We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large rooms, friendly staff, bus station is in the front”
Review of Grand Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Elite
Ranked #49 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“large rooms, friendly staff, bus station is in the front”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A big hotel, with large and clean rooms, large bathrooms, the bus stop is right in front, next to the Center (15 min by foot), friendly staff, but a 4 star hotel qinda old, for that price, it`s great!
I recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puia_Codrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    506
    230
    75
    56
See reviews for
278
376
55
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

There was nothing truly outstanding or detracting from this hotel. Reception staff were nice and helpful, the room was clean, tidy and comfortable. We had no complaints whatever and to be honest I think you would be hard pressed to find a similar hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grubs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was in Bologna on business and needed a hotel for one night close to the city centre. This hotel was excellent for the price. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms comfortable and clean and the breakfast buffet just what I needed. The hotel is only 15 minutes stroll from the centre of town and 10-15mins taxi from the airport. I did have a few issues with the wifi at the time but the staff were more than helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizz27Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

There were both a shower and and a bath in the bathroom. We had a nice view on the city (our room was on the 8th floor). We didn't hear any noise from outside.

A/C was rather weak: on the one hand, it was less noisy, but on the other hand, it was a bit too hot in the room. The hotel is not exactly in the city center, but it takes only 15 minutes to walk there.

Room Tip: State that you want a non-smoking room while booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnastasiyaZh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently stayed here for 4 nights whilst having a break in Bologna. The bus from the airport stops a short walk from the hotel (be sure to get off the bus at Ospedale Maggiori) which is very convenient if you are not a taxi user, like me. Check-in staff spoke good English and I was able to check in before lunchtime.

I was surprised at how big the room was. Having stayed in many hotels across Italy one thing that always stays the same are the small rooms. However, here the rooms are huge. There was a large King bed with two bedside tables, two comfy chairs, a coffee table, a desk with chair and a stocked minibar. There was a small entrance hall with a door so after shutting your main door, you could also shut the entrance hall door making it very quiet. There was a walk in area where the wardrobe was, and out the other side was the bathroom. Shower, but no bath. The room had a balcony which overlooked the main road and the green area opposite the hotel. I was on the 7th floor and had no real problems with noise, except for ambulance sirens - but as we were located by the hospital that was to be expected.

The hotel is not within the walls of Bologna, and it is a good 20-25 minutes walk to the main sqaure. However, it is one long road, under porticoes and lined with shops, so pleasant enough. It is also a 25 minute walk round the ring road to get to the the Central Station (train and bus, on opposite sides of road). I managed day trips by train to Rimini and Modena.

The hotel looked after my luggage when I checked out, and were generally friendly and helpful.

My only problem, if you can call it that, was the over-zealous cleaners. If I open a bar of soap one day, I don't need it taking away and replaced with a new bar the next day. I don't need my towels changed everyday, and I don't need half a bottle of shower gel changed for a full bottle. Personally I don't want my room serviced every day anyway - I tend to keep the 'do not disturb' sign on the door and remove it once every third day. However, you do not have this option at this hotel - you can only display the 'do not disturb' light when you are in the room. When you leave it turns off automatically. This is a major fault in my book and what stops me giving 5 stars.

If I come to Bologna again I would probably prefer to stay closer to the centre, but for price and comfort you can't beat this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loxias27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed there in october 2012 , rooms are very clean all staff very helpfull . every day the towels were changed , toletries where changed , rooms cleaned everyday! the rooms were very stylish and beds were very comfortable. would definatley visit this hotel again when i go back to bologna.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Fantastic value for money,had 3 nights B & B.We were in a group of 10 to attend a wedding in the area.Staff very helpful and spoke good english.Breakfast was plentiful,good variety of items and very pleasant staff.Huge room,balcony,mini bar,rooms and public areas kept very clean.One of the better hotels we haved stayed at.We did not use pool or spa so have not given ratings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collings65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#20 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#32 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Ramada Encore Bologna
#15 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Hotel Il Guercino
#30 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elite

Property: Grand Hotel Elite
Address: Via Aurelio Saffi 36, 40131 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Grand Hotel Elite for 50 years does not betray the wishes of its guests by offering even today the same refined atmosphere donated by precious materials, elegant details, the quality of living in spacious comfort rooms, unique in the functional solutions, a real its objection in the hotel reality. luxury 4 star hotel, high quality cuisine, perfect spa area for their physical fitness and meeting rooms where you can gather for the demands of work: you will find all this and more at the Grand Hotel Elite, 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Near Marconi Airport and Central Station, not far from the Stadio Dall'Ara, the Fair and the city center, this beautiful hotel suite gives you a unique stay with many plus and daily attention to your service. Inside you'll find a furnished room in vintage style, where furniture and decorative elements recall perfectly the elegance of the '70s: a luxury of the past, which the Grand Hotel Elite is brought to light, perfectly combining it with good facilities and staff always attentive to your needs. A choice of this property with the view to preserving the unique character of the structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing