We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel Elite”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Elite
Ranked #48 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel Elite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

When we booked the hotel we were initially concerned that it would be quite a long walk from the centre of town, but it really wasn't at all, it was a leisurely 20 mins walk into the historic centre, with plenty of trattoria's and cafes along the way to stop for breakfast, snacks or coffee.
On our first night in the hotel, we were unfortunate enough to be in the room under the breakfast room, so were woken up quite early in the morning with constant noise from people having breakfast. We mentioned this to reception on our way out that morning and we were lucky enough to change room and even luckier to be upgraded to a suite! which we appreciated and enjoyed so much. The room we had initially was roomy and had everything we needed, but the suite was even bigger and we had a balcony to enjoy when the sun made an appearance later in the week. The rooms were clean, the staff were so helpful and friendly and we had a great time in Bologna.
Only one minor point to note about the breakfast, I wouldn't say it was bad, it just wasn't really to our taste - and I appreciate it was a typical Italian style breakfast, and maybe its just the british that struggle to eat cakes first thing in the morning. That said, the cakes were very nice! The staff in the breakfast room were so lovely and even kept yoghurts aside for us when we were late down for breakfast. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel...especially if you like cakes... ;-)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, General Manager at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear Guests
We thank you indeed for your kind review: guests’ opinions are very important to improve our service and our guests’ stay. Obviously positive opinions are cause of great satisfaction.
We really hope to welcome you back to Bologna and of course to Grand Hotel Elite.
Sincerely yours
Marco Bertuzzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    497
    224
    74
    55
See reviews for
275
362
55
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

I booked a late deal for two nights for 4 of us into a room here. We weren't expecting much due to the lateness of the booking despite good reviews, and we were blown away with the room!

We didn't just end up with a four person room, we had a 4 person suite with loads of room for the four of us - two twin rooms with excellent comfortable beds, a great bathroom, a separate shower room, a good sized lounge area, three tvs, free bathrobes and slippers...I could go on! It was also really clean, and the staff were very polite and helpful.

We didn't try the hotel bar as the one time we looked in was quite early and it was empty but it looked nice.

If there was anything I could complain about it was the lack of coffee making facilities in the room and the prices in the mini bar, but this wasn't a great loss.

Its also worth noting that its a good 25 minutes walk to the centre of town and a little longer to the better areas for bars/restaurants, though there are good buses/trams available.

All in all, this was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, January 23, 2011
Dear guest
Thank you very much indeed for you kind and nice review.
We really enjoy for your appreciation regarding your accommodation and your stay in Bologna.
We are very sorry that you think that the prices of our mini bar service are expansive; but please consider that you had three mini bars in your family suite, so that you could had your drinks or your snacks directly from the mini bar located in your own room, ready and cold: it means a great job of our staff that takes care of all rooms – mini bars, replaces drinks and snacks every day, provides to manage, cleaning and maintenance them: we feel sure that it is not expensive at all.
We provide coffee making facilities in all executive and junior suites, but you can require the service upon reservation.
We hope to welcome you back to Bologna and remains, sincerely yours.

Marco Bertuzzi – Gen. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

I've just arrived back today from a week in Bologna and am jealous of the reviews which say that they were given an enormous room with kitchen at the Grand Elite. My room was small and didn't have a kitchen which would have been really useful as I was there for 7 nights. The hotel is very clean but is extremely dated and in need of a total refurbishment. I choose it after careful consideration as being in Bologna alone for 7 nights, I thought it would be good to be able to return to my room after a days sightseeing and watch a movie. Despite advertising that a large number of pay movies were available, the pay TV channel never worked. I reported this to reception twice but it was never fixed during my stay. The 2 English TV channels were also unwatchable due to interference on the screen. The wall between my room and next doors bathroom was paper thin and I was often kept awake by people having a late night shower and using the hairdryer in the bathroom. It was so loud I felt they were in the same room as me. The American style "piano bar" was also a disappointment as it totally lacked atmosphere (didn't see any sign of a piano) and during my 7 nights, I only ever saw 2 people in the bar. I agree with the previous reviewer about the staff. The hotel had a very limited amount of tourist information and although most of the staff were very friendly, there was one receptionist (her name may be Barbara?) who had a very unfortunate manner and made me feel I was being looked down on. This hotel is ok if you are staying for a couple of nights but I wouldn't recommend any more than that which is a shame as it could be really good due it's cleanliness, excellent transport links into the centre and it's value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smcDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, General Manager at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear Madame
First of all we thank you for your review as your opinion is very important to improve our service and our guests’ stay.
It is true that the room which was given to you was a classic single room, as per your reservation: since hotel was fully booked we were not able to up grade it. It is true too that television set was not perfectly working cause of technical problem.
Furthermore we really apologize if somebody of our staff gave you the impression to be rude: we feel sure it was not her purpose as per our staff way, which takes particular care of guests’ relation.
Our American bar was regularly open all evenings, mixed with a gratifying number of clients, but piano bar service is actually only on request for gala dinners.
Anyway we are sorry indeed for any circumstance which dir not satisfy you and we will very glad for have the opportunity to welcome you back to Grand Hotel Elite and to give you lovely time and nice stay in Bologna, beyond real good impression.
Sincerely yours
Marco Bertuzzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

Handy for bus into town in a quiet location, town centre might be really noisy late on. Was given a single room by mistake, bit cell like, moved to a very spacious double, well worth the few pounds extra. Breakfast a bit limited lack of fresh fruit, loads to eat but much of the same.
Ger off airport bus at the hospital only 200m walk. Def go to Osteria del Sole(Vicolo Ranocchi) for real Italy, take your own lunch. Football is good value and tickets available. Cantina Bentivoglio recommende for jazz, food reasonable. Festival San Petronius (first w/e October) great fun.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirrieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, January 23, 2011
Dear guest
First of all we thank you for your review.
Your opinion and suggestion are very important to improve our service.
We hope to welcome you back to Bologna and remain,
sincerely yours

Marco Bertuzzi – Gen. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

We had a good stay at Hotel Grand Elite. It is not a 4 star hotel by international standards, but we had fun nonetheless.

The plus points: The rooms were huge – our double room included a living area, kitchen with breakfast bar, bedroom, cloakroom and large bathroom. Positively luxurious! Décor was dated (ceiling to floor wood) but very comfortable and clean. Service was largely good – staff spoke good English but had no knowledge of local events (e.g. there were 2 festivals on when we visited, of which staff knew nothing). Despite this, staff were friendly and accommodating (e.g. wake up calls, extra blankets).

The negatives: The hotel is a good 25 minute walk from Piazza Maggiore, in the town centre. Buses 13 and 19 leave from outside the hotel and drop you to the entrance of the Piazza, and cost 1 Euro per person (this is a 10 minute drive). Staff at hotel are not knowledgeable about tourist attractions (see above) – one tall brunette is haughty to the point of being rude, but other staff are fine. Breakfast at the hotel is poor – stale biscuits and cereal, cold flans/ quiches, overly sweet drinks and tinned fruit. Food in Bologna town is spectacular though!

Do make a point of seeing city view of Bologna from the university’s astronomy museum, walking to the Sanctuary of the Madonna di San Luca (through 666 arches, in the Bologna Hills), eating sweet bites at Gamberini, and (best of all) learning to make fresh pasta. We went to a class hosted by Martina and Francesa, near the university (you can reach them on manimpasta@hotmail.it). Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CompulsiveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, January 9, 2011
Dear guest
First of all we wish thank you for your opinion.
We are sorry indeed about the lack of tourist information you received: normally we deliver all tourist information upon check in and furthermore lobby is really plenty of brochures.
As a matter of fact Piazza Maggiore is far from the Grand Hotel Elite 2 kms, and it is necessary to consider that the historical centre of Bologna is one of the largest in Italy and it begins only 400 meter from the hotel; thanks to good public transportation service and to the characteristic porticos (if you prefer to walk), it is really easily reachable.
We really apologize if somebody of our staff gave you the impression to be rude: we guarantee about her purpose and obviously concerning staff’s guest consideration and customer care.
We are quite surprise about your breakfast opinion, which buffet offers to our clients, daily and fresh: variety of pastries and cakes, white and brown morning roles, croissants, variety of jam, honey and chocolate cream, butter, toast melba, fruits in syrup, fresh fruits (normally apples, pears, pineapples), muesli and variety of cereals, fresh yoghurt, cheese, mozzarella and tomatoes, olives and mixed pickles, cold cuts (jam, salami, “mortadella” and roast turkey), boiled and soft-boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, bacon and sausages, mustard, ketchup, fruit juices, mineral water, fresh milk, coffee, “espresso”, “cappuccino”, tea, chocolate…
Anyway we understood you enjoyed your stay in Bologna and we appreciated you recommended our hotel; we really hope to welcome you back to Grand Hotel Elite.
Marco Bertuzzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

This was a lovely hotel, friendly, spacious room, a good night sleep. It is a 25 minute walk from the main square, a trip we loved because it made us feel we walked of the spaghetti and wine of the previous night. The only pitty was the breakfast, it looks lovely and grand, but it really isn't. It is very old fashioned italian, with sweets and meat, no fruit at all, old scrambled eggs that were really not eatable. We started taking our own bananas and grapes to put in the yoghurt and ended up having fresh croissants in the coffeeshop across the road. The four stars are too much, there is no swimming pool, no fitness room, no tea or cofee making fac.in the rooms, a shower, not bath. But we did really have lovely time, and the hotel was a good place to stay,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanne34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, General Manager at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Dear Guest

We refer tor your review and we thank you because customer opinion is the best way for our to improve our service and our standard.

We are glad for giving you lovely time and enjoy you think that Grand Hotel Elite is a good place to stay.

We are quite surprise about your opinion concerning the breakfast.

Our buffet breakfast offers to our clients, daily and fresh:

variety of pastries, cakes and plum cake, white and brown morning roles, croissant, brown bread and sesame bread, variety of jam, honey and “Nutella”, butter, rusk biscuits, fruits in syrup, fresh fruits (normally apples, pears, pineapples), muesli and variety of cereals, fresh yoghurt, cheese, mozzarella and tomatoes, olives and mixed pickles, cold cuts (jam, salami, mortadella and roast turkey), boiled and soft-boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, bacon and sausages, mustard, ketchup, fruit juices, mineral water, fresh milk, coffee, espresso, cappuccino, tea, chocolate…

It certainly true that there was not bananas and grapes and we are sorry for non understand your wishes and non provided them. At same time we are sorry indeed for any kind of inconvenience.

We assume you booked an economy or a classic room, since all our executive and de luxe rooms are furnished with an American Bar inside room including coffee making machine complimentary.

Regarding bath facilities we have rooms & suites with shower, with bath and also with both of them.

We understood that our staff was not so considerable and sensitive, as normally it is, to your needs and we apologize.

We hope to welcome you back to Bologna and we guarantee all your needs will be sated.

Best Regards

Marco Bertuzzi - Gen. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Stayed for one night in the Grand Hotel Elite and was quite impressed by it. A 4 stars hotel for a 3 stars price is a reasonable location - not a bad deal at all. The rooms are good sized, great bathroom and an excellent air condition (which we needed). Breakfast was rich and the service was good as well. On the downside - the location leaves something to be desired. It's not in the historic centre as such - it will take you 20-30 minutes to get to Piazza Maggiore either by foot or by bus (the bus takes around 12 minutes but arrives every 10 minutes so around 20 minutes if you're unlucky and just missed the bus). However, when it comes to traffic - it's pretty central and you have to navigate your way through Bologna to get to the hotel. That's not a particularly pleasent experience but it's not an awful one - the directions on the hotel's website are very good and hotel directions are posted on every turn. The major problem is the parking. Sure, you can try and find a place in one of the small streets near the hotel or you do what I suspect most tourists will do and park in the hotel garage for 12-18 euros per car (which is quite a lot).
Overall, a very good hotel with a slightly problematic location. Would probably stay there again if travelling without a car.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Manager at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Dear guest
First of all we wish thank you for your kind review about Grand Hotel Elite.
As a matter of fact Piazza Maggiore is far from the Grand Hotel Elite 2 kms, but is necessary to consider that the historical centre of Bologna is one of the largest in Europe and it begins 400 meter from the hotel; anyway, thanks to good public transportation service and to the porticos (if you prefer to walk), it is really easily reachable.
Concerning the hotel garage costs, we assure you that they are fair market prices; furthermore your car is guarded and completely cover charge insurance.
Waiting to welcome you back to Bologna, we remain
Sincerely yours
Marco Bertuzzi – Gen. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#23 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#34 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#20 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Ramada Encore Bologna
#15 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Hotel Il Guercino
#29 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elite

Property: Grand Hotel Elite
Address: Via Aurelio Saffi 36, 40131 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Grand Hotel Elite for 50 years does not betray the wishes of its guests by offering even today the same refined atmosphere donated by precious materials, elegant details, the quality of living in spacious comfort rooms, unique in the functional solutions, a real its objection in the hotel reality. luxury 4 star hotel, high quality cuisine, perfect spa area for their physical fitness and meeting rooms where you can gather for the demands of work: you will find all this and more at the Grand Hotel Elite, 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Near Marconi Airport and Central Station, not far from the Stadio Dall'Ara, the Fair and the city center, this beautiful hotel suite gives you a unique stay with many plus and daily attention to your service. Inside you'll find a furnished room in vintage style, where furniture and decorative elements recall perfectly the elegance of the '70s: a luxury of the past, which the Grand Hotel Elite is brought to light, perfectly combining it with good facilities and staff always attentive to your needs. A choice of this property with the view to preserving the unique character of the structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing