We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top central location & nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed already the second time in this Hotel within 3 years during our moto tour through Italy. We like the Hotel and Location very much, due to the close Location to the Bologna city centre. Remakable is also the spectaculare look over the city from the roof top. Also the prima colazione can be enjoyed on a nice terrace. The moto are safe in the parking area in the inner courtyard of the building.

Due to the zona traffico limitato and senso unico regulations in Bologna, it is not that easy to find the way to the Hotel. So be patient and enjoy a ride to the narrow alleyways of Bologna.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJurgenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 788 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

This compact very well located hotel is fantastic!!
Not very easy to get to by car , but once there..great.
Staff is friendly.
The building itself lovely.
Rooms are large.
Balcony for breakfast and roof for 'vista'.
You can get wherever you want in the city center in five to ten minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My grandchildren and I stayed for three nights in this fine hotel in the area of the world's oldest university. A 900-year-old tower is only a block away. The hotel's lobby is staffed by cheerful, charming and well-informed concierges who offer good advice and recommendations. The rooms are well laid out and the bathrooms are quite modern, although the shower stalls are a bit claustrophobic and with slippery floors. The rooftop bar and breakfast room allows one to soak in the historic architecture and the dining room staff is both cheerful and anxious to serve. Breakfast offerings cover a wide range of foods. This definitely is a place I would recommend to friends.
Global New York City

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed for two nights at the San Donato and the location makes all the difference for exploring the city. It's located just by the twin towers meaning all the city lies within easy walking distance. Equally as good, the staff were utterly charming and nothing was too much trouble for them. Need boarding passes printed? Of course, sir. Baggage held for the day? Not a problem! We would happily return for another visit to Bologna. If you're staying, don't forget to visit the roof terrace for panoramic views across the city rooftops in glorious tranquility...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jungle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

walking distance from literally every major atraction, store, train station, garden. A wonderful balcony overlooking the Asinelli and Garisenda Towers, where one can enjoy a nice breakfast or an afternoon drink. rooms are confortable, clean and quiet for a good nights sleep. staff is awfully nice and helpfull. will stay again.

Room Tip: ask for room turned to the back if you want some silence., front has a bar and may work until late
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaPaulaLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I went again in the San Donato and this time my secretary booked a single room. I was a bit afraid as my general experience in Italy was not so brilliant with sometimes 3*3 m2 rooms even in a 4* hotel.
In the reservation package it was mentioned as a room "of modest dimensions, but complete with all the confort". I have to agree: it is a small one but not at all a tiny one and worth to be tested. For the price (84 €/night including breakfast in the city centre) it has a very good quality/price ratio.
As already mentioned in my previous report this year: efficient laundry service (same day and this time quite cheap). Attentive service. Wifi complementary, but somewhat slow. Check-in and -out without any difficulty. Location excellent in the city centre.
Conclusion: if all single rooms could be so attractive ...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the San Donato and it was great!
We had a lovely room on the 2nd floor, overlooking a small piazza at the front, and the hotel' s got a fantastic location - just a few minutes walk from the Duomo, sights, shops, cafés and ristorantes.
Although we overlooked the piazza, and it was busy at night, we still found it very quiet to sleep!
King sized, very comfortable, bed and great bathroom!
The buffet breakfast was excellent - one of the best we've had in Italy! - and you could have it on a lovely little terrace overlooking the Bologna towers. Great for a nightcap as well!
They also have a 4th floor viewing deck which had some great views of the city, and you could take a drink up there as there were several tables to sit at.
Parking was in a secure area behind the hotel, but it isn't an easy place to find - thanks to a maze of one way streets!
All the staff we encountered were super, and almost everyone had a very good command of English - probably because so many Americans served to stay there!
Wonderful hotel, in a great location, and would most certainly use it again the next time we're in Bologna!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,565 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,464 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Commercianti
#12 of 102 in Bologna
545 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#8 of 102 in Bologna
835 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel San Donato

Address: Via Zamboni 16 | Centro Citta', 40126 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Family Hotel in Bologna
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $82 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel San Donato 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel housed in 17th century structure, situated near main theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Donato
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing