We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected, unforgettable weekend”
Review of Hotel Touring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Touring
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unexpected, unforgettable weekend”
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We chose to go to Bologna on a whim, found Hotel Touring, and decided to stay an extra day because of their great service. They recommended a fantastic place to eat and took care of us as we enjoyed an aperitivo on their roof deck. And I swear those beds are heated. I can't explain how much we enjoyed this hotel. If I ever return to Bologna, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovingitaly2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    533
    86
    19
    16
See reviews for
221
594
143
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We took a city bus from the railway station to the hotel very quick & easy. Our arrival time was early so our room was not ready and we waited for 1 hour but well worth the wait. The gentleman at the front desk pushed the housekeeping staff to get the room ready as quickly as possible.The staff are very warm & helpful.
Our room was very comfortable and when we opened the floor to celling balcony doors and shutters what we saw was the biggest hotel balcony I have ever seen. It had small table with chairs for dinning and two chaise lounges for laying out in the sun and we could still have put a double bed on the balcony.
The morning breakfast was very good but the secret of this hotel is the roof garden. Very comfortable with fantastic views of the city.
Bologna is a very lovely city and very easy to get around as with the rest Italy public transport is the only way to move around. Efficient and cost effective. Bologna is a must visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brentwood-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

This was our first visit to Bologna and we know we will back again. This small hotel was very well maintained and accommodating in every way. They changed our room at our request with a very kind attitude the first night. The receptionn and concierge function worked very well and all the restaurants recommended (save one) were exceptional. The location was on a quiet street but within the historic district: perfect. The breakfast was included and was delicious and generous.

Two staff members should get special notice. Sara, who was the perfect employee in all ways by trying to make sure everything was done well and that our needs both explicit and implicit were met.She was very approachable for advice and help. She made reservations for us and gave us clear directions to two excellent restaurants. She made sure we were properly checked in for our flights back to the states and that we had transportation to the airport that was on time. She also verified what the baggage limits were for us without a fuss. Her English was excellent and she was patient with our lame use of the Italian language.

Unfortunately the polar opposite, was Giorgia who made every effort not to help. She would not help us check with Alitalia on baggage limits - (there is never a problem she indicated rather annoyed). She would not help us check in on line (not needed!). When informed the Jacuzzi was not working properly she was severely annoyed and at first denied the problem and then said "FINE I WILL CALL THE SERVICEMAN" and then left in a huff with us standing the front desk alone.

I would heartily recommend this friendly hotel with that one limitation in the personnel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarducci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Wonderful place,very nice staff and professional service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJBCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, NH
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Bologna is a great, vibrant city which I will return to. The Hotel Touring was a lovely hotel, tucked away on a side street about 10 minutes walk from the main square. Very sleek accomodations with professional, friendly staff. Good breakfast. We were booked on a free city tour at the receptionist's suggestion (good) and also a recommended restaurant was excellent. Only caveat was parking is expensive and garage we were sent to use was several blocks away. Bologna open air market was incredible and food and wine sooo good! Go there!! We lucked into being there while the city feted its patron saint, Peter, with a weekend celebration. Medieval parade, spectacles and then excellent fireworks as thousands watched in the central square and then peaceably walked to their next destination. Magical!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nd2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

I travelled to Bologna with my mum last week (I'm a 22-year-old female) for a city break - shopping, sightseeing etc. We found the Hotel Touring to be a charming, small and efficient hotel in a nice, quiet south-central location. Rooms were clean and the roof terrace was beautiful, though I was disappointed to find out the jacuzzi was closed for winter - honestly, the Italians seemed to think 21 degrees C was cold!
The staff were friendly, however I agree with SeriousDreamer that they were not very flexible. I was leaving by train in the evening while my mum had an afternoon flight - we would have been prepared to pay a little extra to keep the room until I needed to vacate (there was no-one else booked in that night), but the only offer they were willing to make was that we paid the entire cost of an extra night for both of us. Turned this down, but they did at least let me leave my luggage in reception for the day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geranibub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Spent 4 nights here. Great central location 400metres south of the main central square. Four nights cost about £320 which included a very good value breakfast - buffet, help yourself style, with lots of fruit, yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses, bread rolls, croissants, tea coffee etc etc. Staff very friendly and rooms are immaculate - finished to a high standard, especially the bathrooms. Our only complaint was the size of our twin bed room. Rather small and narrow with the beds up against the wall on each side and less than a beds width between them. By contrast the bathroom was large and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinfromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,410 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,482 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
863 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#11 of 103 in Bologna
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Touring

Property: Hotel Touring
Address: Via De' Mattuiani 1/2 | Piazza Tribunale, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#17 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Touring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Touring is a 3 star hotel in Bologna, situated in a quiet location in the old town a short walk from Piazza Maggiore, the Church of San Domenico. A few steps from the Galleria Cavour, the temple dedicated to international brands and made in Italy, as Gucci, Luis Vuitton, Prada, Cartier, our bed and breakfast remains within walking distance from the main touristic places as Piazza Santo Stefano, Torre degli Asinelli. Garage and Traffic Restriction Pass, WIFI area, Wonderful rooftop terrace, well maintained and green. Among the offers of services during the summer, the charm of our bologna hotel bed and breakfast is completed with the opening of the magnificent Jacuzzi on the 5th floor.A moment of pleasure that will make your stay unique in Bologna, whether from us for businees and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touring Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing