We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, nice, clean and have good breakfast”
Review of Aemilia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aemilia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It locates off the main track, but bus station is just some hundred yards away. That means it's quiet for a good night rest. The breakfast bar is superb with variety of cold cuts, cheese to healthier choices of fresh fruits, cereals, and yogurts. It worked for us since we didn't mind walking into town, under the portico, of course :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 2,569 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We planned to stay one night in Bologna on our way back to the Munich airport. Several websites listed this hotel as 4 star but the price, including tax, was a mere 79 euro which worried me. A 4 star hotel for $100 dollars???

As our vacation drew to a close and it was time to start back north I began to worry that I had maybe booked us into a dump.

Nothing could have been further from the truth. The hotel is new, it is spotless and the rooms are large (by European standards). The hotel even has a roof garden that allows a panorama of the medieval part of Bologna.

That should have been enough to warrant praise for the Aemilia but we were blown away by the enormous included breakfast buffet...the largest I have ever encountered in all our travels to Europe.

The hotel is a mere 15 minute walk to the two towers in the historic section. From there the old part of Bologna spills out in all directions under arcaded walkways.

Their on-line listing says that parking was 10 euro and the internet free. What they didn't mention was if you departed on Sunday and parked in the blue zone right outside the front of the hotel, parking is free.

This is the first time we actually felt guilty that we had seriously underpayed for the services we had received. This hotel is a gem and an unbelievable bargain!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tvguy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aemiliahotel, Responsabile reception at Aemilia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest
I was really pleased to read your Amazing review. I was delighted that you enjoyed all of the services and facilities the Aemilia has to offer.
I really hope to welcome back you soon!
Best regards

Andrea Aslo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

After booking at their sister hotel in Bologna, which was closed over Christmas, we were transferred to stay at Aemilia Hotel. We were lucky enough to get an extremely good deal though one of the accomodation websites - a deal that was completely worth it! Our room was spacious, and the bed was both large and extremely comfortable. The rooms were cleaned to very high standard every day. We were most impressed with the complimentary breakfast, which by far had the largest selection of any of our stays in Italy. While I get the feeling that the hotel is often priced a lot higher than what we paid (considering it is low season), we were beyond impressed with our time there. If I was looking for a negative then I would comment that it's not much to look out from the outside - but this did not matter to us at all! Enjoyed our time in Bologna too!

Room Tip: Have a look on the deals website - we paid a lot less than the 'normal' value of the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simondickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aemiliahotel, Responsabile reception at Aemilia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest
We thank you for the time spent for the great review.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed so much your stay at the Aemilia.
We are looking forward to welcoming back you soon.

Andrea Aslo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was in Savhotel 2 times (Aemilia and Savhotel have one head), so i expected that Aemilia is like a Savhotel. but i was disappoint in it a little. Room was clean, but small and not so comfortable. Personal was strange. Breakfast was ok.
It has good location. But next time i will choose something other.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julietta2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aemiliahotel, Responsabile reception at Aemilia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest
thank you for you feedback
actually I'm just little bit confuse about what you didn't like at the Aemilia, we never received any complain about the dimension of our rooms which is more or less the same of our sister Hotel the Savhotel.
What does it mean Personal was strange? our Staff is always mentioned by all our customers for is professionalism and friendliness .

Kind regards

Andrea Aslo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Biggest issue is there is no bellman to help with luggage- just a luggage cart. The internet was not fast enough for working.
The roof deck is nice. It's a 15 minute walk to town, not 5. You get to the old city gate in about 5, but need to walk a bit further for to get to the sites/restaurants/etc.
Check-in and check-out were easy. Rooms were fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VR1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aemiliahotel, Responsabile reception at Aemilia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest
thank you very much for taking time to submit your feedback on Tripadvisor and thank you for having chosen both Savhotel and Aemilia during your last visit in Bologna. We're really apologize if you are not completley satisfied of your stay, about the things you mentioned that haven't convinced you, we would like to give some explanations that can be useful for all the community of Tripadvisor:
1- our portarage service even if is not mandatory for a 4 stars hotel is available at fixed times during the morning and the afternoon
2-the distance between us and the heart of the town (piazza Maggiore) is about 15 min. by walk, but at just 5 min by walk, it start the historic center of Bologna, and our guests may have the opportunity to have a very nice walk along Via San Vitale which covered of the famous porticos and rich of shops, restaurants and bar
We really sorry that you expressed a negative feedback and you didn't get the quality of our services and the genuine customer care that we're famous for.
We're hoping to welcome back you again in order that we can show you all the several services that the Aemilia Hotel can offer.

Best regards

Andrea Aslo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly helpful staff, great breakfast, what's not to like. It's a ten minute walk into the centre, but it's a great walk. The walk starts ok, and gets better and better until you hit the magnificent 2 towers. As for Bologna itself, it is beautiful and charming. All the people we met were very friendly and the food everywhere we tried was just spectacular.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aemiliahotel, Responsabile reception at Aemilia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Laurence
we're so glad to read your Amazing review about your experince at the Aemilia, we're so happy that you discovered our beautiful city.
hoping to welcome back you soon, we send our best regards

Andrea Aslo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Hotel Aemilia is quite obviously a business-oriented hotel but do not let this put you off if you are a leisure traveller looking to visit the unexpectedly lovely city of Bologna. The hotel is conveniently located about a 10-15 minute walk from the gates of the historical centre and also offers an onsite undercover car park (a fee is involved but the hotel has a deal with the owners of the car park and the rate was competitive as well as being extremely convenient). Keep a keen eye out for the sign because it is small and not easily visible when driving.

Our room was spacious with a king sized bed and floor space to move around without bumping into furniture and we had a good view out towards the historic centre of Bologna with the added bonus of opening windows. The décor is as you would expect for a business hotel, clean lines, simple colours and modern. The king sized bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. Both the room and bathroom were clean and the bathroom was a good size with amenities, bathrobes and slippers on offer. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and varied although the service could have been better by the wait staff who studiously ignored all attempts to catch their eye. The reception staff however were very courteous and efficient and all spoke excellent English. At check-out we were served by a very nice young man who was on work experience (whose name I unfortunately cannot remember). He went above and beyond to retrieve some freezer blocks that had been placed in the kitchen for us and we commend him for his initiative in escorting us personally to the restaurant in order to chase it up as the kitchen staff were not responding to his telephone calls. A pity a more senior receptionist thought it necessary to remonstrate him for going that extra step when we returned, perhaps a leaf could be taken out of the work experience staff's book of how to offer great customer service.

All-in-all a very good stay and we would definitely stay at Aemilia Hotel again during future visits to Bologna.

Although Bologna is a large city and geared very much towards the business market with its frequently held fairs, don't discount travelling here as a simple tourist. Bologna has much to offer in beauty with its distinctive colonnaded walkways, churches and buildings. The Piazza Maggiore is impressive and dominated by the Basilica San Petronino and the Town Hall. Make sure you step inside the Basilica - it is truly spectacular in size and has a surprisingly light and airy interior. Some of the chapels along the walls are covered in exquisite frescoes and the only drawback is the inability to take photos of this marvellous church. At present, the Basilica is undergoing extensive works and the exterior is covered in a shroud with lots of scaffolding inside as well. Next to the Town Hall is the Public Library which has original Roman foundations and streets visible under the floor (some of the Perspex tiles are difficult to see through but some allow you to see these treasures). Aside from the Roman ruins, the Library is worth viewing simply for its magnificent ceiling.

When facing the Basilica San Petronino from the Piazza Maggiore, make sure you take a trip into the streets leading off to the left of the piazza. You will find there food markets on the streets and shops dedicated to gastronomic delights that will make your mouth water!

Two other must-sees / must-dos in Bologna are the Due Tori (Two Towers) - the shorter one of which has a distinct lean (cables are supporting its girth to prevent it from toppling over) and the taller of which is surprisingly tall - and the Seven Churches which sit in a beautiful piazza surrounded by gorgeous medieval buildings and the loveliest of all the colonnaded walkways. Be sure to enter inside the main church as some of the seven are inside and not visible from the piazza. This is a very unique situation and ranks as one of our highlights in Bologna.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for a king sized bed and asking for a room with a view of Bologna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SJDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aemiliahotel, Responsabile reception at Aemilia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Guest
thank you very much for taking time to submit your kind and detailed feedback.
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and like our services together with our customer care that we are very proud of.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Aemilia Hotel.

Andrea Aslo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,285 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,583 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
I Portici Hotel
#25 of 102 in Bologna
1,495 reviews
Hotel Touring
#6 of 102 in Bologna
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aemilia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aemilia Hotel

Address: Via Giovanna Zaccherini Alvisi 16, 40138 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bologna
#3 Business Hotel in Bologna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $101 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aemilia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aemilia Hotel fascinates its guests thanks to its marvellous views of the Towers of Bologna and the hills outside the city. It is situated in a silent area 200 metres away from Saint Orsola General Hospital and a few minutes walk to the historical center of Bologna. It offers many services and facilities for your holiday: free of charge fiber-optic WiFi in the rooms and the common areas, roof garden with solarium and Jacuzzi, fitness room, 32 inches satellite LCD TV, minibar and safe deposit box. It is possible to take advantage of a free of charge shuttle bus to Saint Orsola General Hospital. A guarded parking lot is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aemilia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Bologna
Golden Tulip Bologna
Bologna Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing