We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel near town center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoia Hotel Country House
Ranked #48 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week and had an excellent time. The room was extremely clean (bedding and towels were changed daily) and the bed was very comfortable. A gym and a pool are located in the neighboring Savoia hotel (100 m) both also clean and quiet. We greatly appreciated the fact that they lent us bikes for free. Bologna town center is approximately 4 kms from the hotel and we enjoyed riding around this superb town. The service was impeccable!
A fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aurelboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 352 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we had an early departure the day after. We had chosen the hotel because of the short distance to the airport. It appeared to be more than that that makes it worth the money. It has clean and fresh rooms with comfortable beds. A gym and pool is located in the neighboring Savoia hotel. The breakfast is better than the general Italian one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sethseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The service is terrible. I stayed in July, and I filled out the room survey and it said "bring this to the front desk and you will be given a present" I brought it and they said they won't give it to me in a rude way. Also, their Wi-Fi is super slow, breakfast is bad, and the rooms are nowhere like the picture. And yes, the prices are expensive for any snack or water you want, and the front desk's service is slow and bad.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armandsarkani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni T, Direttore at Savoia Hotel Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the observations you sent us regarding services at our hotel.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

We are really very sorry that you should think so. I would like to point out that had you notified me of your complaints during your stay, I would have been able to intervene at once to find the best solution.

We cannot understand your dissatisfaction with our breakfast: it comprises 3 types of home-made cakes, 6 different types of croissants, 5 types of corn flakes, 5 kinds of fruit, grapes, plums, bread, butter, jam, cheese, turkey, ham steak, eggs, rusk bread, 2 types of yoghurt and many other dishes.

I remember of you and I want tell you about our wi-fi connection that everything was ok about it and only your laptop had problems, in that period we didn’t received any other observations about our wi-fi connection.

Regarding the prices of our snacks we have often been praised for the excellent price/quality ratio we offer our guests.
We assure you that, considering the quality and variety of our services, our rates are very low (absolutely fair).

I remember too, that at your arrival we offered to you a lot of different kind of rooms, so I don’t understand which kind of room did you expected you to have.

Regarding our employees, I’m sure that they are always kind and I believe that there was a misunderstanding between you. Our strong point is our service, thanks to the care and attention we reserve for all our guests.

We hope that we have clarified our position.
We are always grateful to our guests for writing to us, even if with some complaint.

Best wishes.

Andrea Angelini
Vice Direttore
Savoia Hotel Country House Bologna
Via San Donato, 159
40127 Bologna
Tel./Fax 051. 6332366
Direzione e coordinamento: Nonsolohotel Srl – Bologna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Lovely hotel, great location for a relaxing break (just off the autostrade and outside the city itself), excellent facilities (you can hire bikes free of charge and visit Bologna rather than going by bus/taxi as it's only 4km) the pool at the adjacent sister hotel is great (though usually has lots of kids in it so not ideal if you're trying to get away from little people....). The food in the hotel restaurant, Garganelli's is AMAZING ! Overall, a bargain for Euro 51 per night for a double room B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main road - although the air conditioning does blur out the traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j9wfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed at the Savoia Country House Hotel in april 2012 for three nights. It's a two minutes ride from the Bologna fair. The hotel is a little bit antiquated but service was great. The restaurant in it's sister hotel Savoia Regency serves great food. There's nothing much to do around the hotel, but there's a bus a stop at the door that takes you straight to the train station, otherwise it's a 10-12€ taxi ride. Once again it's an interesting option if you are staying in Bologna for the fair.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivaaa_las_vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. Room was clean and ok, nothing fancy but adequate for the price of around 70 Euros. Breakfast was a surprise as usually italian hotels do not excel in choice and quality. Good location for a business trip, just a few minutes from the highway exit. Would not recommend for a tourist experience as there is better choice for a holiday (countryside agriturismo). Very friendly staff that reacts on demand. Free parking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamaswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at the Savoia for two nights whilst visiting Misano for Moto GP . Whilst it is on the outskirts of the city it has great transport links to the city centre. We were travelling by motor bike and on arrival saw that there was a super covered area for bikes. The room was beautifully decorated and we slept very well. The breakfast was out of this world, so much choice, the fresh fruit was beautiful as was the coffee. However the highlight of our stay was the meal we had in the restaurant at its sister hotel which shares its grounds. As we were on a bike we did not have any particularly smart clothes with us but as it was torrential rain storms we decided not to travel to far so we turned up in our smartest shorts! This restaurant is really lovely and the service was second to none, we were made to feel like royalty the food was outstanding and it was probably the best meal on our trip. We shall definitely return, we booked with hotels.com and got an amazing deal. Well done Savoia!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salcha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bologna
Savoia Hotel Regency
#7 of 102 in Bologna
1,346 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio
#1 of 1 in Casalecchio di Reno
587 reviews
Navile
Arcoveggio Hotel
Arcoveggio Hotel
#57 of 102 in Bologna
214 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoia Hotel Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoia Hotel Country House

Address: Via San Donato 161, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $69 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoia Hotel Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Savoia Hotel Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing