We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old building, bugs, noisy and disorganization.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #52 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old building, bugs, noisy and disorganization.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've seen better places for less money. The hotel was extremely noisy, particularly during the night. The staff was extremely disorganized for the payments. Everything was clean, but the bathroom's tiles are broken and you can be in company of bugs. Breakfast was ok. This hotel could be a 4 stars 10 years ago. It's not worth the hype.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    218
    151
    44
    12
See reviews for
59
138
20
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is 10-12 minutes far from the Bologna Railway station. We've stayed here for 2 nights. The room was looking very good, clean and comfy. Bathroom and shower was also clean. There was only 1 pair of slippers for a double room.

Disliked:
-Reception staff was a bit unfriendly....like the others said they need some training courses of public relation.
-Breakfast: poor, juice was something which wanted to be a natural one, but it was a fake, coffee was the same...one type of salami.

Overall for 2 nights was a good location, especially that it wasn't far from the city center(about 15 min)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dya_net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

In general,I was very satisfied with my stay at this hotel.Very good location,close to the railway station and the city center (15 min walking or 5-7 min by bus).The rooms were clean and very spacious and the bathroom was awsome.Excellent breakfast with great variety.My negative points are two.The first was that the staff was unfriendly and unwelcoming.People at the reception desk were not speaking good english and sometimes gave us the impression that we were annoying them somehow.The second was that there was no free internet.However,the overall experience was pretty good and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I did not expect something special, but normal bed, standart room and good location with the train/bus station nearby. I got everthing. But I really could not imagine that nowadays you could find this kind of bad manners at the reception of the hotel. Being very frank I should say that it does not apply to everyone. I would like to name THE VERY RUDE person Marco (the name he told me himself). Mr. Marco, I would strongly encourage you to take training on good manners.

One more advise to the hotel - get a free WI-FI. It is not a perk anymore, but a must if you want to have clients.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lietuvaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel during June 2013.Excellent location for the railway station,clean with spacious room and excellent breakfast.
Now the minus points:As pointed out by "jaypeasuffolk"the reception staff does not give the traveller the feeling of being welcome(more like a nuisance I would say).They respond to you but in a very typical and formal way.The other - point is the lack of organised house-keeping(one pair of bath slippers for 3 persons,no toilet paper added...).You have to ask to get what should be there in the first place.The wi-fi is just terrible.Given 1 hour per person per day free but it it doesn't really work.Very good hotel to use as a transit point but not for a pleasant long stay.

Room Tip: Triple room No 221 is spacious with huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORGE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just come back from Bologna spending five nights in this hotel. Start with the positives...the rooms are extremely clean and the breakfast is good but.......from the first moment we stepped in to this hotel and approached the staff on reception we felt that we were simply a nuisance and that we were very unwelcome!!! On booking in , no eye contact was made, much less a smile. Help with luggage?? You must be joking! Enjoy your stay???Not a chance. When we spoke to any of the staff on reception they gave no eye contact at all, in fact mostly their eyes stayed firmly glued to the computer. On several occasions reception staff were heard berating the waiting staff who generally tried to be friendly despite the language barrier.
This hotel is a long and unattractive walk away from the city centre but this would not have impaired our enjoyment had any of the reception staff given us the slightest feeling that they were pleased to have us as guests. Our group of four are very widely travelled and we can honestly say we have never encountered anything like it. I suppose I should advise very very strongly against staying at this hotel but perhaps we brits should continue to visit it just to annoy them!!! In contrast, just across the road you will find a little café/bar called 'Bar Pocket' where you will find a warm and friendly welcome.....oh how we appreciated the friendly and helpful services of the lady in there!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have paper thin walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaypeasuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bologna hotels

New York, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night on our way from Sicily to Modena. Eh, it was ok. We just wanted a place close to the train station. I wouldn't stay there for longer than a night though.

The room is super small with a random 3rd bed. The bathroom is spacious but the shower was a little wonky so water would fill up like a pool.

The breakfast was very nice and was a great touch. I also appreciated the free wifi.

But it's proximity to the train station was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrigueace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Millennhotel
Millennhotel
#65 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Mercure Bologna Centro
#50 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
UNA Hotel Bologna
#25 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Excelsior
#23 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Royal Hotel Carlton
#18 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Cesare Boldrini 11, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#35 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing