We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is indeed Grand!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Elite
Ranked #48 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It is indeed Grand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My two sons and I paid a total of Euro 175.00 for three nights. The staff, very helpful and courteous. The rooms spacious, well kept and cleaned daily...and nicely air conditioned. Stayed at this hotel on three different occasions and never disappointed.
Railway station is 15 minutes walk and so is Bologna centre. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: we stayed on the fifth floor and encountered no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carmelMalta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    487
    219
    73
    53
See reviews for
262
352
54
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spend there few nights and were satisfied. Even it looks a bit old, rooms are clean. Breakfast might be approved and service could be a little bit more polite. Drink list in bar could be better and service a bit faster.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for your kind review and we enjoy for you satisfaction.

Customer opinions are very important for us to improve our services, and we will consider carefully your suggestions.

Best regards

Marco Bertuzzi - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

It's a bit far to get to from the station so taking a taxi is recommended. The lobby is small but the most stylish i've seen compared to the other hotels i've stayed in. The elevator is also small but the rooms are big especially for 2 people. Ammenities are well stocked, they even have bath salts! It's just weird how the shower is placed outside the bathroom. For the price, this is a good and comfy choice, worth the money.

Room Tip: Make your requests known to the receptionist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorbananacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much indeed!

Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Elite and staying with us.

Thank you for your nice review and for your precious time spent for it.

We hope to welcome you back to Bologna as soon.

Best regards

Marco Bertuzzi – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just returned from Bologna where we spent five nights at the Grand Hotel Elite. I thought that it was value for money and although everywhere is a little dark you get what you pay for and if you wany luxury five star go somewhere else. I would definitely recommend the hotel. Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed and good size bathroom. Clean towels evey day. Very good!!The staff were efficient, helpful and friendly and the breakfast was fine. So much choice!! So if you do not mind a twenty minute walk to the centre of Bologna this is the one for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungryman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I paid €80 for a single room, single night. The room was tiny for a 4-star hotel, and I had to pay extra to use the wireless internet. Though everything was clean, the bathroom was tiny, you have the bidet touching your knees if you sit on the toilet..

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sait S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Mr. Sait

Thank you indeed for staying at the Grand Hotel Elite and for your kind review.

We are sorry for your non satisfaction, but we think you should consider the fact that you booked an economy single room, which rate was low nevertheless the booking was in an high season period and precisely because it was a low coast rate the wi-fi cannot be included.

As you can easily check on ore web site a great number of room & suite typology as well different prices & packages are available: we feel sure that you will find the best solution for you needs and the right price.

Best regards

Marco Bertuzzi – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

once maybe a luxury hotel, you can see the signs of a large beautiful hotel in the 70's. now everything it's old with a nice patina. the rooms are great with big comfortable beds and huge bathrooms.

and at 60 euros per night it was a bargain! bus station in front of the hotel. 10 min walking to the city center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madalinsimion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We wish thank you for your positive review.

We hope to welcome you back to Bologna as soon.

Best Regards

Marco Bertuzzi – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfries
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Having read all the reviews on this hotel, we thought we would try it out for a short trip to this lovely city. Firstly, I have to say that for the money, this hotel is ok---you get what you pay for! Yes it is a bit dated, but the rooms are spacious and clean. My one BIG complaint is the breakfast---plenty people have commented on the poor quality of this, and from first hand experience---it is! All of the 'hot' food is freezing, the toaster doesn't work and the bread is old and stale! I notice that in response to our reviewer's remarks, the manager replies by listing every item on offer----that is not a satisfactory response! Deal with the quality of what is on offer!
Also, with regard to the staff the female reception staff were unfriendly and grudging to help. The male staff. however. were very pleasant.
Note to Manager---you need to listen more to what your customers are saying!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Customer

Firstly we wish thank you for had choose Grand Hotel Elite and for the time you dedicated it.

We really apologize for any inconvenience and disservice you had during your stay.

Please trust us: we listen carefully every customer's word in order to improve our standard and we assure you that we will intensify further the quality control.

We hope to welcome you back in Bologna and remains,

Sincerely yours

Marco Bertuzzi - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#36 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#23 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Ramada Encore Bologna
#15 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Hotel Il Guercino
#29 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elite

Property: Grand Hotel Elite
Address: Via Aurelio Saffi 36, 40131 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Grand Hotel Elite for 50 years does not betray the wishes of its guests by offering even today the same refined atmosphere donated by precious materials, elegant details, the quality of living in spacious comfort rooms, unique in the functional solutions, a real its objection in the hotel reality. luxury 4 star hotel, high quality cuisine, perfect spa area for their physical fitness and meeting rooms where you can gather for the demands of work: you will find all this and more at the Grand Hotel Elite, 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Near Marconi Airport and Central Station, not far from the Stadio Dall'Ara, the Fair and the city center, this beautiful hotel suite gives you a unique stay with many plus and daily attention to your service. Inside you'll find a furnished room in vintage style, where furniture and decorative elements recall perfectly the elegance of the '70s: a luxury of the past, which the Grand Hotel Elite is brought to light, perfectly combining it with good facilities and staff always attentive to your needs. A choice of this property with the view to preserving the unique character of the structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing