We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the journey”

Santuario di Madonna di San Luca
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.78*
and up
Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour
Ranked #5 of 329 things to do in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worth the journey”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We walked from the centre of Bologna and the walk under the portico for the journey was defintely the highlight. The walk seemed never ending! Unfortunately the clouds did not lift so we did not get the views which I am sure would have been good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DemonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,579
    718
    160
    34
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Serious workout but we loved it!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

If memory serves there are something like 700 portigos going up the stairs to the church on top. This is a serious stair master like workout but worth it. Besids feeling good for burning off all that yummy food you ate the night before. The views are very good!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dworthmaBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
455 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Incredible bling bling”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

inside the church. WE drove up and parked near the church. Sunday Mass was in progress and we sat down for a while. MY wife went out to walk the colonnade down and I stayed in the church. The priest had the most beautiful voice of any religious person I have ever heard.
The sanctuary is at the top of a very high hill or a small mountain south west of Bologna. The views are incredible. You will be blown away, I guarantee it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tatliturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
192 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Worth the Hike”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We hiked the path up the hill under nearly 700 arches to this church, enjoying both the journey and the destination with its incredible views over the countryside of Emilia Romana. It was a great way to get exercise and appreciate beauty at the same time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank patandmaryjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The journey through the collonade is the real attraction”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Visiting the Santuario di Madonna di San Luca without walking (climbing) the about 3 km long collonade, consisting from 666 arcades must be less than half the experience. (If you don't want to bring this sacrifice, simply take a taxi)
The first and last parts of the collonade are the steepest and hence hardest. The part in the middle -though still accessing the hill- can be considered a part to regain your breath.
It is very particular experience to do such a long and steep climb, completely covered by a roof over your head.
The Santuario itself is nice but made way less impression on us than the journey there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HaraldvanderWeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santuario di Madonna di San Luca also viewed

 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Santuario di Madonna di San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing