We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and not last visit”
Review of Hotel Touring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Touring
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“First and not last visit”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

My first time in Italy, beautiful hotel, great location. No major noise from the road. Helpful staff, spotlessly clean, lots of towels. Basic breakfast. Comfy beds with lots of extra bedding supplied. We had a great 2 nights there. Roof top terrace is a must.. Felt i could return as a solo traveller, very welcoming.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    531
    85
    19
    15
See reviews for
218
587
141
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Bologna is a large city, and this lovely mid size hotel is located in the 'old town', which I'd imagine is where most people would like to be located. With a handful of lovely trattorias/wine bars on its doorstep, it is friendly, well located and with large airy rooms.
20 min walk to train station, we took the 1hour train to Venice-Fabulous.
Breakfast not really up to much.
Lovely terrace on the roof with a jacuzzi open from June onwards, they will not open it earlier.
All in all a very good choice.

Room Tip: We did overlook the street, but after closing the shutters and putting on the fan, there was no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mich13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kineton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I was in Bologna for a week to learn Italian and the school (ARCA) recommended hotel Touring. Both before and during my visit, Manuela and her team were fantastic - helpful, cheerful, welcoming....I couldn't have asked for more. The location was perfect - less than 15 minute walk to the Piazza Maggiore, the main piazza in the town centre. Having an early evening beer on the hotel roof terrace with great views over Bologna was also a real treat.
Breakfast was fine - enough options for me.
The only disappointment was the room. Although travelling on my own, I had booked a classic double, but the room I got was nothing like the pictures on the web site. There was a double bed, but because of the size of the room, one side was against the wall. There was space to hang clothes that could be hung, but no other storage space for clothes, so everything else had to stay in the case. OK for an overnight stop maybe, but not ideal for a week's stay.
Would I go back? Yes - definitely, but I would spend a bit more on a decent room.

Room Tip: I was in room 506 - very small for a 'classic double'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent two nights at this lovely hotel and very much enjoyed it. We splashed out for the "gold" rooms, which had a bit more space (always appreciated in Euro hotels) and ours had a little balcony. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast (included) was great, lots of choices. The highlight was the rooftop terrace which is very nicely arranged, shaded, breezy and has a great view out over the city rooftops and church spires. The happy hour drinks to which we were invited were not free, but there was a vast array of snacks which came with the reasonably priced drinks which could have easily served as dinner if we hadn't been eager to taste Bologna's wonderful cuisine. Great location. An easy walk to all the major sites. The free wifi was spotty.

Room Tip: Go for the gold, the extra space, although not massive, is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Maurahs. Just 2 words: YOU ARE GREAT! Thank for your time & help us improving the Trip list!
Best Regards,
Matteo & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Just back from a few days in Bologna. Booked a twin bedded classic double, it was a cupboard! really only suitable as a single, had one set of towels and one chair - very disappointed, made our views clear to reception staff, not very accommodating at first but eventually moved us next day to a room as described on web. If we had been allocated this room initially then we would have been happy. Breakfast could definitely be improved, tinned peaches one day, prunes another and if early strawberries, warm scrambled eggs, cold boiled eggs. All in all not as expected.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Jeffrey thank you for your review. As we told you we were fully booked and we couldn't chance your room at the arrival. However we were lucky cause the other guest don't call that room cupboard.
For the next time we suggest you to book directly to the hotel and explain your needs.
In our hotel the have a wide variety such deluxe rooms, suite, junior suite and we will find the right solution for you.
Book directly, in our case, if you surf the official web site is cheaper and easy.
Best regards,
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rm3
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just back from an enjoyable 4 night stay in quiet location, only 10 mins walk from centre. From the moment we arrived we were made extremely welcome by the friendly reception staff who happily provided sightseeing and restaurant information when asked. Fantastic views of the city from the cosy roof top terrace and nothing was too much for any of the staff. J & A.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rm3Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much Annie!!
Great words! We wait you again-
Matteo & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

This was my first stop during my trip to Italy. The people who work there are very helpful and sweet, and the room was lovely. I wish I could live there. Best cappuccino ever! I will be back as soon as possible.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Lisa...
you love Touring...and Touring loves you!!
Matteo & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,363 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,456 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,148 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 103 in Bologna
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Touring

Property: Hotel Touring
Address: Via De' Mattuiani 1/2 | Piazza Tribunale, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#17 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Touring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Touring is a 3 star hotel in Bologna, situated in a quiet location in the old town a short walk from Piazza Maggiore, the Church of San Domenico. A few steps from the Galleria Cavour, the temple dedicated to international brands and made in Italy, as Gucci, Luis Vuitton, Prada, Cartier, our bed and breakfast remains within walking distance from the main touristic places as Piazza Santo Stefano, Torre degli Asinelli. Garage and Traffic Restriction Pass, WIFI area, Wonderful rooftop terrace, well maintained and green. Among the offers of services during the summer, the charm of our bologna hotel bed and breakfast is completed with the opening of the magnificent Jacuzzi on the 5th floor.A moment of pleasure that will make your stay unique in Bologna, whether from us for businees and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touring Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing