We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the bus up and walk down!”

Santuario di Madonna di San Luca
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.29*
and up
Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour
Ranked #5 of 325 things to do in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Take the bus up and walk down!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Take Bus 20 from the city center to the Villa Spada stop. Cross the street and go left. At the first corner take a right which will be going uphill. There you will find the stop for Bus 58. It runs every half-hour to every hour so check the schedule carefully. (On Sunday, it has a different schedule with not as many pick up times). Take this bus (on the same ticket) to the top. The church closes from 12:30 - 2:30 so time your arrival. It's a relatively easy walk though the porticos down to catch bus 20 again at Meloncello. We got off the bus at Porta Saragozza and took pictures then back on Bus 32 for a trip around Bologna.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank MJG71229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,532
    706
    153
    32
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“totally worthy”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The idea is to get up there, not to just visit the basilica!
People from Bologna often do it as a promise, something like "If I pass the exam I'll walk up to San Luca", but from the number of people you can meet during the walk, you can guess there are not only promises to keep here but also fitness practise, weekly habits, picnics grouping and a lot of turism of course.
It's a 3.5 km walk, totally worthy! It's not too difficult, except for the last bit, where you find a lot of steps. Generally it's a long nice walk under an old (and not well ketp) covered path that you can take on a rainy day as well.
The view from the top of the hill is nice and there's a bar to get refreshed if you need. The church in itself is small but pretty and you can visit behind the main altar, when it's open.
Compare to the way up, the way down takes few minutes!
You can of course drive up the church as well, if you can't walk that much. I think there's a bus running as well, but I'm not 100% sure.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank la_zia_ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You need to be fit!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We took a taxi up...but attempted to walk back....waaaay longer than it appears on maps and lots of step...that being said we were there on a spectacularly beautiful day and the views were amazing and the church lovely.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank aretha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great view on sunny day”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

never see so unique arts, so many people visiting this holy place, can see Bologna city view when sunny day

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happycustommer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A great walk under porticos with tremendous views to the basilica which we had seen on the hilltop as we came into town. Really worth doing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Curnutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santuario di Madonna di San Luca also viewed

 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Santuario di Madonna di San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing