We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, but Internet will drive you crazy!”
Review of Grand Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Elite
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Comfortable, spacious and clean room and bathroom. Bed and linens were fine.

Parking garage was 12 Euros per day! And they charged 6 Euros for 5 hours of wifi, which was spotty at best, and it was difficult to ensure that you were signing out (using an iPad or iPhone). The staff became rather impatient with us as we kept asking them to verify we were actually signed out, but we found that when we thought we were signed out, we weren't. This whole Internet fiasco ate up most of our allotted time ..... and patience.

We thought the restaurant staff was not very friendly, but the breakfast layout was amazingly complete and delicious.

A good location for hopping onto the city bus to go into town center. There were also some stores nearby for necessities.

We got a strong smell of cigarette smoke, apparently from a nearby room, whenever the a/c kicked on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Mrs Sarah

Thank you for staying at Grand Hotel Elite and for the precious time spent for your kind review.

We feel sure you will agree that cause of low cost “Bed and Breakfast” rate, parking garage and Wi-Fi cannot be complimentary: we wish to point out that you can find “on line” special packages including several services or offering special prices.

Always with respect to Wi-Fi it is really not difficult to ensure that you are signed out, but especially the system automatically sign you out if you are not using it for some minutes; anyway we always checked your log out was completed; nevertheless a six hours Wi-Fi card was offered; we sincerely apologize if we gave the impression of being impatient, as we apologize for any further inconvenience you had during your stay.

We really hope to welcome you back to Bologna.

Best Regards.

Marco Bertuzzi - Htl Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

The rooms are a nice size. The service was outstanding. We were greeted at our car by a young, English-speaking bellman. He politely directed us to the front desk and thankfully assisted with our luggage. Check-in was a breeze. The bellman took our bags to our room, while we parked our car. The room was large and modern with nice wood finishes, a mini-bar fridge, cocktail table with chairs, walk-in closet, and shuttered windows. The front desk staff had the professionalism of the very best hotels- yet they were warm and approachable. The Slovakian bellman was particularly eager to help when we inquired about directions to a restaurant. He jumped on an open computer to show us a Google map. The hotel is located just outside the central "ring" of Bologna, and easy walk into the bustling center, not too far from the airport.
Cons: overpriced minibar items; shutters were onerous to open

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LawyerMotherOfTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind and nice review.


We really enjoy you appreciated your accommodation, the hotel service and the staff assistance.

Best Regards

Marco Bertuzzi – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent 5 nights in september at Grand Hotel Elite and it was a perfect stay. We had a double standard room wich later was uprgaded to junior suite.Oh boy, just wait and see that, it was bigger than my own appartment. So, clean large rooms, perfect location, close to everything(city center, airport, railway station), the staff is super friendly, they will help you with everything, including maps, etc.
Maybe the prices in the restaurant were a little higher, but there are so many choices nearby where you can have delicious sandwiches, pizza or expresso.
All in one, an excellent hotel for exploring Bologna, an ideal base city for visiting Florence, Ferrara or Venice.
Would definetly recomend and maybe even return one day.

Room Tip: Choose size, go for Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmin_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your positive comment.
We are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially the service you received from the Staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again (just trust us: taste our excellent cuisine!)
Best Regards
Marco Bertuzzi – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

A 3 star hotel masquerading as a 4 star.
We stayed there because BA recommend it but it was very disappointing. Do not be misled by the talk of large rooms; this is true but some are of average size and the depressingly dark decor which is all over the hotel makes you feel hemmed in. We paid extra to upgrade. Location is not good - on a busy main road and a lengthy walk to the central square which is where the action begins.
Breakfast is appalling; hot food is cold, fried eggs have the look of being several days old, no fresh fruit other than the occasional apple. We didn't feel any incentive to have dinner there.
On Fridays/ Saturdays/Sundays the maids start to clean your room while you breakfast which is a bit of a nuisance when you get back to the room.
TV is only Italian programmes and reception was dire.
The staff are all excellent but the manager is conspicuous by his/her absence. I recommend you try the newish NH.

Room Tip: Negotiate a mini suite before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Mr. Robin

First of all we thank you for staying at Grand Hotel Elite and for the time you dedicated it; we also wish thank BA for its recommendations.

Grand Hotel Elite standard room size is of about 33 sq. m. and your original reservation was for this room type.
You inquired for superior typology and you choose a Junior Suite (45 sq. m., including living area and American Bar) paying only € 20.00 per night as supplement. The style of the hotel is still the original since 70th years, but the owner is projecting the full restyling and some works are now in progress: for instance the new fitness area will be ready within October 2012.

Grand Hotel Elite is located on one of the most important and traffic street of Bologna, Via Saffi which is the ancient Emilia Road, built by Romans before Christ’s; only if you open the room windows you can hear the street noises: it means that the hotel is perfectly under proofed. As a matter of fact Piazza Maggiore is far from the Grand Hotel Elite 2 Kms, and it is necessary to consider that the historical centre of Bologna is one of the largest in Italy and it begins only 400 meters from the hotel; thanks to good public transportation service and to the characteristic porticos (if you prefer to walk), it is really easily reachable.

Concerning breakfast our buffet offers to our clients, daily and absolutely fresh:
variety of pastries, white morning roles, croissant, brown bread and sesame bread, variety of jam, honey and “Nutella”, butter, rusk biscuits, fruits in syrup, fresh fruits (normally apples, pears and pineapples), muesli and variety of cereals, fresh yoghurt, cheese, mozzarella and tomatoes, olives and mixed pickles, cold cuts (jam, salami, mortadella and roast turkey), boiled and soft-boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, bacon and sausages, fruit juices, mineral water, fresh milk, coffee, espresso, cappuccino, tea, chocolate… We really apologize for any lack or bad service you received and we assure you that we consider carefully your precious remarks.

Housekeeping start at same time every day of the week the cleaning service: we are sorry for the Made which thought you were out and not coming back in room: we will attend more and more attention to avoid any nuisance.

Restaurant Cordon Bleu was closed for holiday during your stay, was not it?

We sincerely had some troubles with satellite channels and still are working for definitive TV system, hoping to solve any problem soon.

We are indeed proud for our Staff which professionalism is almost entirely due to our company training and to own Staff efforts!

Really you did not miss any peculiar and the Manager could not escape to your axe: please trust that as he was conspicuous by his absence he will assume his conspicuous responsibility!

Finally: is quite not fine to advice NH (excellent Hotel!) on Grand Hotel Elite pages, and perhaps it is not even congruous with Trip Advisor Style: you should post a review about it.

Sincerely yours

Marco Bertuzzi – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a find. Got a great deal on booking.com. We had a quad room, which had two double beds, a huge bathroom, a kitchen area with fridge and 2 hot rings and even a balcony overlooking the city. The staff were very friendly. Just be careful if you park on the road outside, as we did and got towed for being too near the bust stop.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hextablechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind review; we are really glad you appreciated our home and our services.

We apologize since you got towed: next time, in order to avoid it, consider the possibility to park in our garage.

We hope to welcome you soon back to Bologna.

Best Regards

Marco Bertuzzi – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed a long weekend break at the Grand Holtel Elite. Our room was very comfy and totally immaculate. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, especially Farouk the Head Waiter at Breakfast and Inga at Reception. It was incredibly hot and humid in Bologna in August, so our air-conditioned room was ideal for an afternoon siesta, before going back to the city-centre for a meal at one of the excellent restaurants. We were sorry to leave, especially as we had to fly back with Ryanair who were incredibly strict over not allowing ladies' handbags and carrier-bags of tempting Italian bargains on board. BEWARE of impulse buys unless you have space in your cabin luggage.

TOP TIPS - There are two buses which run into the city-centre from a stop near the Hotel. It's a ten minute ride and often the friendly Italian passengers would strike up a conversation. Although we tried to pay the driver, he wouldn't accept any payment, so we travelled free.

When you want to go back to the airport, get a voucher from Reception which guaranteees that a taxi won't cost more than 15 euros. The airport bus costs 12 euros and our taxi on our last day was only 13, and was much more comfy than the bus - the driver also handled our bags, which saved our energies.

Bologna seems to close down during mid-August due to the heat. That meant that the 100 bed hotel was very quiet and we received superb attention from everyone there. The tempting shops that remained open in town all seemed to be having sales, so there were some great bargains to be had!

We'd definitely go back, but probably not in August and definitely not with Ryanair via Stansted.

Why not give it a go?

Room Tip: Although our room faced the main busy street, it had double glazing, a patio door and electric retra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaquesdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The suite was ver small and stinky. The bathroom was very stinky. The service was good . Breakfast was very poor there wasn't any skimmed or soya milk. The lift was very stinky and dirty ... We were the only ones in the hotel and there wasn't any wifi

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#21 of 102 in Bologna
1,994 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#28 of 102 in Bologna
286 reviews
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#20 of 102 in Bologna
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amadeus Hotel
#44 of 102 in Bologna
688 reviews
Ramada Encore Bologna
#16 of 102 in Bologna
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elite

Address: Via Aurelio Saffi 36, 40131 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Bologna
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $17 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Grand Hotel Elite for 50 years does not betray the wishes of its guests by offering even today the same refined atmosphere donated by precious materials, elegant details, the quality of living in spacious comfort rooms, unique in the functional solutions, a real its objection in the hotel reality. luxury 4 star hotel, high quality cuisine, perfect spa area for their physical fitness and meeting rooms where you can gather for the demands of work: you will find all this and more at the Grand Hotel Elite, 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Near Marconi Airport and Central Station, not far from the Stadio Dall'Ara, the Fair and the city center, this beautiful hotel suite gives you a unique stay with many plus and daily attention to your service. Inside you'll find a furnished room in vintage style, where furniture and decorative elements recall perfectly the elegance of the '70s: a luxury of the past, which the Grand Hotel Elite is brought to light, perfectly combining it with good facilities and staff always attentive to your needs. A choice of this property with the view to preserving the unique character of the structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing