We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reception staff, and comfortable base.”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #31 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great reception staff, and comfortable base.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was our cheapest stay on our back packing trip of Italy, and to be honest was the most comfortable of the whole trip. We had been staying in hostels with shared facilities in other destinations, so it was quite a luxury for us to have our own massive bathroom on this trip.
The shutters block out all light and noise from outside so we had a very peaceful two nights here, bed firm but still comfortable.
Location is a fair way from the city centre, however it is really easy to get to from the Train Station as all you have to do is cross the road and get the number 2 bus to the terminus Gomito and the hotel is in front of you, so easy and transport is really cheap.
Reception staff were brilliant, and they basically became our PA's while we were in Bologna. They phoned up restaurants and booked us tables, and they also phoned Ducati and a Balsamic vinegar factory in Modena to book us tours. Also really polite and friendly, so cant fault them in any way.
Selection at breakfast was huge and plentiful, something for everyone and set us up for a days sightseeing.
Price of the bar was a little steep compared to the prices in bars in Bologna, but this is the norm with most hotel bars so not a moan just a comment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac_and_Kel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelImperialBologna, Direttore at Hotel Imperial, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Mac and Kel, thank you for the positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of the room and the varied choice of our buffet. Our location is extremely strategic: easy to reach by car and also by bus (bus 25 stopped just outside the hotel). Thanks also for appreciate the helpfulness of our staff that everyday try to do the best to satisfy your wishes.
Kind regards
Claudio Righetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    352
    102
    27
    17
See reviews for
104
320
37
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here at the end of March when I attended a fair. Hotel staff is very welcoming, helpfull and friendly. Rooms are basic (not luxurious) but have everything you need. They are very clean too, my compliments to the housekeeping staff. Breakfast is good. The hotel is a bit outside the city centre and there are no restaurants nearby. When I asked about it, they suggested I order in some food. Overall it was a good experience and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelImperialBologna, Direttore at Hotel Imperial, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Heidi, we are pleased to know that the cleanliness of the rooms and the breakfast buffet have been appreciated. Thank you also for recognize the kindness, helpfulness and professionalism of all the staff. We hope to see you again for the next fair :)
Kind regards
Claudio Righetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I spent a lot of time looking for the good hotel in reasonable price. When I've seen Imperial, it was easy choice.
The crew was very welcoming and helpful. The room was small, but clean (towels changed every day!)and comfortable with great internet connection. I have never slept in more comfortable bed. After whole day of walking around Bologna or Modena it was really relaxing to lay down on a bed like this.
Breakfasts were awesome: sth good for everyone. Eggs and ham for my father, cornetto & cappuccino for me. And a lot more (hard choice what to eat when you want to try everything they have to offer).
I think I will use this location again while visiting Bologna. Even if it takes 20 minutes by bus to get to the city centre, it's worth it, no doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms 26 - 29, 126 - 129 and 226 - 229 have the view to the main entrance and a veeeery olh house. Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PowerInsane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelImperialBologna, Direttore at Hotel Imperial, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,
We are pleased to know that your stay has been so good. Thanks for appreciate our service, the comfort of our rooms, the amazing choice of food for breakfast and the kindness of our staff. Awaiting for welcome you again
Claudio Righetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff...would recommend to friends. Bus stop in front of hotel. Excellent location....nice breakfast and clean room. All you need when going for a city break... :) they also offer shuttle service to and from blq airport which was perfect for us since we had late flights there and back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marz1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelImperialBologna, Direttore at Hotel Imperial, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you so much for writing this great opinion about your experience.
The staff and I are very pleased reading what you appreciated about the Hotel Imperial and reading that you’ll recommend us to friends.
I hope you really enjoyed your trip to Bologna and spent a good time at our hotel and city.
Best Regards,
Claudio Righetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

“Hotel Imperial” is a great choice for a demanding traveler. My friend and I were there a year ago. We booked a single room with a double bed. The room was well-equipped, cozy and clean.
This hotel is a place where you can enjoy calmness and relax as it is located rather far from the central streets and squares. The parking is free, it was a pleasant surprise. You can also use Wi-Fi.
The stuff is great. Everybody is friendly and wanting to help. There was no problem in communicating in English; some people even spoke several languages. Check-in/out didn’t take a long time. We were really satisfied with what we were offered. Ah, yes! The breakfast! Well, it’s not necessarily to mention that Italian food is the most delicious. We were stuffed with various local sweets, kinds of meat and what not.
We can’t wait to go back to Bologna and we’ll definitely stay at “Hotel Imperial”.
I can only recommend this place. Thank you, you made our trip fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalishhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelImperialBologna, Direttore at Hotel Imperial, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Nataly,
thank you very much for this lovely review.
I’m glad that you spend a great time at Hotel Imperial and that you appreciated our location, services, staff, breakfast and, of course, the room.
Me and all my staff are very pleased to have made your trip “fantastic”, I hope you will come back soon to visit us.
Best Regards,
Claudio Righetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked Double room (www.booking.com really nice photos). And so what we get - a very small room with a double bed and a single bed (we were two and did not ask for 3 bed, there was no places already?), worn out furniture back to the 80ties, dusty racks, blanket with holes, flowing toilets bowl. Staff explained that the rooms shown in pictures (booking.com) are Superior Double or Twin Room not Double. Flowing toilet bowl was repaired later in the evening. There are are two connected buildings (new and old) in the area of hotel, obviously each includes completely different level of comfort. In fact, for the first time in my life I am so disappointed with hotel. Accommodation at this hotel was the only negative thing in our trip. Photos speak without words.

Positive - Free parking on site and good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda1234627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelImperialBologna, Direttore at Hotel Imperial, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear guest,
first of all thanks to leave your opinion, that is very important to us.
I’m so sorry to read about your experience at Hotel Imperial; usually, as can be seen from most reviews, our rooms are clean and in excellent conditions.
Hotel’s staff is always available to listen the demands of our guests and do the possible to satisfy them.
If you would have asked to us I’m sure we’ve done everything to fix up the situation like we always do.
Your review will be an incentive to do the best we can learning from our mistakes to get better.
I’m glad you appreciated our breakfast and free parking.
King Regards,
Claudio Righetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed overnight en route from Umbria to Madonna di Campiglio in the Dolomites. The bus transfer into central Bologna couldn’t be easier as the bus service terminates right by the hotel. A friend joined us there having flown into Venice that morning, caught a train to Bologna and then the bus to the hotel with great ease. Having stayed here before, we were again very pleased with the stopover for quality, cleanliness, location and the wonderful breakfast. We will us it again…

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Ramada Encore Bologna
#15 of 103 in Bologna
1,696 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#20 of 103 in Bologna
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navile
Hotel Tuscolano
Hotel Tuscolano
#57 of 103 in Bologna
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Property: Hotel Imperial
Address: Via del Gomito 16, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bologna
#16 Family Hotel in Bologna
#22 Business Hotel in Bologna
#27 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Fair ground and to the centre of Bologna, in a quiet area away from the city traffic, the Hotel Imperial offers a great solution for a business trip or a relaxing holiday. We take care about your comfort and do our best to give you a wonderful stay. For that reason we look out our guests opinions, we like to listen and wish to know what you really think about us. Our staff will be glad to answer to your reviews with the same kindness and cordiality you can find at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing