We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel on a terrific location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on a terrific location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Location means everything to me when I'm choosing a place to stay.
Bologna makes no exception, even if I'm very familiar with this city.

Metropolitan was definitely a good choice for my short stay (just one night!) in town. The main road (Via Indipendenza) is just around the corner. That means that everything (from the train stations to the main attractions of the city) is walking distance.

As someone else already said, the entrance of the hotel is really nice, modern and elegant.

I had booked a standard room but at the check-in we were offered an upgrade to a suite for something like 40 Euros. We declined the offer as it was already late and we had to leave early on the next morning to catch our flight, so we didn't feel like to spend the extra money for just some hours of sleeping.

Anyway, our room was a basic one, and looking at the pics on the web, completely different from the suites. It was ok though, there's everything you need to feel comfortable (clean, comfy bed, TV with a lot of channels, etc..) maybe I was just expecting something more "design". It fitted us perfectly as we got a very good rate and our stay was meant to be very short, but be aware of that when you book your room here.. if you want something nicer just pay the extra and go for their suites.

Staff is really nice and helpful, with good advices for visitors. Free WiFi is available, and breakfast is brilliant. Lots of fresh fruit, pastries, juices, cheese and more.. plenty of choice, loved it.

Would I come back to Metropolitan? Probably yes, if only I could find the suite at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank interpol81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    480
    101
    21
    6
See reviews for
251
551
116
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
237 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

It's not often that I review a hotel and haven't got one negative thing to say! This hotel is lovely, in a perfect location close to the main street with many restaurants and within walking distance to the train station. When we arrived, I had booked a room but reception offered us an upgrade to a suite for a minimal extra charge so we jumped at that. The suite was absolutely beautiful just off of a little courtyard. The bed was so comfortable and the room had a lovely stylish decor. The shower was huge with a gorgeous rain head and power jets and there were plenty of towels and nice toiletries. The suite also had a fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, a laptop safe and fast free wifi. There were also plenty of English speaking cable TV channels to choose from. All the staff we came across were super helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great, with lots of little things to choose from and everything served in a fresh, contemporary setting. I would definitely recommend this hotel, particularly the suite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmetTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We wanted a few days away after a very full on time at work and we got sucked into the Metropolitans hotel website and the photos made it look amazing! However when we turned up we were shown to a very very basic room (Didnt see a photo of that room on the website!) but it was very clean, cool and the bathroom was fine (Although there was an odd smell coming out of an area by the toilet the whole time, a bit like sewage!?)
Breakfast was a mixture of being completely bizzare and great, lots of little things to choose from, the breakfast room was a bit soulless but pretty enough and nicely decorated. The hotel is in a great location, just off the main road and at the reception their English was limited but they were nice and as helpful as they could be...
Would I stay there again? Probably not, I would have rather paid less and stayed somewhere as central in a more basic hotel or paid more and stayed somewhere really nice...this was bang in the middle....as a couple we wanted something a bit more special...this is great for a one night business trip, not a 4 night stay....

Room Tip: In hindsight we would have paid more for one of the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ch11111122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks, of course we have to thank you for your review.
Your notes are perfectly true.
In the web site we cannot show all the 50 rooms we have, we are not a chain hotel where all the rooms are exactly the same, this is our home and each room is different from the other and we are very proud of this, the property is very attentive in the choices.
Of course for us is important that there was many satisfactory reviews posted for the same room where you stayed.
Maybe you are more exigent, correct and legitimate, and obviously we have some special rooms for special occasion, the jr.suites in our courtyard are perfect for " romantic trip" I'm very sorry that you has not told us that was a special occasion, and that you has not saw our "olive's courtyard".
We hope to have the opportunity to show you them in the next trip in Bologna, in the meantime we hope that the city of Bologna has been quite what you expected, for us this is most important.
best regards
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were worried when the taxi stopped in the main road, and showed us down an alley to the hotel BUT we were pleasantly surprised by the modern entrance to the hotel. The staff was exellent and breakfast well presented. Great location to see all the historic sights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Paula
thanks for your positive review.
In effect we are in a splendid pedestrian area, in a small street very quiet and your first impression was correct, I'm very happy for know that your has been an pleasant surprise when you has been arrived in Hotel.
We will send your compliments to the staff.
Thanks a lot.
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Good hotel with a good value. Nice clean rooms, huge bathroom. Super well located. Just don't take the concierge's restaurant recommendation and do your own research on tripadvisor. We were on a high floor so we didn't have any noise problems. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest
thanks for your positive impression you posted on Tripadvisor.
I'm sorry you was not satisfied about the restaurants that the concierge has suggested you, the reccomendation of the Restaurants (we are in the city centre, there are many many restaurants good and less good )are simply based about the reviews from our Guests, let me know where you has took dinner, will be very important for us.
Looking forward to see you back.
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Booked this hotel for a 3 night break based on reviews from Trip Advisor - was not disappointed. Great location and overal quality of the hotel was really good. Bedroom was serviced, beds made and clean towels provided every day and we had a top floor room at the back of the hotel so was nice and quiet.

There is a car park nearby to which the hotel is connected - provides a small discount - but still costs €15 for 24 hours. As Bologna is basically traffic free, I did not have a problem paying this.

As another poster mentioned, breakfast is beautifully presented and tasty, but everything comes bite-size, which is a little odd, so just kept going back for more!

Would stay again, and fully recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katyspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks for one of the best review we received,
it is very plenty and clear regarding our standard and the services we want to give to our Guests.
We hope to have the opportunity to see you again in Bologna.
Best regards
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Overnighted here ths week. Great central location with everything in walking distance. Comments as follows:-

Spotlessly clean
Good beds
Good breakfast
Great staff
Great value

Would book this again without looking any further.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmetro, Direttore at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks, you are our best advertisement
what we can say more?
and what we can do more??
where is our break point ? and our next target will be:
still improve
Best regards.
Claudio Salvatore
Hospitality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#11 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing