We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil cool oasis in the heart of Bologna”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Bologna in mid August is hot and stuffy - and the Metropolitan hotel was a lovely quiet, cool respite. I had booked 2 standard room - one for our son and the other for the two of us. Our room at the back was reasonable size , recently renovated and minimalist but very comfortable- even a kettle and coffee/tea, which is unusual in Europe. The air conditioning was quiet and effective , comfortable bed and free wifi. The bathroom was spotless but unfortunately there was a nasty smell from a drain that could not be sorted out as all the workmen are on holiday in August. The other room was very small - fine for an overnight stay and if you do not spend much time in the hotel - which was my son's case anyway - but opt for a room at the back if you like a quiet room, not at the side. The from rooms overlook the pedestrian alley and a nearby bar, which could be a problem from noise. On the way back, we were given a superior room - at the back, quiet and in fact is a little suite which is more traditional styled. It had a lovely bathroom with original fixtures., so well worth paying a bit extra for if you are spending a few nights in town.
Breakfast was very good, a range of fruit, pasties, cereals. jogurts , etc. The staff were helpful when I called to book and in person when we arrived or had any questions.
The hotel has an arrangement with a secure parking garage - which is important if you are travelling by car as parking is not easy in the centre of town.
Great value- certainly at this time of year and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, try to avoid a room at the side as they are smaller. Worth upgradin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafiki99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at the sister accommodations - Met apartments for three months April- Jul 2013. Mr Claudio runs his staff to perfection. clean, polite, respectful and oriented to the customer. The entire building was under surveillance, so the thought of not being " watched" was never an issue. As much as I felt safe, it came at a high price only to find out later from locals. The few but big complaint I have was The apartments NOT Hotel Internet service is not equipped for true business workers. I had to continue to sign on the server, lost a lot of time. The heat was turned off for 45 days and it was cold , a few days it hailed, i was told the city turns of the heat so I was given a blanket - I still froze. Lastly, this is my pet peeve, have extra towels. When I asked I was given however , I think the maids might be on a mission to save on laundry. Overall , beautiful , efficient , clean and high service of client services. Mr Claudio I applaud you for your attention for detail. Thank you

Room Tip: Apartment fourth floor because these clients are staying longer than a few days. Constant calmness i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamezcua12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just spent a week with our two teenage children in an apartment at this hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff were all welcoming, very cheerful and helpful. They answered questions about everything, gave great recommendations and helped us to research and plan our days, transport and time. The apartment was ideal for our family with its location in a very quiet street just 5 mins walk from the mains square. The breakfasts were a great start to the day and the times we could take it suited both 'early start' days and teenage lie-ins! we had a wonderful week and can't recommend it highly enough as a friendly, clean, welcoming, centrally located in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Perfect hotel, in a great location, right in the center of the city. We stayed here only one night, in tranzit, and boy, we sure miss the hotel. Our room was large, modern and made us feel like we were at home. Also, the big bathroom and shower looked great. The room was spotless. The reception staff were amazing, friendly and considerate. The internet connection was great, and at the reception area there was also a computer for the guests and a printer. Stay here, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel this spring. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect. It was within walking distance to the piazza, shopping, good restaurants, and the two towers. The room and ensuite bathroom were spacious and clean. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. They recommended fantastic restaurants to us whenever we asked! The breakfast included lots of variety and was plentiful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamakita93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in the centre of Bologna for seven nights with my 10 year-old daughter. The staff were all friendly and exceptionally helpful. The room we had was a good size and well decorated in a contemporary style. The hotel was immaculately clean and the breakfast was a real treat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed with our 2 daughters in the Mets Apartments, which are a part of the hotel. We had 2 apartments from July 9th until the 14th and It was AMAZING !! it is centrally located. A modern, up to date, spacious and clean apartment, with state of the art bathroom, shower and kitchen. An amazing breakfast, visually and taste wise. The entire staff and especially Claudio the manager were very helpful, accommodating and made our stay in Bologna a very pleasant one.
We highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,526 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,248 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,467 reviews
Hotel Touring
#6 of 102 in Bologna
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $127 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing