the evening because of the weather, one call to the hotel was all it took for them to arrange alternative accommodation for us at a sister hotel in Milan for the night - Andrea deserves a special mention. Great value for money, huge room and good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ld a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Modern conveniently located hotel with good breakfast. We thought this was good value for the £60 we paid. Would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Only saw our room so impossible to know if there were better or worse ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smithyzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Great location, nice staff, intended as a trendy business hotel, but despite relatively large (for Italy), well- furnished rooms, this hotel annoys by attempts at cutting edge design that forgets that peole actually have to use the rooms. Two examples. First the room numbers are not on the doors in the corridor, but on plates set in the floor. The doors are covered in what appear to be graffit--inspired versions of Chinese characters - eccentric, artistic, and utterly useless if you are a traveller trying to find your room in a dark corridor having arrived in the evening. Second the room is controlled by a finger touch-pad by your bed. Problem - how the hell are you supposed to find, let alone use this pad when you are in bed and have turned the lights off? There is a weird story about wi-fi - do you get an hour a day, or an hour a visit free, and do you have to have a new log-in every day - i got both answers and i speak italian, so this was not a question of miscommunication. And, as others have commented, the air-con is difficult to control (no idea if there was a control - if so, beyond me to find it). As I say these details are a shame because the big things are fine - just needs a little more user-friendly thinking. Hopefully the reviews highlighting this will lead them to rethink these detaiils and build on what they have got right.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This hotel is very convenient being just across from Bologna train station where the airport bus stops.It is also only a short walk into the centre of Bologna and the main Piazza.
I found this hotel perfectly adequate. The rooms and hotel are clean and stylish and the hotel staff friendly. The rooms are a good size and the bathroom was nice and modern. I really liked the style of the hotel and the room and I had a pleasant enough 4 nights stay here. I would recommend the hotel as it's affordable and convenient.

The things I found slightly disappointing were
1) The charge for Wifi is far too expensive (I think is was 3 Euro for 30 minutes).
2) The hotel seemed quite cold. On the first night I had to get out of bed and get the extra blanket out of the cupboard as the bed covers seemed far too minimal and thin. On the second night I actually wore a vest under my pyjamas! (I did try turning the room temperature up as much as it would go )
3) Having been cold in my room the night before I was disappointed to discover that the breakfast room is also really cold. Take a jumper! Is freezing air conditioning really necessary on a damp, cold October morning?
4) We had to ask for extra pillows as the ones provided were basic, thin and next to useless. There was only one extra in the room which didn't really help much.

Despite my moans, this is a good hotel and the service is really good so I would be happy to recommend. Just take some warm night clothes and a decent jumper with you if you feel the cold easily like me!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Perfect location for one night next to train station. Modern comfortable with the best air con we had in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank universal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hotel is right opposite the train station which was good for us. A little walk to the centre of Bologna but no more than 20 mins i reckon. Room was very large and spacious so no complaints there. Staff very friendly and helpful especially with recommending restaurants. Only downside is the hotel lacked atmosphere, I think this is more suited to business travel than leisure. Would still recommend though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJHIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.0 mi away
Starhotels Excelsior
Starhotels Excelsior
#25 of 103 in Bologna
1,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#38 of 103 in Bologna
1,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Bologna Centro
Mercure Bologna Centro
#51 of 103 in Bologna
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Carlton
Royal Hotel Carlton
#18 of 103 in Bologna
758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Internazionale
Hotel Internazionale
#27 of 103 in Bologna
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#52 of 103 in Bologna
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Bologna

Property: UNA Hotel Bologna
Address: Viale Pietro Pietramellara 41/43, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#24 Business Hotel in Bologna
#26 Family Hotel in Bologna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the central station, near the historic center and the trade-fair center, the new UNA Hotel Bologna, thanks to its strategic location is the ideal place both for business and leisure. Its 93 rooms, 6 suites and 3 meeting rooms offer design and comfortable facilities equipped with the latest technology. Fine restaurant services and relaxation in the bar with terrace. Indoor garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your UNA Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bologna Una Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing