We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here just for 1 night - the lady on reception with the curly hair was so welcoming and helpful when I checked in. The hotel is modern and clean and my room was great, as was the large, lovely bathroom. Nice to have a kettle and tea/coffee in the room too, though lacked a view, not that it mattered for my short stay. Breakfast was excellent-a good variety, well presented and another smily member of staff. I believe Theo's am outside courtyard too, although I didn't have time to see. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is in a great location on a quiet pedestrian street just off the main shopping street in Bologna. The staff are excellent, very welcoming and friendly. The hotel decor is bright, light and modern. The room was quiet, comfortable and very clean. It is also very good value for money. I had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dominique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Because they have no facilities like a conferenceroom, they can't have 4 stars.
But all the rest is at least 4-star!!
The hotel is located very close to one of the major roads (pedestrian zone), and only 500 meter from the central Piazza Maggiore.
The entrance is nice designed and the welcoming was fantastic. The people are really very helpful.
Nice decorated breakfast-room and on the breakfast-buffet you can find everything that you need.
We have chosen for an upgrade to a junior-suite (only 40 € extra/night). There are 4 very quiet, nice furnitured and spacious suites with some design-touches, open rainshower etc...around a small roofgarden with olives trees.
You easily can spend 2 full days around in the old town, and it is better to stay 3 nights, so you can tast the amazing Italian food they serve you there. Where else in the world you can eat better "Spaghetti Bolognaise" than in Bologna you guess??
And a great "pied-à-terre" in this city is this hotel. Some foodsteps away from the historic buildings and shops.
More than worth the money!! Deserve at least 4 stars!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guyvangent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in August. Great location, just off the main covered walk into the central piazza. The staff were great with giving us pointers on locations of things to see and also sorting out where to park our hire car etc.. The girl who works in the breakfast area is great too - very friendly and chatty. The breakfast itself was good too. Some nice additional touches to the usual fare that you'd expect.

There is room for improvement going forward: the bathroom was quite dated and not in keeping with the modern image portrayed, particularly the shower cubicle which was so small I could hardly move (and Im skinny). Perhaps some bathrooms have been updated already - I don't know. Also, and it sounds trivial but were woken up several times by people slamming their doors which made things in our room shake. It's a small building with heavy doors so I know there isn't a huge amount could be done but it would be worth reminding guests to be courteous as it spoilt a couple of nights sleep for us.

Overall very good. With a better bathroom, I wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Master_Betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We loved this hotel in the heart of the city. It was very clean and well maintained. We had a beautiful room with a small balcony which was modern. The staff are very helpful because we came on a day where they closed the streets and had to park a couple of blocks away. The staff came with us to get our vehicle so...when using GPS park as close as you can and walk (take the advice GUYS!!!) GPS will NOT get you there. For the price we got a Great deal, the hotel is worth much more if you upgrade to the really nice rooms which isn't expensive. We give this hotel a 10.

Room Tip: I would totally recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolet422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Bologna in mid August is hot and stuffy - and the Metropolitan hotel was a lovely quiet, cool respite. I had booked 2 standard room - one for our son and the other for the two of us. Our room at the back was reasonable size , recently renovated and minimalist but very comfortable- even a kettle and coffee/tea, which is unusual in Europe. The air conditioning was quiet and effective , comfortable bed and free wifi. The bathroom was spotless but unfortunately there was a nasty smell from a drain that could not be sorted out as all the workmen are on holiday in August. The other room was very small - fine for an overnight stay and if you do not spend much time in the hotel - which was my son's case anyway - but opt for a room at the back if you like a quiet room, not at the side. The from rooms overlook the pedestrian alley and a nearby bar, which could be a problem from noise. On the way back, we were given a superior room - at the back, quiet and in fact is a little suite which is more traditional styled. It had a lovely bathroom with original fixtures., so well worth paying a bit extra for if you are spending a few nights in town.
Breakfast was very good, a range of fruit, pasties, cereals. jogurts , etc. The staff were helpful when I called to book and in person when we arrived or had any questions.
The hotel has an arrangement with a secure parking garage - which is important if you are travelling by car as parking is not easy in the centre of town.
Great value- certainly at this time of year and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, try to avoid a room at the side as they are smaller. Worth upgradin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafiki99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at the sister accommodations - Met apartments for three months April- Jul 2013. Mr Claudio runs his staff to perfection. clean, polite, respectful and oriented to the customer. The entire building was under surveillance, so the thought of not being " watched" was never an issue. As much as I felt safe, it came at a high price only to find out later from locals. The few but big complaint I have was The apartments NOT Hotel Internet service is not equipped for true business workers. I had to continue to sign on the server, lost a lot of time. The heat was turned off for 45 days and it was cold , a few days it hailed, i was told the city turns of the heat so I was given a blanket - I still froze. Lastly, this is my pet peeve, have extra towels. When I asked I was given however , I think the maids might be on a mission to save on laundry. Overall , beautiful , efficient , clean and high service of client services. Mr Claudio I applaud you for your attention for detail. Thank you

Room Tip: Apartment fourth floor because these clients are staying longer than a few days. Constant calmness i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamezcua12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,285 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,569 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 102 in Bologna
1,495 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $127 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing