We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Metropolitan - Bologna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Metropolitan - Bologna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed in beautiful suite with a garden entrance and a shower in the living room. The hotel has a modern design, with an oriental touch, with very friendly, helpful staff. All this in a lovely central location, one way is the lively shopping area, and the other way are the beautiful alleys full of amazing architecture. Would go back anytime!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eszter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    478
    97
    21
    6
See reviews for
247
543
114
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were found these apartments at short notice by the Tourist Information Office after our booked hotel failed to have a room available. The Hotel Metropolitan is a fine boutique hotel modernised in an Art Deco style. We stayed in the Met's Apartments. These are a short distance from the main hotel in Via di Monari which is just off Via dell'Independenza and five minutes' walk from the city centre at Piazza Maggiore. The apartments are actually next door to the Teatro Manzoni which is the main classical musical auditorium of the city. The apartment was ultra modern with white walls and grey slate floors and open plan. It was clean and warm with all modern facilities and an excellent bathroom and bed, kitchen and TV. The block has careful security arrangements with electronic locks and so on. You can come and go as you please. Breakfast can be taken in the Hotel just a few steps away. Excellent restaurants are nearby. The staff were helpful and discreet. The apartment was serviced daily. The location is ideal for a trip to Bologna.

Room Tip: The Met's Apartments are ideal for couples or small families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lungipiedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel. I spent 3 months in Europe (August 2012 - October 2012). I stayed at hotels ranging from the St. Regis, Four Seasons, and other well known luxury hotels to small boutique hotels that I had never heard of like the Metropolitan. The Metropolitan execeeded my expectations in every way! The location is perfect for walking almost anywhere you'd want to go in Bologna. Great restaurants, sites, and shops nearby. The hotel staff is exceptional!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked based on the trip advisor reviews

The location is reasonable for the centre of the city and is about 15 minutes' walk from the train station.

The room was quite large by Italian standards. The bed was comfortable and the airconditioning worked well. There was wifi in the room, but it annoyingly bumps you off every 2-3 minutes if not being used (ie if reading a long web page) and requires all 16 digits of your username/password to be re-entered each time, which got tired very quickly.

Our shower head leaked, meaning the water pressure wasn't great ad the water would suddenly change from cold to hot and vice versa. It was actually hot enough that I sustained a minor burn. This may just have been our room, but be warned.

The staff were helpful and friendly with every question we had. We did some laundry while here and although a bit slow (most but not all arrived back to us by the following evening), they did a good job. The only thing is that the website advertises a laundry, whereas in fact it is only a laundry service (ie you can't wash your own clothes).

Breakfast was good, with a wide variety of options.

Overall it was a good hotel, with one or two annoying issues.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blahoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest
thanks for the opinion you posted on Tripadvisor.
I'm very sorry for the problem with WiFi, I assure you that you are the 1st Guest that reported us this problem, we will check it immediately.
We do not advert that we have a loundry in Hotel, absolutely, but if some Guest need this service we will do it , cleaning and ironing with a little fee, not free of charge of course, otherwise our residence Mets it's provided with a free loundry for esclusive use of our Guests.
We hope to have a pleasure to welcoming you in hotel in the next future.
Best regards
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Va.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Only spent one night at this hotel a week or so ago but it was a definite keeper. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They offered a choice of rooms on the evening we stayed which was an unusual treat. Restaurant suggestions were great as were general directions. The breakfast was superb. I am a critical restaurant reviewer and I must say that a lot of places can take lessons from the breakfast service available at this property. We stayed at many places in Italy on our visit and the attention to detail at the Breakfast of The Metropolitan Hotel surpassed all others....by a mile.
Can't wait to go back to Bologna and spend some time. Seemed like a fun, fun city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks for your positive review.
you must consider that our breakfast services are not as all the standard hotels expecially regarding the big chains, we insert the "passion" an ingredient that nowhere you can teach.
We hope to have a pleasure to welcoming you in the next future.
Best regards
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great breakfasts - lots of small things to try, which together made a substantial whole. Staff very friendly and helpful. Little courtyard was ideal place to have an extra morning cup of tea whilst reading. :)

Aerobus stop (Bologna centre to airport) is just outside the hotel, which is really convenient (doesn't operate at weekends when the area is for pedestrians only, but nearest stop is still not far away).

Only downside was the (not very good) pianist playing until 2am from Saturday into Sunday.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the hotel are quieter (provided the pianist isn't playing).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I dont know why it is only a 3 star hotel, it should be at least a 4 and even 5 star hotel. Very friendly service and hospitality. The breakfast is very good. Rooms are very well designed. The hotel is well located in center Bologna.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeperoncinoRosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#20 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing