We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,721)
Filter reviews
1,721 results
Traveler rating
965
591
129
27
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
965
591
129
27
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationside streetrooftop barpiazza maggiorethe main shopping streetexcellent locationrecommend this hotelcentral locationbreakfast roommodern hoteljunior suitecomfortable bedcentre of bolognabreakfast stafflong weekendpastriesquiet street
Filter
Updating list...
606 - 611 of 1,721 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

These apartments are perfectly sited in Via Monari, just off Indipendenza, next door to the 1200 seat theatre where Hugh Laurie is soon to gig. Roomy enough and light, with large modern shower and big wide comfortable bed. Cool enough in warm 30 degree weather for us never to use the AC. Kitchen under used by us. As has been said, Bologna is for eating out.
Roberto's restaurant tips, from the hotel desk, were perfection. We wanted small, authentic,value, local and non tourist trap and we got them. A very nice man. Apartments are pretty quiet - you can hear a little monk chanting, and the beggar musicians under the Independenza arcades waft to your ears, but this is not loud or unpleasant.
Would recommend for friendly staff, location, size, comfort and value.

Room Tip: There is a lift, so no problems there.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etinArcadiaEgo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel is in the heart of Bologna. Parking is available but a few blocks away which could be a drag with luggage. Once you park though you can walk to everything. Staff is extremely welcoming and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Rooms are large, comfortable and quiet. Bathrooms are spacious and clean. Only gripe is that floor is dusty. Housekeeping could use a good dust mop. However its a great place to stay in Bologna.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stasiakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel offers clean air-conditioned rooms, a comfortable bed, a helpful staff, and a good location. Having said that, be aware that the "mod" boutique hotel interior does not extend beyond the very small lobby. Bathrooms are tiny (to the point that I didn't even attempt to use the shower). Rooms are plain. Each room has a booklet for Sky TV, but only six Italian channels were available in ours. All others said "this channel not installed." This hotel offers a place to sleep, but no particular hotel experience beyond that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephentx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest
thanks for your review, for us it's important know all the opinions about our hotel.
Thanks for the positive impression about our staff, the cleaning and the confort these are the most important, we regret that you do not share the opinion of the most of our customers, we have many appreciations but I understand that not all the Guests are similar and your expectative was superior of our standard, we are a good 3 stars with a excellent reputation (for positive experience also not just for sleep), and please take the category of our Hotel and the price you payed into consideration.
About the Sky service maybe you do not read the istruction, sorry for that but I would like to point out that had you notified us of your complaints during your stay, we would have been able to intervene at once to find the best solution (Sky network has 500 and more free channels, it's impossible that you saw just 6... we are the unique 3 stars hotel that offer this service), maybe you haven't a good experience with the remote control...
My best regards
Claudio Salvatore
hospitality Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

we found the room to be nice, the bathroom to be very nice, and we had an Internet coupon which ended up getting us a bottle of wine and strawberries-- very nice after a couple of hours on the train. we stayed two nights but did not get the breakfast. there are several restaurants nearby. we were locked out of the hotel momentarily late at night, but someone came back to the desk and let us in after a few minutes. but you are just a few blocks from piazza Neptuno. btw, if you are going to walk the arcades to Santuario San Luca, you can walk there, but you'll want to save your legs for the portico walk… ask which bus goes to via Melloncello- you might be told there is no bus to the sanctuary as the main city buses don't go there...

in Google map view (not satellite) you can drag the yellow navigator to three yellow spots which are "street views" inside the hotel and you can navigate three floors. they show the best ones, but the others are nice, with period piece replicas.

btw, getting to the hotel from the train station is fairly easy as soon as you find via del Indipendenza, to the left of the train station as you're leaving it (you head south walking along a big park, Parco Montagnola). most directions say to take via Galleria, which runs parallel, because eventually you'll see the via del Orso sign point down what looks like an alley, but of course is just a small street. also, there is a small grocery store (alimentary) on Indipendenza.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotels and Italy, by experience I know it doesn't always turns out fine. We've stayed at the Metropolitan for 2 nights, payed 150 € per night, breakfast included. The reception on arrival was excellent, friendly staff and they really made an effort to speak English or French. The room we had was fine although it could have been a bit more cleaner, somebody needs to tell the cleaning lady to hoover underneath the bed. Bathroom was well equipped and the bed was comfortable.
Overall a good hotel right in the historic centre of Bologna. I guess you could do better but at a higher price

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineGunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest
my apologies for the dust underneath the bed, I spoke with the chambermaid and the housekeeper also for this inappropriate problem and I hope that I will able to have another chance to show you that your complaint has been for me very, very helpfull.
Thanks for your positive impression about staff, services and the room design.
My best regards
Claudio Salvatore
hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews