We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful quaint hotel, excellent breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoia Hotel Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Savoia Hotel Country House
Ranked #51 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“beautiful quaint hotel, excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for a big fair at the exhibition center (Cosmoprof) which has about 250,000 attendees. I've been told that it is the busiest week of the year in Bologna. We paid a fairly high price since we booked only about 2 months in advance, so even though it was expensive, I would consider it a fair deal, all things considered. The desk staff was very friendly, even though we didn't speak Italian. The internet connection was great. As everyone else has said, the breakfast is incredible- fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, multitude of sweet rolls, cereals (but granola ran out after our first day, and it was great), scrambled eggs and bacon. The only complaint that I have is the lack of places to eat. The hotel itself serves breakfast, but there is a restaurant a very short walk away at the Savoia Hotel Regency, the Garganelli. We had lunch there our first day, and it was wonderful. However on Sunday night we waited until the restaurant opened at 7:30 (typical for Italy, but late by our American standards, and we were hungry!) and they informed us that if we didn't have a reservation, that they were booked. OK- so there is another little restaurant on the property but it was closed on Sunday (though the front desk said that during the busy fair time they were usually open on Sundays during fair time). There weren't any restaurants nearby so our only choice was to order pizza to be delivered (like we would do at home in the US!). Just something to be aware of. A bit frustrating without a car. I travel a lot for business and I have to say that Italy can have an additional level of complexity when considering logistics.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBicrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    131
    44
    21
    7
See reviews for
54
100
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Imola, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I had a room in the main building, above the reception hall; clean and spacious. Very good breakfast with freshly squeezed orange (you do it yourself with an automatic machine and actual oranges) and they serve good coffee and cappuccino from the bar. Just a few minutes from the highway exit, 15minutes from the old city. A car is advisable. Free parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week and had an excellent time. The room was extremely clean (bedding and towels were changed daily) and the bed was very comfortable. A gym and a pool are located in the neighboring Savoia hotel (100 m) both also clean and quiet. We greatly appreciated the fact that they lent us bikes for free. Bologna town center is approximately 4 kms from the hotel and we enjoyed riding around this superb town. The service was impeccable!
A fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurelboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we had an early departure the day after. We had chosen the hotel because of the short distance to the airport. It appeared to be more than that that makes it worth the money. It has clean and fresh rooms with comfortable beds. A gym and pool is located in the neighboring Savoia hotel. The breakfast is better than the general Italian one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sethseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The service is terrible. I stayed in July, and I filled out the room survey and it said "bring this to the front desk and you will be given a present" I brought it and they said they won't give it to me in a rude way. Also, their Wi-Fi is super slow, breakfast is bad, and the rooms are nowhere like the picture. And yes, the prices are expensive for any snack or water you want, and the front desk's service is slow and bad.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank armandsarkani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni T, Direttore at Savoia Hotel Country House, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the observations you sent us regarding services at our hotel.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

We are really very sorry that you should think so. I would like to point out that had you notified me of your complaints during your stay, I would have been able to intervene at once to find the best solution.

We cannot understand your dissatisfaction with our breakfast: it comprises 3 types of home-made cakes, 6 different types of croissants, 5 types of corn flakes, 5 kinds of fruit, grapes, plums, bread, butter, jam, cheese, turkey, ham steak, eggs, rusk bread, 2 types of yoghurt and many other dishes.

I remember of you and I want tell you about our wi-fi connection that everything was ok about it and only your laptop had problems, in that period we didn’t received any other observations about our wi-fi connection.

Regarding the prices of our snacks we have often been praised for the excellent price/quality ratio we offer our guests.
We assure you that, considering the quality and variety of our services, our rates are very low (absolutely fair).

I remember too, that at your arrival we offered to you a lot of different kind of rooms, so I don’t understand which kind of room did you expected you to have.

Regarding our employees, I’m sure that they are always kind and I believe that there was a misunderstanding between you. Our strong point is our service, thanks to the care and attention we reserve for all our guests.

We hope that we have clarified our position.
We are always grateful to our guests for writing to us, even if with some complaint.

Best wishes.

Andrea Angelini
Vice Direttore
Savoia Hotel Country House Bologna
Via San Donato, 159
40127 Bologna
Tel./Fax 051. 6332366
Direzione e coordinamento: Nonsolohotel Srl – Bologna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Lovely hotel, great location for a relaxing break (just off the autostrade and outside the city itself), excellent facilities (you can hire bikes free of charge and visit Bologna rather than going by bus/taxi as it's only 4km) the pool at the adjacent sister hotel is great (though usually has lots of kids in it so not ideal if you're trying to get away from little people....). The food in the hotel restaurant, Garganelli's is AMAZING ! Overall, a bargain for Euro 51 per night for a double room B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main road - although the air conditioning does blur out the traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j9wfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Savoia Hotel Regency
#12 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
San Donato
Novotel Bologna Fiera
Novotel Bologna Fiera
#37 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savena
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tower Hotel Bologna
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
UNAWAY Hotel Bologna Fiera
#42 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoia Hotel Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoia Hotel Country House

Property: Savoia Hotel Country House
Address: Via San Donato 161, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoia Hotel Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Savoia Hotel Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing