We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gem of a Hotel”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel was simple and modern with tasteful decoration.The staff was exceptional friendly and helpful. The location was close to everything in the town by foot. The bathroom was very nice and the size of the room was good. I would definitely come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    495
    104
    21
    7
See reviews for
253
575
119
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

With its central position it is a great choice for both visiting bologna or on business trips. I had a normal room reserved, but since I was staying for a whole week they offered me to upgrade my booking for free to an apartment, which was really large and super new!
The staff was super kind all the time and really helpful from the day I arrived till my departure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_Alberto90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Hotel Metropolitan was an average hotel; however Sara at the front desk was exceptional. She was the most helpful, knowledgeable and courteous front desk person we have encountered in a long while and helped make our trip.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms in the front of the hotel as they are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannm919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
I'm very sorry for your complaint, we apologies for the inconvenient that the wine bar in front of the hotel have caused.
I'm aware of the truth of your observations, however I would ask you to take in consideration that we are in the city centre, in the hearth of the city, in a small quite street nearby the principal monuments, museum and nearby the most important traditional restaurants knew in all the world, with 2 minutes walk you will arrive in Piazza Maggiore where all the bars and restaurants are open till 11,30 pm and sometimes they make noise, absolutely never after 11,30 pm, all our windows are soundproof for this reason and I am sure that when they are closed they are 100%
the bolognese citizens are very educated and respectfully, the quality of life it's very high, the tourists are very happy to stay in this splendid city, expecially in the centre.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, as you noted our front desk, Sara in particular, but you forgot Roberto, Barbara, Claudio the oldest receptionist (he know all about Bologna) Giancarlo and Giampiero has been at your disposal during all the period with helpful, knowledgeable and courteous suggestions to make your holiday peaceful and serene one.
We are often been praised for the excellent price/quality ratio we offer our guests and for the location, if for you mean AVERAGE, thank you.
We hope to have a pleasure to welcoming you in another occasion, in a room in the back of the hotel....and after we will ask you to change your opinion from average to excellent :))
My best wishes.
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very pleased with this hotel. We stayed in clean an comfortable triple room. The bathroom was spacious and wifi worked in the room. The location is one of the best aspects of this hotel it is right in the centre and a short walk from many bars, restaurants and sights. Reception staff were very friendly and the breakfast was perfect. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firenzesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great Hotel, nice and central. Very clean and tidy. Good continental breakfast. Friendly staff. Highly recommended. Close to all amenities. Taxi ride from airport 15 euros. All that one could possible want in a 3 star hotel. No complaints what so ever. will definately consider staying there upon return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodlover186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I’m glad we went to this hotel. We spent New Year in Bologna and stayed in the hotel 6 nights. It is located on via dell’ Orso a small street out of via Indipendenza (shopping district) between railway station and Piazza Maggiore. Don’t expect to find a big hotel in an imposing building, but trust me you have to go there.

Our communication with the reception lady (cannot remember her name) was great, she was so kind and very friendly. We were given a room at the second floor. As I assume the building must be a historical one, this may be the reason for which the elevator is so small (two persons with suitcases cannot fit in).

The room was modern and in a very good condition, having laminated parquet on the floor. Free hi-fi in the room (ask the password in the reception). The bed was comfortable. One issue we had just during the first night – the heating didn’t work well, although inside the room wasn’t cold, but after we told to the reception it was fixed on a very second day (probably wasn’t turned on from the basement).

One big advantage: the bathroom has a window towards the interior courtyard, so in case of hot showers the steam is suddenly evacuated outside. Otherwise the bathroom is modern, hot water every moment.

Most probably breakfast is seen as an art at Metropolitan, sweets based (we’re in Italy!) with many cakes smaller or bigger served on small individual plates, but there are also served fruits, jams, milk, cereals and many others; the lady taking care of breakfast asks everyone which kind of coffee you want – beside the standard offered on the table. All breakfast area is decorated with candles. There is also an interior courtyard, but was closed, being cold.

Room price was very, very decent for the quality offered.

I do recommend this hotel, I really liked it. Shame on me I forgot taking pictures!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristi_Ionescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Recently refurbished small hotel having all amenities and comforts (including free WIFI in room and decent toiletries in bathroom), just off the main street of Bologna's city centre. Very helpful, friendly staff and one of the best breakfasts I've ever had in Italy. Plenty of good restaurants around and shops, few metres away from airport bus stop and easy walking distance to all attractions. My single room was rather small but had a huge, very comfy bed, so am not complaining!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElenaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
838 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,148 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#6 of 103 in Bologna
432 reviews
Hotel Touring
#5 of 103 in Bologna
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing