We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Which delightful atmosphere...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinacoteca Nazionale di Bologna

Pinacoteca Nazionale di Bologna
Ranked #31 of 317 things to do in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Which delightful atmosphere...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Last week I was in Bologna, I had time and I visited the Pinacoteca Nazionale di Bologna. I read something about it before going and I was a bit 'prepared. The Pinacoteca is located in the same historic building of the Accademia di Belle Arti. Its interior was a real architectural surprise . A large collection of large paintings (Raffaello, Guido Reni, Carracci, Guercino) is housed in large rooms with great taste. There’s a room called Giotto with a magnificent altarpiece. Crucifixes of wood of the '200 and '300 perfectly preserved with beautiful colors. Large rooms with preparatory drawings and frescoes from the XV - XIV century.
There were few people, some students who copied one of the great. Which delightful atmosphere...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Picomplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    114
    47
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quiet Gallery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wonderfully displayed frescoes, and some stunning paintings. I enjoyed my early evening stroll around the gallery with hardly anyone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TessaCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

a wonderful gallery in the artists district close to the university worth a look, and close to lots of places to grab lunch

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GaryCW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Check the opening times....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

It's quite common in Europe for museums to be closed on Mondays. Most internet sites, including their own, say that this museum is open every Tuesday to Sunday, in other words every day except Monday. Consequently we visited on the first Sunday in September. Annoyingly, there was a piece of photocopied paper on the door saying in Italian that they were now closed on Sundays. The fact that this was a piece of paper suggested a temporary arrangement, but we, and several other couples who arrived while we were reading the note, never managed to get to see the fantastic artworks which are on display here! If you're looking for art, none of the above will put you off going here.. but if you are planning to visit on a Sunday, check to make sure that it will be open!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Euroamer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mostly You -- Enjoy It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

As has been the case with other reviewers, we found a nearly empty museum on our visit. The works are sumptuous, well presented, and seemed to us more accessible than one usually finds with such a high quality collection. Most certainly worth a visit if you like 14th-18th century (predominantly Italian) art. We considered it a small bonus to find a small rendering of our host city clearly showing several landmarks in the very large work pictured above this review. We would add (1) The Pinacoteca management's version of "air conditioned" may not square with yours -- we visited on a very hot day, but we'd guess the galleries to have been in the low 80s and a bit more humid than one would expected in a building guarding such presumably fragile works. (2) Although the May 2012 earthquakes have forced the closure of a wing, it appears to have affected only a relatively small part of the building as of late June. A ceiling crack was readily visible but they appeared to be addressing it and may have even repaired any damage already if that was the worst of it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Not_The_Donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinacoteca Nazionale di Bologna also viewed

 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Pinacoteca Nazionale di Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing