We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Bologna!”
Review of Hotel Touring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Touring
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place to stay in Bologna!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I recently visted Bologna for a study abroad program and I couldn't have asked for a better home for 3 weeks. Not only was our room amazing, but the hotel staff was also always very friendly and accommodating.
I stayed in the kitchenette room that had a stovetop, kitchen sink, refrigerator, and microwave. The bedroom was separated off from the main kitchen/bathroom area, which was nice for maintaining some privacy. We had 3 people in this room and there was more than enough space. The bathroom was also big enough for 3 girls to share with no problems. A/C and TV in the rooms. Hairdryer provided. The patio outside our room door was also great to have our own Italian aperitivo with friends/classmates in the late afternoon. Relaxing on the rooftop terrace during the daytime or nighttime was also a wonderful treat.
The location is a 15 minute or less walk to many things within the city like the university, Piazza Maggiore, shops, markets, restaurants.
I will definitely return to Hotel Touring on my next trip to Bologna.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you Angy and see you next time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    533
    86
    19
    16
See reviews for
221
594
143
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My experience was definitely not a four or five star. I'm used to staying at nice hotels but this place was anything but. The hotel was old and it appeared that the cleaning staff never dusted the rooms. You could not have anything delivered to your room at night if you called the front desk or in the morning. The hotel even charges you a ridiculous fee for using their jacuzzi. What decent hotel does that? The only positive experience was the breakfast and the staff that worked the kitchen; they were extremely hospitable and pleasant. I am so happy that I only stayed there for two nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melaneyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Touring for 3 weeks and could not have asked for a better experience. The hotel is conveniently located in the center of Bologna, close to shops, cafes and some of the best restaurants in Bologna. The hotel itself is modern and charming - the hotel has very nice amenities, delicious food at very reasonable prices, and has a lovely courtyard. I greatly enjoyed the hotel's rooftop terrace, which has equisite views of all of Bologna and is a great place to relax and have a drink. Upon request, the hotel can arrange dinner or a party on the rooftop. Above all, the staff is incredible! They are extremely curteous and knowledgeable about the area and fun things to do nearby. I will certainly go back to this hotel and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms in the center of the hotel overlook the garden and those with their own courtyard are very lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

What can I say about Hotel Touring? I recently stayed there for 3 weeks, and cannot speak more highly of this place. The staff is friendly and welcoming (and attractive!). It's run by a family that is very proud of their hotel and will do almost anything to make sure that your stay is perfect. It has a lovely lobby, bar, sitting area, etc. in the downstairs with a computer and internet (there's also WIFI in the whole hotel, you just have to ask for your pass code). The rooms are amazingly well-kept with brand new bathroom appliances. But the best part? The rooftop patio! You get a view of all of Bologna, and can watch the sun set over a chilled bottle of Prosecco. My room (510, I believe the biggest) even had a private jasmine-covered patio where we would drink wine in the afternoons before dinner.

The location also could not be better. It's in the "nice" part of town, near Prada, Gucci, etc. and all the best shopping and restaurants (my favorites being Biagi [the best!], Trattoria Trebbi, Osteria al'15, and da Cesari). It's about five minutes to Piazza Maggiore or the flower, vegetable, fish, meat and cheese markets on Via Clavature. It's also right near the Giardini Margherita, which is so beautiful to walk through on a Sunday when all locals leave the city and head to the park with their families.

Also, the price is SO reasonable for the quality. If you're ever staying in Bologna, I highly suggest that you stay here because it will automatically improve the entire quality of your trip. Ask the staff for their recommendation of places to eat, and they will tell you their favorite and make reservations.

Oh - I almost forgot! They have bikes that you can take out and ride around! How cool. I love this place. I can't wait to return again one day.

Room Tip: 509 and 510 have the private patio, which is really nice. They also might be more expensive, but I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

After driving from Tuscany and dumping the car back at the airport, we took a taxi straight to the hotel (16euros). The hotel organised a return car to the aiport on departure, for 25 euros which was well worth it as we didn't want the hassle of worrying about the no show, and all that goes with the public transport etc etc. The location is perfect for sightseeing and within walking distance to the whole of the 'historic city'., plus many restaurants, bars and pizzerias.. Staff very efficient, friendly and polite. If you want to know anything they are keen to help. On arrival, our room was not ready so we were invited to have a cold drink in the small garden area at the rear of the hotel which was extremely pleasant. There is an interior bar, and small restaurant area which looked very smart. Fresh flowers etc. The reception area is supplied with newspapers, including English language and magazines. There is computer which is charged, but very reasonable.
I think since some of the former reviews the owners have invested some serious funds into the place. It appears that new carpets are laid, the whole place is so clean it looks newly decorated. The room is well equipped and bed comfortable. Air con unit and a fan, tv., plenty of sockets. We stayed three nights would probably ask for a room on the back next time as although in a side street, it is quite close to the Via Garibaldi which is a larger road up to the residential area. We walked everywhere even late at night and never had any problems. Very good area. The breakfasts were excellent. and deserve extra praise as they even catered for dietary needs, i.e. lactose intolerant, and yeast free by leaving alternatives on the breakfast tables. We were very impressed. Another feature was the roof terrace. We found this such a bonus after all day walking. Equipped with dining tables and a couple of sun loungers, two sofas and a jacuzzi (we didn't use this) a perfect venue for pre dinner drink or relaxed reading or even sunbathing in the middle of a 'city break'.... We did have one meal up here but thought they would have done better to contain the area to an obvious private birthday party. But it was nice just to go down the lift and straight to our room after a long and hot day. Perhaps in a few months, this will be more finely tuned. Of course when all that happens the prices will probably go up. I hope not, as this I would certainly recommend to fellow travellers to Bologna as the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear probably quieter: Gold rooms have small balcony but there is a roof terrace so wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Time Travellers' Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights with 7 friends. The staff was very friendly. Anything we needed or wanted they did with a big smile. The rooms were pretty, comfortable beds, very nice modern baths, and the breakfast had something we all were happy with everyday. They made 8 women happy with their service, food, and rooms. No complaints from 8 women for 6 nights, that is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!! We could not have stayed at a better hotel. The location was just right. In the middle of everything but away from the noise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you so much!! Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a great holiday in Bologna thanks to Hotel Touring's hospitality and location. The hotel was well kept and the staff was very accomadating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plentyoffun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,410 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,482 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
863 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#11 of 103 in Bologna
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Touring

Property: Hotel Touring
Address: Via De' Mattuiani 1/2 | Piazza Tribunale, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#17 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Touring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Touring is a 3 star hotel in Bologna, situated in a quiet location in the old town a short walk from Piazza Maggiore, the Church of San Domenico. A few steps from the Galleria Cavour, the temple dedicated to international brands and made in Italy, as Gucci, Luis Vuitton, Prada, Cartier, our bed and breakfast remains within walking distance from the main touristic places as Piazza Santo Stefano, Torre degli Asinelli. Garage and Traffic Restriction Pass, WIFI area, Wonderful rooftop terrace, well maintained and green. Among the offers of services during the summer, the charm of our bologna hotel bed and breakfast is completed with the opening of the magnificent Jacuzzi on the 5th floor.A moment of pleasure that will make your stay unique in Bologna, whether from us for businees and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touring Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing