We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 202”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A quirky little stay in this very close to the centre small hotel. When we arrived our rooms were not ready, but we did eventually check in to room 202.

There is no view and the room is fairly basic. Using the free WIFI was annoying as you seemed to have to 'log in' every time. The room standard looked better on the internet photos than the actual rooms.

I enjoyed breakfast at the hotel but did find it a little cramped for space.

The hotel did make some great recommendations for dinners!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malachi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Mr Williams,
Thanks for your compliments about the staff, they told me they has been at your disposal with pleasure about all the requests you made during your stay.
Of course, as in all the world, our rooms are completely cleaned and hygienized at 02.00 pm, not at 11.00 am when you arrived, I'm very sorrow about you complain.
Accept my apologies about the view in the room but we are in the hearth of the city, an historical city with many buildings nearby.
The room 202 is equipped with a small balcony in the small quiet street, it's a pity that you haven't saw it.
Just for your information all the rooms are exactly as you can see in our website, in our blog, facebook, Pinterest, Flickr etc., of course with some differences , the "superiors" and the "jr suites" are not like the "standard double room" as you reserved, and the differences are not just for the rate you payed, very cheap in effect, maybe you expectation was for a jr.suite at the cost of "standard room" this it's not possible, do you agree?
Regarding the wifi, maybe you has logged in your name for 30 minutes but if you logged in for 24 hours you can navigate for 24 hours, of course free of charge.
We hope to have a pleasure to welcoming you in another occasion, but please inform us about your arrival time.
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We only stayed here one night, arrived late and left early. The room was adequate, clean & comfortable and thats all we were really looking for. Located right in the middle of town, walking distance to the train station. The price didn't include breakfast but there are so many places to grab a bite to eat in Bologna you might actually be better going somewhere else. It was an average inner city hotel in every way. Nothing special but nothing bad. Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0hnnyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a treat, located in a quiet alleyway right off the main walkway in Bologna! Efficient and friendly staff , always great suggestions for restaurants all within walking distance. We had a very comfortable room/
Italian Modern, great bathroom and views to a quiet courtyard that made
us feel like we lived there. The breakfast was an excellent way to start off the day and meet other travelers! We were very pleased, and as we had flown in,the trip from the airport by taxi was about 7-8 minutes and after that we never needed a car during our entire stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were comfortably ensconsed in the Metropolitan for 2 nights, on our first trip to Bologna. The rooms was not large, but perfectly comfortable, and so well located for our purposes. We parked and never moved the car until we left, which was great. Bologna such a nice place to explore on foot. Service was very friendly and helpful, and quiet enough for us on a busy weekend visit. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay again given a chance to visit lovely Bologna again. It is a little difficult to find, but with gps we got close, then with the help of a kind local woman, found the little alleyway entrance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peachesrsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two days in mid September. We were traveling by train from Rome and I had googled walking directions from the train station. While it was a fairly easy walk (10 - 15 minutes), even with luggage, the walking directions take you thru some back streets that may make you wonder what is in store for you. Once you get there you will realize that there is a much easier path to the hotel. The Metropolitan has relatively small rooms but normal for European hotels but every thing is ultra modern. The hotel is a great place go visit old Bologna. If breakfast isn't included in you purchase I will warn you that the want 15 euros per person for it. But, there are plenty of great places literally minutes away to get a cappuccino and pain au chocolate.There are two english language channels available on the TV - BBC World and Fox News (yuck for me but some may like that). The staff can give great restaurant recommendations. We had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Bologna to the Metropolitan and were immediately surprised and impressed with the standard of the room. There was only a small window into facing buildings so the room was quite dark, but it was also raining for one day of our stay so didn't make too much of a difference.
The hotel was central to train station and sights, and the hotel staff were very helpful making reservations (and also a cancellation) for restaurants on our behalf. The L'Occitane products were also a nice touch in the bathroom.
Breakfast wasn't included however we opted for the breakfast as my partner was unwell. The 12 euro breakfast was very generous and had some lovely treats.
On one particular day we stayed in the room while my partner recovered from a virus. We left for an hour for dinner and when we returned our room had been turned over. Very impressive and efficient service.
I'd definitely recommend this hotel and be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesslaing85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a grat stay! They upgraded our room to a junior suite for a minimal fee as it was our honeymoon. They even gave us a free bottle of wine. The staff were extremely friendly, especially the man at the reception and Michael, the concierge. The room was very beautiful and spacious, largest room we stayed in on our Italian trip. The water wasnt warm enough, so the shower wasnt great. Tv didnt work, but we didnt phone reception, so they would have fixed it anyway. Breakfast was nice with a lot of options.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade if they give it to you. They give you the option of seeing the other room, and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantellevdbijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,283 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,568 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 102 in Bologna
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
934 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $126 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing