We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Metropolitan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$169
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$92
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$198
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savhotel(Bologna)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$142
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aemilia Hotel(Bologna)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$191
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Touring(Bologna)
$212
$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$477
$374
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$405
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,646)
Filter reviews
1,646 results
Traveler rating
934
560
120
24
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
934
560
120
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtrain stationside streetrooftop barthe main shopping streetpiazza maggiorerecommend this hotelcentral locationbreakfast roomjunior suitecomfortable bedcentre of bolognagreat showermodern hotellong weekendquiet streetpastries
Filter
Updating list...
664 - 669 of 1,646 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I was in bologna for 2 weeks and stayed at the mets apartments run by the Metropolitan Hotel. I could not have asked for any more. The servicing of the apartment was just perfect - cleaning and laundry services were excellent and the room was expensively and thoughtfully furnished. Special mention go to the Front Desk staff who were utterly charming and could not have done more to help me feel at home in bologna. Special mention to Sara on Front Desk for dealing with my very annoying and frequent requests with such charm. Having travelled all over the world and used to the very best service typically outside of Europe, it was a real joy to discover this gem with someone like Sara being the perfect hostess. I cannot recommend this enough.

Room Tip: The Met's studio apartment is a great alternative to a room in the main hotel and works out at great value for money.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meekal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

half-way between the train station and the main plaza, this small hotel, tucked away on a quiet side street, is ideally located to expore the city on foot. i stayed while in town on business, and found this to be a great hotel well situated for my office and all of the local restaurants and major tourist sights.

i stayed in a small room, facing the street. it was comfortable and adequate for my stay. and it was definitely reasonably priced.

the staff were very friendly and helpful. i did not have breakfasts so cannot comment on that.

i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joesob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed in one of the suites in the Olive Court. Lovely bathroom. Very quiet. The breakfasts were good, apart from the coffee, and the service was friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cammg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Arrived in the middle of snow chaos, Bologna train station was madhouse. Easy 5min taxi ride to hotel. (If not for all the snow on the ground, the train station is a easy walk away) Hotel staff were warm and welcoming. Very glad to have a properly heated bedroom when it was -10 C outside, friendly porter helped with luggage. (BTW, you can actually turn down the radiator to a lower setting when you've warmed up enough)
Loved the hotel breakfast, would stay there again just to eat it. Warm and crunchy croissants, cold cuts (mortadella was fabulous) and delicious variety of fresh fruit, all beautifully presented.
Aside from the fantastic location (close to shops, train station, etc) The Metropolitan is also within walking distance of lots of good restaurants and the hotel crew was well informed on this front and gave excellent recommendations (unlike some other hotels i have stayed in where they simply try to suggest tourist places).
Also tried one of their new luxury apartments, closeby to the main hotel. Very spacious and chic, perfect for those who want more space or kitchen facilities.
Am hoping to return to Bologna one day when the weather is better and the Metropolitan is definitely where I'll be staying.
Grazie mille to Claudio the hotel manager and his entire team for 2 great stays!

Room Tip: Worth paying extra to have a large apartment.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoomeroomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel when the heavy snow hit Italy in early February. It was a late Internet booking so that we could be that bit closer to Bologna airport for our flight out the following day. Through the reviews read on Trip Advisor we selected it for its excellent location in the heart of the city while also it was offering a tremendous deal, which was too good not to accept.

We arrived at lunchtime when the snow was pitching down and following our satnav had little trouble finding the hotel. The trouble was, though, that some of the back roads were impassable so that we ended up on the main street which, we did not know at the time, is a no-go area for cars but which was very close to the hotel. On telling reception this, we were advised to move the car as quickly as possible to avoid any fines and take it to one of the recommended car parks a short distance to the hotel. The benefit was that the car was kept undercover rather than be buried under the snow if it was parked in the open.

The hotel itself is boutique. The room was very modern with a low bed, fairly spacious wardrobe and drawers and a desk. The bathroom had a very good shower, no bath, and was quite spacious.

If there was a fault with the room it was that it was too hot and there was no way to turn the temperature down. While welcoming when coming in off the cold street, by the middle of the night, I found myself wide awake as I was perspiring with heat. I did open the window but that did lead to a pretty nasty draft, so the lesser of two evils was to close it pretty quickly.

The breakfast area was very well appointed and quite different to any other hotel while the continental style breakfast offered a good selection of food.

The biggest asset this hotel has, though, is its very central location. While the pavement (sidewalk) was virtually impassable due to the incredibly slippery conditions, it did not stop us taking long walks around the immediate surrounding area to window shop from the really fabulous range of shops there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilkimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews