We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Aemilia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aemilia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for an anniversary weekend away. The hotel was booked through avios and it was one of the more expensive available, however we plumped for this one as it had the added extra of the rooftop jacuzzi. We used this on a few occasions as the weather was superb and enjoyed a bottle of bubbly up there too! The snacks that came with evening drinks at the bar are recommended as well. Although about a 20 min walk into the city centre, it was a very pleasant one. The porticos along the road are fabulous and make for great photos. We can recommend evening aperitifs around some of the city's squares and in particular in the student district. One bar which had some great food and drinks was called Le Stanze and was extremely atmospheric being housed in an old chapel. The best restaurant we went to was pizzeria belle arti. The pizzas were great and wine cheap. Bologna was one of our favourite weekend breaks and the food and drink was second to none. The Aemilia was a great base to explore the city from.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BenRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aemiliahotel, Responsabile reception at Aemilia Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest
I thank you for your positive feedback.
I was glad you enjoyed your stay and anniversary at the Aemilia Hotel and that is considered by you a great base for explore our beautiful city.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Aemilia Hotel.
Best regards

Andrea Aslo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,434
    776
    114
    13
    0
See reviews for
337
1,104
99
427
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed in a number of hotels during a holiday in North Italy & this was the best by far. Efficient staff, clean, modern, quiet, comfortable bed & good shower. Buffet breakfast was excellent as was the breakfast room. 7-9 euros for a taxi to/from railway station. There is a bus (14) 5 mins walk from hotel that will take you to the center of Bologna in 10 mins. 1.20 euro fare. Get tickets from the local newsagent & remember to validate them on the bus in the machine. On the return journey you can take a 14a or 14C. Did not have dinner in the hotel. Ate at a local Greek restaurant. 2 mins walk from the front door (turn left). Good food, atmosphere & value. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iainbarclaybod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aemiliahotel, Responsabile reception at Aemilia Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you very much for your great review.
we are very proud to read that we're considered by you the best hotel during your holiday in Italy,
and that you had a wonderful time with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Aemilia Hotel

Andrea Aslo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Aemilia hotel in Bologna well deserves its ranking in Tripadvisor; I can't help but confirming the general very good feeling, the cleanliness and the extreme kindness of hotel personnel reported by previous reviewers.

I spent there two days with my young daughter and my wife, who attended there a conference.

Arriving there, we parked in the hotel garage (10€ a day, due to closeness to hospital). Room was on 4th floor, view to the back yard. Very silent and clean, equipped (upon our request) with a bed for our baby.

We dined at hotel restaurant "Gurmè", a bit expansive but with ecellent food.

Conference had been very well organized (95 attendees) and all servives were duly sized.

Distance from city center, Piazza Maggiore, is 10 min. walk pushing a heavy stroller, therefore pretty "affordable" for evwryone.

Good good good!

Thanks for the excellent stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoDaneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aemiliahotel, Responsabile reception at Aemilia Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mr Marco
many thanks for the time you decided to dedicate to us writing this amazing review.
We're extremly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Me and all the Aemilia hotel Staff are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards

Andrea Aslo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hotel Aemilia in Bologna is ideal. Just a short walk to Centro, with none of the congestion, with on site parking. The hotel itself is very nice--large, comfortable rooms and ample amenities. Most notable is the staff. Everyone was very friendly and most helpful, willing to spend time with each guest as needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViaggioNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aemiliahotel, Responsabile reception at Aemilia Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest
I was very happy to read your wonderful review
We're very proud about your kind words, a strong message to enforce our will to do always better and offer the guests a truly unique experience.
We're hoping to welcoming you back soon
Best regards

Andrea Aslo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Modern hotel with great service and very helpful. Slightly outside the main area but 10 minutes walk and you're there, worth it for the roof garden and very quiet at night
They also recommended some great restaurants

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aemiliahotel, Responsabile reception at Aemilia Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sarah
thank you very much for taking time to submit your kind and positive review on Tripadvisor website.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed many aspects of our facilities and services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Andrea Aslo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend and I didn't regret it. Let's start with the only downside, for me at least. The hotel is outside of the 'circolare', the city ring road. But a 20 min walk or a 5 min walk to a nearby bus stop does the trick. (public transport is btw top notch here).

The hotel itself gives a good level of comfort, has very helpful staff (including a very responsive service when it looked like the hotel was fully booked already). The rooms are relatively big and very clean. The bed one of the better ones I slept in in a hotel. The bathroom comes with a nice walk-in shower. I has no noise whatsoever in my room even with open windows. Take a room facing the city though on a 4+ floor. You won't regret it.

The breakfast is served on the first floor and gives a good variety of food. Although busy while I was there, I always could find a table and the service (for the coffee) was quick.

Recommended if you don't want a hotel downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geebee014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aemiliahotel, Responsabile reception at Aemilia Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Sir
thank you very much for taking time to submit your kind and positive review.
We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and like our rooms, bathrooms, breakfast and staff, that we're very proud of.
We're looking forward to welcoming you back at the Aemilia Hotel.

Andrea Aslo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Location: in a residential area slightly outside the city walls: it's a five to ten minute walk to the city walls and another ten minutes into the city centre. Great if it's good weather and you like to walk off your lunches/dinners, but less so otherwise.

Rooms: decent, minimalist, but nothing specifically to write home about. Those facing west do get a view of the city towers in the mid-distance.

Breakfasts are good - the usual Continental selection.

All in all, a safe bet, but lacking in character compared to various other Bologna options.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#11 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aemilia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aemilia Hotel

Property: Aemilia Hotel
Address: Via Giovanna Zaccherini Alvisi 16, 40138 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bologna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Business Hotel in Bologna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aemilia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aemilia Hotel fascinates its guests thanks to its marvellous views of the Towers of Bologna and the hills outside the city. It is situated in a silent area 200 metres away from Saint Orsola General Hospital and a few minutes walk to the historical center of Bologna. It offers many services and facilities for your holiday: free of charge fiber-optic WiFi in the rooms and the common areas, roof garden with solarium and Jacuzzi, fitness room, 32 inches satellite LCD TV, minibar and safe deposit box. It is possible to take advantage of a free of charge shuttle bus to Saint Orsola General Hospital. A guarded parking lot is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aemilia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Bologna
Golden Tulip Bologna
Bologna Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing