We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, service, rooms and breakfast”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
“excellent location, service, rooms and breakfast”
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We arrived in Bologna at the begining of our trip to Italy and it was an excellent first impression! Great design, the very modern design elements in the historical building were nicely executed. The staff was very helpful and made us restaurant reservations at two of the best restauants I have eaten at giving us detailed directiions on how to get there. The room we had was a deluxe double and it was very nice and very quiet with a great shower. It was one of the few rooms that we had in Italy that had a regular bed not two twins pushed together. The breakfast was additional but really worth it, everything was beautifully executed with wonderful fruit and pastries. We look forward to returning to Bologna and staying for a longer period of time at this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LL-C-WM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    490
    101
    21
    7
See reviews for
252
565
118
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We found the hotel to be clean & modern - facilities were good and breakfast plentiful. Waiter very helpful. The hotel is convenient for the station, which is not the best of areas late at night. Hotel is about 200 meters from piaza magiore. Well worth staying there rather than some of the more expensive and superior hotels in the area. A really good value hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssparkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Very friendly and helpful staff, central location on main street 5 mins from train station, Rooms are a bit noisy but that is to be expected in a city centre location

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cormaccav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
Dear Guest,

I'm happy you had good time in our town and you carry good memories also of your stay with us, anytime you decide to come back we will be at your disposal and we will arrange for a room to the backside of hotel.
best regards,

Claudio Salvatore - manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed at hotel Metropolitan for three days.

The hotel is well located, in a little, quiet street, and very near all the shop, restaurants, main attractions. It is an easy walk from the main train station - took us about 15 minutes (I strongly object to taking taxis in Italy). The hotel is five to ten minutes walk to the center of the city.

The hotel staff were very friendly and very helpful. On arrival, before actually taking the room, the staff were willing to show me the room. A staff member even walked me to their nearby, self contained apartments which are located 5 minutes from the main hotel (I was unsure whether to take a hotel room or their very modern, self contained apartments. I went for the quainter hotel room). The staff were also very helpful in recommending good restaurants etc.

We were happy with the room, although smallish our intention was not to spend time in the room but to be out and about exploring the amazing city of Bologna. Our room was quiet and the window opened out with a view over the rooftops and balconies of nearby apartments (quite pretty). The room was smallish with old fashioned decor, Queen bed which was comfortable, bed side tables, the wardrobe doors did not open and close properly, desk with TV. The bathroom (shower, no bath) was clean & OK size with a large window.

Breakfast was held in their beautiful, more recently decorated breakfast room. It was a good breakfast; fresh fruits, pastries, desserts, cold meats, cheeses, fruit juices and they make you tea or coffee (espresso, caffe latte etc).

We were very happy with our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRLoveTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Myself, family & friends stayed in this hotel for three nights and i have to say from start to finish the hospitality was excellent. When i contacted the hotel initially for some recommendations of restaurants, walking/food tours, spa they could not have been more helpful. The hotel is located right in the centre of Bologna beside everything & there was a lovely little wine bar on the side street to which again the people where so nice great for a drink before dinner. The hotel was very clean, very comfortable and had a great breakfast but most of all the team running the hotel where excellent! It is a great base for exploring Bologna and all those lovely sights including the market area, old university area., etc., There is a beautiful Spa 30/40mins outside Bologna - Well worth the trip too!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbaydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear Guest, I thank you for your words of appreciation.
We are all doing our best to make you feel confortable trying to give you what we would like to find in an hotel when travelling. Anytime you decide to come back to see Bologna you will be our preferred Guests.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Location is great, hotel is clean and well furnished, breakfast is good but unfortunately hotel is not only this. First of all single rooms are I think illegal, I saw 2 of them and they were about 2.5 x 2.7 m which is less than the 9 sqm required by the italian law- also they are "wall view". Second when I got there I was offered and showed a double room at 30euros more than the single I reserved (extremely small like I said) and they worked to convince me like in a street negotiation (never saw something like this!). Third I got into the room, the lock doesn't work, they are sorry at first then they realize "it's the way it should be", I said ok "let me see another room" and in the other room all of a sudden... it worked the way it should! (tricky again!). Fourth I moved into the other room but ... it's even smaller and a little bit stinky for the dripping water and exhaust air coming out from the pipes and vents coming into the small technical atrium. Fifth: temperature from heating was very high - at least 24 °C. Overall I'm sorry I wouldn't recommend this hotel, mainly because of the single rooms and the service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor traveller
Thanks for your complain this is the best way to improve our services.
We regret because maybe you don't understood when our staff at check in has offered you a largest room instead of the single has been reserved, they whose duty to endeavour continuosly to please our guests
Our single rooms are small but not illegal as you has wrote (should be better to inform before you post these false declaration) and would be better to take in consideration the price you paid, with a little difference, very small difference our staff has offered you a larger double room. Maybe this misunderstanding has been significant for the satisfaction of your stay. Many thanks for your compliments about our location, cleaning services and breakfast. We hope we have made our position quite clear.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2010

-Room: clean, rather small but nice. Very nice bathroom with "waterfall" shower. Excellent acoustic isolation
-Breakfast: extremely friendly service, nice choice of food
-Situation: could not be better
-Staff: very helpful and friendly. Courteous.

conclusion: I would recommend this hotel toi everyone staying in Bologna.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piet_vanhoenacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear Guest
thanks for your review that make the staff proud of what they are doing.
I'm sure that we will be able to suggest you another beautiful Spa nearby hotel instead of long trip you has done last time....
we will send personally your appreciation to the owner of the wine bar, I think that he has a beautiful reminder of you and your friends.
My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing