We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
Review of Hotel Touring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Touring
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We booked a one night stay at this hotel having been personally recommended by a friend.

When we arrived, earlier than expected, we were checked in quickly by the reception staff who offered us some information on the hotel (opening times of the jaccuzzi and a map of where we were located). We then went to our room to find a very well docorated, modern room with a lovely balcony/terrace area that had plenty of room to sit on our table and chairs and enjoy the view of the roof tops!

Whilst unpacking there was a knock on the door and one of the waiters had bought up to our room a bottle of Prosecco as I had requested this in my booking, to celebrate my mother's birthday. She was so surprised and it was lovely that they had timed in for just after we arrived.

The hotel in only a short 10 minute walk from the Piazza Maggiore and perfectly located to walk to all the main sites.

We decided to make use of the roof top jaccuzzi on our return from a hard day sight seeing and were able to book a 30 minute slot at reception (we booked a Gold Room and the use of the jacuzzi - and Wifi - is therefore free). When we arrived on the terrace the pool had been uncovered and ready to use. The view from here are amazing and it was great to sit there, relax and take it all in.

In the morning we had breakfast (mainly cold buffet style, with a great selection of breads, cheeses and pastries and also some scrambled egg) before checking out. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel whilst we went to finish site seeing. When we returned the receptionist was very helpful in advising the cost of a taxi to the airport (EUR16 - cheaper than the bus and then a taxI) and this arived promptly and took only 20mins to get us there.

Overall, I would rate this hotel as an excellent 3*, and for it's facilities and friendly staff I think it should easily be a 4*. If you wondering where to stay in Bolgna definitley stay here!

Room Tip: Book a Gold room so you get free use of the jaccuzzi and free Wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    533
    86
    19
    16
See reviews for
221
594
143
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great hotel for couples or groups of friends. On the plus side, a wonderful roof terrace, where one could be served drinks late into the night; very close to all the cultural sites; delightfully friendly service; clean rooms. On the down side: the jacuzzi on the roof is very small and the train station is a good walk/bus ride away. Neither was a problem for us at all but the latter might be if you're planning to use Bologna as a centre for travelling by train in the region. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZetaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Hotel Touring Bologna is like a second home. The warmth and hospitality of the hotel was visible in not only its ambience but also in the attitude of its people. The true Italian feeling of being in familiar surroundings so far away from home is what this hotel had to offer. And while I was busy with my official commitments, there was so much to do and see all around and inside the hotel (like Steam baths, Wine tours and biking) that kept my better half occupied. The beautiful churches and the breath-taking scenery that stretched for miles around our hotel, left no one at a loss. Trapped inside the hotel room, I still felt at peace and was my most relaxed self. There is something about the hotel itself that leaves you speechless…that gives you the tranquility and the calm you hope for on a vacation.

While the Classic rooms have that impeccable old world feel the Gold have a bit of the modern touch. Loaded with basic amenities and high on the cleanliness quotient, Hotel Touring Bologna is sure to please anyone who has good taste of quality life. My only suggestion and warning to anyone who wishes to have the same kind of time I had would be to make the bookings well in advance and to pick the kind of room that suits their needs the best. As all good things come to an end, so will your stay at this hotel, but what you will take along are memories of a fantastic time, memories for forever!

Room Tip: I suggest choosing Junior Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeshreddy1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Perfect hotel, very sweet, quiet, nice rooms, clean with a lovely rooftop terrace an Jacuzzi (although jacuzzi comes at a painful €8 pp). Slight mould by bath and not very powerful showers but otherwise absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateandmaxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This pleasant hotel is located in a nice quiet district in the old town about 10 minutes walk from the main Piazza in the city centre. Staff were very friendly and the hotel is fine. We paid extra and booked a Gold Room which we understood to have a terrace. On arrival we found out that the terrace is actually a very small balcony, albeit with a good view of the old town, that you can just about fit two people on - not quite what we were expecting. When we drew this to the attention of the hotel staff we were advised that the room below had a terrace but the view wasn't very good - which it wasn't. The room was fine for a four star hotel and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. If you stay here I would recommend that you ask the hotel for a restuarant recommendation, we did and were not disappointed . Be careful through as some of the restaurants don't open on saturday's, sundays etc. However I'm pleased we did this as the restauarants in the city centre in my view were very expensive with often quite indifferent service.On the plus side the hotel provided a complimentary city walking tour on Saturday afternoon. This was excellent and a really nice touch.

With regard to Bologna itself, it is a beautiful city, but as mentioned above we did notice that it was very expensive. Typicalyl a 2 course meal of say pasta followed by steak and chips was about 80-90 euros, with a bottle of house wine at about 30 euros a bottle. Expensive compared to many other places in Italy where you don't have to look far for a reasonably priced good restaurant. Also at some of the bars and restaurants in the city centre you could easily sit for 15 minutes before being noticed if at all - we walked out of several over the weekend because of this. Overall I would say Bologna is a pretty city, but expensive with more than it's fair share of bad service - although not in the Hotel Touring.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatonspair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

With my grilfriend I stayed two nights in the Hotel Touring in Bologna. We had a standard room, which was a bit dated, but comfy enough and clean. Room had airco, TV and safe, but no minibar/fridge. The breakfast is Italian/Continental, but decent; the breakfast room in the basement was a bit depressing. One day the cleaning lady failed to clean our room, but when we complained (which happened to be after cleaner had gone home already) the reception staff, tidied up and brought new towels. Also otherwise the reception staff was very service oriented and always there for you. The hotel has roof terrace with amazing views over the historic center of bologna. There is jacuzzi up there, but it seemed to be out of order while we were there. Also there was no bar service up there, but you could get drinks at the main bar and take them upstairs with you. The location of the hotel is great, as it is in the historic center and you can easily explore the city on foot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hickory8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groß-Gerau / near Frankfurt
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel in bologna named Hotel Touring has an outstanding service!
If you ever decide to travel to bologna stay a few stays and relax there.
To take dinner or meal on the roof-restaurant is a must! That´s a place to die for! Really!
You can look over the hole city! And the fantastic italian food from the emiglia romagna got´s you.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank baadshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,410 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,482 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
863 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#11 of 103 in Bologna
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Touring

Property: Hotel Touring
Address: Via De' Mattuiani 1/2 | Piazza Tribunale, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#17 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Touring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Touring is a 3 star hotel in Bologna, situated in a quiet location in the old town a short walk from Piazza Maggiore, the Church of San Domenico. A few steps from the Galleria Cavour, the temple dedicated to international brands and made in Italy, as Gucci, Luis Vuitton, Prada, Cartier, our bed and breakfast remains within walking distance from the main touristic places as Piazza Santo Stefano, Torre degli Asinelli. Garage and Traffic Restriction Pass, WIFI area, Wonderful rooftop terrace, well maintained and green. Among the offers of services during the summer, the charm of our bologna hotel bed and breakfast is completed with the opening of the magnificent Jacuzzi on the 5th floor.A moment of pleasure that will make your stay unique in Bologna, whether from us for businees and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touring Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing