We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price Quality OK - Bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Ranked #42 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Hotel is in a very good location in the historic centre - everything is close walking distance and sufficient eating/drinking opportunities in the direct area.

Rooms where clean and business like - although I was surprised this has a formal 4* rating given the overall comfort level you would expect for a 4*.

Only issue and reason for 3* (and considered lower...) is the noise levels. Rooms are badly insulated for both inside noise (other guests, cleaning staff) as well as music from the bars that are in the same building continues well into the night (although this may depend on the room). The only reason I didnt put to 2* is that this seems to be a generic problem in all italian middle class hotels.

Room Tip: ask for rooms away from the bars that are in the same building (but not part of the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esploratore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 794 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a great hotel offering excellent value for money. It's very central - barely five minutes to bologna's famous twin towers - and within easy walking distance of the railway station and most of the main sites and museums. It's situated in a small square, and part of the University - one of the oldest, if not the oldest, in Europe - is immediately opposite. I expected it to be noisy - and though there certainly is a lot of street life, my room - at the back - was very quiet. The room was clean and comfy if not luxurious; my only (very slight) gripe was that the water in the basin was at first a surprising brown - clearly the room hadn't been used for some time. It cleared within seconds, though, and there were no other problems. The staff were all really friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet varied and good, and in warmer months a drink on the terrace overlooking the rooftops would be very pleasant indeed. There are literally hundreds of restaurants within easy walking distance, ranging from cheapo snack bars to decent trattorie. There's a very good bar and buffet - these seem to be popular in Bologna - right next door. The whole area has a nice student buzz without being at all overwhelming or too noisy. Highly recommended, unless you are looking for luxury - I will definitely go the again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back - I had 209 on the second floor, same floor as the breakfast room and bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was worried when I saw the ear plugs in the bathroom toiletry set, as I thought we might be inconvenienced by student revels outside in the University district. That wasn't the problem, however. The ear plugs were there because the walls were very thin, confirmed by the TV volume control which would go no higher than a whisper. The room itself was very basic with 1960s style furniture. The bathroom was modern, but the shower cabin was TINY - no room to turn around.

On the plus side, the location was marvellous, the main reason we chose this hotel, which was not especially cheap, even in the very low season. However, we were close to the University, the historic centre, shops and great little restaurants and within a few metres of the famous Two Towers.

The hotel was incredibly clean, all linen was changed everyday, the staff friendly and helpful. The common areas were furnished with somewhat shabby antiques, but everything worked. The breakfasts were very copious.

We will return to this hotel because for us, the advantages far outweighed the less positive aspects.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I would like to start with the good points. The location - just in the heart of the old town. The hotel - nice, comfortable, clean, spacious. The breakfasts - exellent, you also have ruccola, mozzarella, tomatoes, grilled vegetables, fruit puree, different kinds of defreezed berries to add to smth, ect. You may have tea or coffe in the hall with pretty views - free of charge untill 6. The stuff is very kind and aimable.
Our room (superior) was very spacious and clean with the balcony, the bed was huge, even in the evening the staff visited us to make the bed and put the bonbons on the pillow.
The only bemol is the paper thin walls. This was really a problem - but we were lucky, our neigbours stayed only one night. Overall - we will return.

Room Tip: The private parking is 24 Euro per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lucyvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I cannot fault this accomodation, not least because at only 33 Euro per person for a twin share room (including breakfast!) it is by the far the best value accommodation I have experienced for a long time.

The rooms are spacious clean and very well appointed, the location is perfect for exploring the city of Bologna and the best thing is that it is extremely quiet, a rarity in Italy.

The check-in staff were extremely helpful and were more than happy to store our luggage both before and after our stay and they even delivered our bags to our room for us!

The buffet breakfast was outstanding with a massive choice of good quality food and the restaurant staff were exceptionally attentive and welcoming.

If you stay here you have to check out the view from the courtyard on the 4th floor, especially at sunrise or sunset as it is simply stunning.

Overall I highly recommend this accommodation and recommend you book on the hotel's website to get the best rate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tectrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just off the main square near the two towers in a quiet corner before you reach the student quarter this hotel is very good value with big clean rooms with balconies and delightful staff.

It's nice and peaceful, has great views and a superb roof terrace just made for taking photos across the rooftops or watching the sun come up or go down.

Our room was nicely furnished with a large bed, safe, chairs, and a decent shower, only 59 rooms in all with a pleasant bar area, a lift, and a breakfast room all very nicely decorated.

The staff can't do enough to help, recommended several restaurants, told us where to get the quck bus to the airport and were all very polite and happy, only downside is at breakfast which is only served until 10o'clock and not enough staff are on duty leading to unlaid or cluttered tables, no fresh fruitjuice, yoghurt or eggs and more often than not some items had all gone, the only cooked food is bacon, tomatoes, and scrambled egg.

Room Tip: At the back on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Noting to complain, the location is the best to stay and visit Bologna, good breakfast, cosy rooms and fantastic view of the old city from the roof terrace. If you choose this place to stay, you will stay right in the middle of the ancient citadel of Bologna. There is also a parking place provided, very convinient, even if access is a little difficult for big vehicles as SUV's. Beware to collect parking token from the automatic barrier:-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpontos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.3 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Commercianti
Art Hotel Commercianti
#12 of 102 in Bologna
554 reviews
1.2 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Al Cappello Rosso
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 102 in Bologna
839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aemilia Hotel
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,544 reviews
0.5 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel San Donato

Address: Via Zamboni 16 | Centro Citta', 40126 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Family Hotel in Bologna
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $84 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel San Donato 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel housed in 17th century structure, situated near main theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Donato
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing