We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good position, 100m from the 2 Towers, staff were extremly polite and helpful. Breakfast out on the terrace is great and the view of Bologna from the sanplatform on the roof is good. Bologna Centro Storica is not a big area and this hotel is in the thick of it with easy stroll to all the best aparativi bars. We traveled with our 2 kids and car, plenty of parking here included in price, however can be a little tricky to find the vehicle access, so you may have to keep the hotel number handy so they can guide you the correct way, as the city is tricky to drive around, but it's the same in amost all Centro Storica parts of Italian cities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItaliaA70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 813 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Excellent location. Very friendly staff. Breakfast on the terace is lovely !! The room I was given was quite good but I gave the rooms a rating of 4 out of 5 because of the view I had from my window : a wall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaduBogdanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Thsi hotel is located right in the centre of Bologna and is perfect for a visit to the City. The facous twin towers is around 100m away. The staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet was well stocked. There is a roof terrace with a 360 deg view of the city where you can spot all of the sights, great for sunbathing and getting superb sunset photos. There is also a small terrace where you can order drinks and look out over the city.
There is a good bar in the square outside the hotel too, ideal for that last drink, could get noisy I suppose but didn't disturb us a bit.
We went in Auguist and werer warned thatBologna would be "shut". It was certainly quiet and several restaurants and even shops had signs in the windows announcing that they wereaway until September. However, we were pleased to find that there was a still a good deal of choice for places to eat and enough bustle around to create a holiday atmosphere but without the crowds.
Thorougly recommnend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Location of the hotel is excellent , they have an onsite Parking for 25 Euros a day , it's kinda too much , but it is worth it in Bologna, cause you have no where to park. Me and my wife stayed at the third floor, spacious room , a lot of people complained about noise , but it didn't bother me at all. The breakfast Terrace is beautiful and totally relaxing and the breakfast is very rich .
Most definitely will visit again .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEOMED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is definetely the one with the most beautiful view from the breakfast table I had so far.
Although in summer very hot in the city center, do not hesitate to go there and enjoy a 360 degrees view of the city of Bologna. Also the staff of the breakfast was nicer than average, they even took a picture on the breakfast buffet.

The only minor I found was that the airco was not so hard as necessary. Although we paid for a luxury room only 65 euro for 2 that was really a bargain. We are not the people who often go back to the same place but here we would have liked to stay longer and so maybe we will come back!

Room Tip: ask for good airco
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Ultra friendly staff. Good variation buffet breakfast, with the option of eating al fresco. There is a beguiling view from the roof terrace which boasts a panoramic view of the city including the famout leaning tower.

Room Tip: Take a balcony if you don't want to use the roof terrace on 2nd and fourth levels! No swimming p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very centrally located in Bologna and where you need to be located if you're visiting this very interesting and oldest university European and Italian university town. What you would expect, you will find here: centrally located, easily accessible and good facilities to be mid-centre, no more no less. Staff is friendly and eager to help.

Room Tip: top floor 3rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thierry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.3 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Commercianti
Art Hotel Commercianti
#12 of 102 in Bologna
581 reviews
0.5 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#25 of 102 in Bologna
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Al Cappello Rosso
Al Cappello Rosso
#10 of 102 in Bologna
856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel San Donato

Address: Via Zamboni 16 | Centro Citta', 40126 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $85 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel San Donato 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel housed in 17th century structure, situated near main theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Donato
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing