We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel fine---breakfast awful!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Elite
Ranked #48 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
dumfries
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hotel fine---breakfast awful!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Having read all the reviews on this hotel, we thought we would try it out for a short trip to this lovely city. Firstly, I have to say that for the money, this hotel is ok---you get what you pay for! Yes it is a bit dated, but the rooms are spacious and clean. My one BIG complaint is the breakfast---plenty people have commented on the poor quality of this, and from first hand experience---it is! All of the 'hot' food is freezing, the toaster doesn't work and the bread is old and stale! I notice that in response to our reviewer's remarks, the manager replies by listing every item on offer----that is not a satisfactory response! Deal with the quality of what is on offer!
Also, with regard to the staff the female reception staff were unfriendly and grudging to help. The male staff. however. were very pleasant.
Note to Manager---you need to listen more to what your customers are saying!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Customer

Firstly we wish thank you for had choose Grand Hotel Elite and for the time you dedicated it.

We really apologize for any inconvenience and disservice you had during your stay.

Please trust us: we listen carefully every customer's word in order to improve our standard and we assure you that we will intensify further the quality control.

We hope to welcome you back in Bologna and remains,

Sincerely yours

Marco Bertuzzi - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    487
    219
    73
    53
See reviews for
262
352
54
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The staff was kind and helpful, the room was spacious, clean and quiet, the air-conditioning worked properly, the location of the hotel is very convenient: in front of the bus-stop -buses to the centre run every minute- and just a 20-minute walk from piazza Maggiore. There is a trattoria across the street - try it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sienanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Madame

We wish thank you for have choose the Grand Hotel Elite and for the nice review posted.

We really hope to welcome you back to Bologna.

Best regards

Marco Bertuzzi – Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place looks like frozen in the 80's, everything looks old but classy anyway, nothing is left to chance. At my arrival i've been attended by the staff which looked professional and kind, the rooms at the 8th floor was small but nice and clean even if the furniture, TV and all looked VERY old. The position is OK since it's very close to the main center of Bologna.
Breakfast was very good with a huge selection of food.
WIFI is charged and very expensive, this makes this hotel to lose some points, but the overall price was i think fair even if i booked 1 year ago so i don't really know about the regular fares.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Dr. Gudo

We thank you for staying at the Grand Hotel Elite and for your kind review.

We inform you that the property is planning the complete restyling; furthermore a new fitness area will be opened in the coming days and the whole TV system will be changed shortly.

WIFI is not complimentary cause of the low pricing policy we are offering.

Customer suggestions are very important to improve our service and our standard: obviously we will consider yours.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is exactly what you see on the internet. Big rooms, wood everywhere... We booked a 4 bed room, which was a double bed and a double sofa. It was clean, sheets and towels changed daily, the stuff very friendly and helpful. They gave us map, helped us with buses and called a taxi to the airport with 16 euro fixed price.
The only negative for me was the area. Not bad, just outside the city walls,15 minute walk from the main square, but I didn't feel exactly safe returning on foot after sunset. There were many gambling stores around and also gold exchange shops and pawnshops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xrysafro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment and for the precious time you spent.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated hotel service and staff assistance.
Concerning area it is normally really quite safe and we feel sure you had any inconvenience.

Best Regards

Marco Bertuzzi – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Comfortable, spacious and clean room and bathroom. Bed and linens were fine.

Parking garage was 12 Euros per day! And they charged 6 Euros for 5 hours of wifi, which was spotty at best, and it was difficult to ensure that you were signing out (using an iPad or iPhone). The staff became rather impatient with us as we kept asking them to verify we were actually signed out, but we found that when we thought we were signed out, we weren't. This whole Internet fiasco ate up most of our allotted time ..... and patience.

We thought the restaurant staff was not very friendly, but the breakfast layout was amazingly complete and delicious.

A good location for hopping onto the city bus to go into town center. There were also some stores nearby for necessities.

We got a strong smell of cigarette smoke, apparently from a nearby room, whenever the a/c kicked on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Mrs Sarah

Thank you for staying at Grand Hotel Elite and for the precious time spent for your kind review.

We feel sure you will agree that cause of low cost “Bed and Breakfast” rate, parking garage and Wi-Fi cannot be complimentary: we wish to point out that you can find “on line” special packages including several services or offering special prices.

Always with respect to Wi-Fi it is really not difficult to ensure that you are signed out, but especially the system automatically sign you out if you are not using it for some minutes; anyway we always checked your log out was completed; nevertheless a six hours Wi-Fi card was offered; we sincerely apologize if we gave the impression of being impatient, as we apologize for any further inconvenience you had during your stay.

We really hope to welcome you back to Bologna.

Best Regards.

Marco Bertuzzi - Htl Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The rooms are a nice size. The service was outstanding. We were greeted at our car by a young, English-speaking bellman. He politely directed us to the front desk and thankfully assisted with our luggage. Check-in was a breeze. The bellman took our bags to our room, while we parked our car. The room was large and modern with nice wood finishes, a mini-bar fridge, cocktail table with chairs, walk-in closet, and shuttered windows. The front desk staff had the professionalism of the very best hotels- yet they were warm and approachable. The Slovakian bellman was particularly eager to help when we inquired about directions to a restaurant. He jumped on an open computer to show us a Google map. The hotel is located just outside the central "ring" of Bologna, and easy walk into the bustling center, not too far from the airport.
Cons: overpriced minibar items; shutters were onerous to open

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawyerMotherOfTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind and nice review.


We really enjoy you appreciated your accommodation, the hotel service and the staff assistance.

Best Regards

Marco Bertuzzi – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent 5 nights in september at Grand Hotel Elite and it was a perfect stay. We had a double standard room wich later was uprgaded to junior suite.Oh boy, just wait and see that, it was bigger than my own appartment. So, clean large rooms, perfect location, close to everything(city center, airport, railway station), the staff is super friendly, they will help you with everything, including maps, etc.
Maybe the prices in the restaurant were a little higher, but there are so many choices nearby where you can have delicious sandwiches, pizza or expresso.
All in one, an excellent hotel for exploring Bologna, an ideal base city for visiting Florence, Ferrara or Venice.
Would definetly recomend and maybe even return one day.

Room Tip: Choose size, go for Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmin_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your positive comment.
We are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially the service you received from the Staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again (just trust us: taste our excellent cuisine!)
Best Regards
Marco Bertuzzi – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#36 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#23 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Ramada Encore Bologna
#15 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Hotel Il Guercino
#29 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elite

Property: Grand Hotel Elite
Address: Via Aurelio Saffi 36, 40131 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Grand Hotel Elite for 50 years does not betray the wishes of its guests by offering even today the same refined atmosphere donated by precious materials, elegant details, the quality of living in spacious comfort rooms, unique in the functional solutions, a real its objection in the hotel reality. luxury 4 star hotel, high quality cuisine, perfect spa area for their physical fitness and meeting rooms where you can gather for the demands of work: you will find all this and more at the Grand Hotel Elite, 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Near Marconi Airport and Central Station, not far from the Stadio Dall'Ara, the Fair and the city center, this beautiful hotel suite gives you a unique stay with many plus and daily attention to your service. Inside you'll find a furnished room in vintage style, where furniture and decorative elements recall perfectly the elegance of the '70s: a luxury of the past, which the Grand Hotel Elite is brought to light, perfectly combining it with good facilities and staff always attentive to your needs. A choice of this property with the view to preserving the unique character of the structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing