We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You need to be fit!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santuario di Madonna di San Luca

Santuario di Madonna di San Luca
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.22*
and up
Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour
Ranked #5 of 314 things to do in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“You need to be fit!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We took a taxi up...but attempted to walk back....waaaay longer than it appears on maps and lots of step...that being said we were there on a spectacularly beautiful day and the views were amazing and the church lovely.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank aretha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,432
    651
    140
    28
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great view on sunny day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

never see so unique arts, so many people visiting this holy place, can see Bologna city view when sunny day

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happycustommer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

A great walk under porticos with tremendous views to the basilica which we had seen on the hilltop as we came into town. Really worth doing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Curnutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
187 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely church in the clouds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We found out going to the church that the Italians do not use the word "fog" and when our driver asked what it meant, my husband said "low clouds". He responded "clouds are clouds." Anyway, we enjoyed the interesting uphill climb in the taxi & it never cleared enough for us to get the stellar views we were hoping to see. I suggest a later time of day (we went about 10am). We took the walk down the 666 porticoes & 300 steps and I have to tell you for an inexperienced walker, it was long & tiring. We ate at a wonderful place on the way down & walked the rest of the way to portico1 and then to our B&B. I was as close to exhausted as I've ever been. So if you chose to do the walk get some long distance walking in first. It's a little over 3.7 miles from the last portico to the first. You can catch the #20 bus & that would have made sense, but we're not always sensible. There's a surprising amount of stuff to see in the porticoes even with the clouds. Villas, chapels, alcoves with dedications, etc. You'll meet some intrepid athletes & even some normal folks out for a stroll. If I lived there I'd be tempted to add it to my normal work-a-day, maybe 100 porticoes at a time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank IrishPrincess57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Whatever else you do in Bologna, don't fail to visit the Santuario di San Luca. Take the No 20 bus from Piazza Maggiore to Villa Spada then No 58 to the top. (One ticket for both buses.) Then walk back down to Villa Spada through the 3.8 km portico constructed in the 17thC to provide shelter for pilgrims. Or walk both ways if you're feeling fit. It's an unforgettable experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santuario di Madonna di San Luca also viewed

 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Santuario di Madonna di San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing