We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Botucatu, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Its not close to city center, but there is a bus stop in front of. Really good acomodaton, breakfast and price.You can take a bus to go to train station for citys like Veneza, Firenze... spend the day and back to Imperial Hotel, is a good idea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    357
    105
    29
    18
See reviews for
106
328
38
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I would say the price on the hotel was average for the area, so we chose the Imperial because it offered a gym.
When we got there, we were disappointed at not having coffee making facilities in the room, like several pictures show. I was told that we needed to book a 'superior' room for that, or else pay Eur.10 supplement (daily I assume, I wasn't interested in a country where a good coffee costs Eur.1.00).
The restaurant menu also seemed pretty weak, so we went out to find alternative dining, but after walking for 15 or 20 minutes, found nothing in the area. The hotel is really far from the center, you really need to take a bus for any sign of real 'life'. On our return, the receptionist very kindly offered a pizza/snack menu on a delivery basis from a nearby place it seemed, and I must say that this made our evening. He even offered the dining tables to eat the food we ordered very comfortably. With our order for 4 meals (at a very reasonable price), we also got a free 1L bottle of Fanta, which we thought was really excellent. The pizza was excellent too, and we did this again during our stay.
The hotel is 10-15 minutes from central Bologna, depending on traffic. Bus tickets from the driver at 1.50, from reception at 1.30, from a tobacconist in Bologna you can buy a card of 10 tickets for Eur.12. It's funny nobody ever checked our tickets on the bus, but we assume it can happen!
The rooms were pretty average. Cleanliness was fine, but the furniture was a bit dated. The TV was small, probably 22", about the size of a computer monitor. Several channels on TV, all in Italian. Soap in the bathrooms was limited to what was in the dispenser, and it is not topped-up regularly, so you might need to resort to using the wash-basin soap in the shower ..
The window shutters are electric, with the control right next to the window. Until you realize this you might think they cannot be opened.
Breakfast was excellent, although there was no cooked food except boiled eggs, which were not on the menu every day. the coffee from the machine is also very decent. The cereal choice was limited, but cakes, croissants, biscuits, ham, cheese, yoghurt etc. were really enough for a good breakfast.
The gym was also basic. 1 cycling machine, 1 treadmill, and 2 home-type machines. No clean towels or water in the gym though. Just sufficient for a morning wake-up!
The hotel offered an on-demand shuttle to the airport using their own 8-seater. It seems there is a flat rate of Eur.15 on this which is excellent value!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWithKids22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgos, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The staff is really helpful and nice!
Awesome breakfast (included with the room wich is good)
Huge an comfortable bed. Spacious room and bathroom.
Bus stop at the door of the hotel.
Quiet place to sleep and clean as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The room is great! Access to public transportation is also fantastic. They also give you the option of taking a bike to visit the city, the staff spoke a above average level of English than what I experienced in the rest of Italy. If you go to Bologna it is worth renting a room here.

P.S The breakfast, which was included with the room was also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tueat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelImperialBologna, Direttore at Hotel Imperial, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest,
We are pleased to know that your stay has been so good. Thanks for appreciate our location, the bicycles service and the amazing choice of food for breakfast. Thank you also for recognize the kindness and and professionalism of all the staff. Awaiting for welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

made a booking just by calling them. a bit far from town but stop is right in front. Room was very clean and spacious, but cold. Ac not heating at all. Breakfast plentiful but mainly sweets and bakery. staff was very friendly. good for 2 nights.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank iceDevice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel is only 10-15 minutes by car from fiera and motorway exit if there is no traffic. I am attaching the photos of the room. Unfortunately the hotel is new but very badly dirty. They only have liquid soap and if it finishes in the afternoon they can not renew because the cleaning ladies are now work. There was a lot of rust in the bathroom. Check-out is 100am even it is not mentioned on booking websites. I tried to have my breakfast around 950am and many things were missing so i asked at leats for some cheese they said that the breakfast finishes at 1000am and they already washed the knife so can not cut.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tulgata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed the night before our flight due to the excellent value, free parking and location in proximity to the airport. We arrived after a long drive and were pleasantly surprised to find a spacious room with a large, comfortable bed. After graciously leaving the hire car in the car park we caught the bus into the city centre to have a look around and get some dinner. The bus was very easy to catch both to and from the city with the bus stop being located directly outside the hotel. Breakfast in the morning was lovely as well, with a large spread and nice coffee. The only downside was the shower caused a huge leak, however as it was only a short stay it didn't bother us too much. Brilliant value for money and ideal for someone with a car or an early flight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Ramada Encore Bologna
#15 of 103 in Bologna
1,716 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#19 of 103 in Bologna
595 reviews
Grand Hotel Elite
#48 of 103 in Bologna
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Property: Hotel Imperial
Address: Via del Gomito 16, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bologna
#16 Family Hotel in Bologna
#22 Business Hotel in Bologna
#27 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Fair ground and to the centre of Bologna, in a quiet area away from the city traffic, the Hotel Imperial offers a great solution for a business trip or a relaxing holiday. We take care about your comfort and do our best to give you a wonderful stay. For that reason we look out our guests opinions, we like to listen and wish to know what you really think about us. Our staff will be glad to answer to your reviews with the same kindness and cordiality you can find at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing